Mobile Alabama Travel ads in Ad Art Gallery

IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
ALABAMA-
MOBILE, AL- 1/16/05

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

mo205.jpg (13314 bytes)

MOBILE, ALABAMA

mo204.jpg (25461 bytes) mo203.jpg (22127 bytes)
OUTRAGEOUSLY BEAUTIFUL TREES in MOBILE
mo98.jpg (52961 bytes) mo70.jpg (51631 bytes) mo97.jpg (24389 bytes) mo40.jpg (18219 bytes) mo45.jpg (17184 bytes) mo46.jpg (58291 bytes) mo41.jpg (41220 bytes)
HISTORIC "TID-BITS" about MOBILE

THE SALVATION ARMY IN MOBILE
At the corner of Conception and St Francis Streets, Captain Edward Justus Parker, Staff-Captain Charles Miles and a Salvation Army lieutenant conducted an open air meeting on the night of their arrival in March 1887.  In contrast to earlier Salvation Army openings in other cities, the Mobile audience was polite.  Men removed their hats as prayer was offered and those in attendance respectfully participated in the singing and dropped coins into the collection plate.
Mobile became an official Salvation Army Corps on October 13, 1899, with Captain and Mrs James T Cumbie in command.  The Army's first Corps Community Center in Mobile was located at 213 Conti Street where it remained from the late 1930's until the late 1960's.

The Salvation Army's fight against human suffering... started in 1865 in London by General William Booth... is still helping people to help themselves, though its methods have changed with the times.

Dedicated June 14, 1987 by Commissioner James Osborne, Commander of the Army's Southern Territory.

mo194.jpg (31386 bytes)

MOBILE'S LAST MULE CAR
Retired from the Toulminville-to-Lafayette Street run in 1902.  Restored by W C Martin in 1964.  Building was erected in 1960

mo195.jpg (25416 bytes)

PORTIER HOUSE
Circa 1883.  Title to this land, part of a Spanish grant and formerly a burial ground, was clarified by the American State Papers in 1828.  Michael Portier, Mobile's first Bishop, made this his home from 1834 until his death in 1859.  Four subsequent bishops of Mobile resided here until 1906.  Abram J Ryan, poet priest of the South, occupied the northwest corner room of second floor from 1870 until 1877.  Residence was restored by Catholic Diocese of Mobile in 1958.  In 1970 it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.

mo196.jpg (60301 bytes)

FIRST DELCHAMPS STORE
Near this site at Canal, Lawrence and Madison Streets, the first Delchamps Food Store opened November 8, 1921.  Two young men and their three sisters:  Alfred F Delchamps, Oliver H Delchamps, Edna H Delchamps, Katherine E Delchamps and Annie M Delchamps pooled their resources, and with less than $1000, founded a cash and carry operation housed in a frame wooden building.
With goodwill and honesty as their major assets, they began a company which was to become a leader in the food industry in the Southeast.  The business was a cash and carry operation with emphasis on cleanliness and service.  Cured meats, fresh greens and dry goods were sold in "cents worth" portions.  In 1928 a larger store was opened opposite the original.  As of 1995, Delchamps operates 117 stores in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi.  This monument is dedicated to the employees of Delchamps, who throughout the years have maintained the traditions of value, cleanliness and service, inspired by its founders.

mo193.jpg (16142 bytes)

OLD CHURCH STREET CEMETERY - 1819
Established 1819 by city of Mobile for yellow fever victims.  Buried in raised tombs are Spanish and French citizens of early Mobile, and many pioneer Americans

mo192.jpg (18538 bytes)

DOWNTOWN MOBILE
mo5.jpg (32097 bytes)mo6.jpg (30477 bytes)mo8.jpg (37926 bytes)mo9.jpg (21403 bytes)
GULF MOBILE & OHIO RAILROAD BUILDING
mo148.jpg (11954 bytes) 1862 Isaac Goldsmith mo149.jpg (10155 bytes) mo150.jpg (48739 bytes) 1862 mo151.jpg (10065 bytes) William Frohlichstein mo154.jpg (75920 bytes)

MALAGA INN & MAYME'S RESTAURANT

mo115.jpg (19611 bytes) mo118.jpg (48053 bytes) mo117.jpg (30647 bytes) mo116.jpg (13585 bytes)

MOBILE AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

mo112.jpg (21842 bytes)mo113.jpg (17072 bytes)mo114.jpg (10394 bytes)

mo111.jpg (48067 bytes)

THE QUIGLEY HOUSE
Built in 1860 by George Gilmore.  Owned in 1866 by Dr Edmund Pendleton Gaines.  In 1901 by Mrs. Susan Quigley.  This historic house was bought in 1963 by the City of Mobile and restored by the Junior Chamber of Commerce.

JUNIOR CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

mo4.jpg (38745 bytes) mo16.jpg (16308 bytes) mo17.jpg (16912 bytes) mo18.jpg (12027 bytes) mo19.jpg (14985 bytes) mo165.jpg (16190 bytes) mo20.jpg (10658 bytes) mo206.jpg (13957 bytes)
mo212.jpg (23504 bytes) mo232.jpg (27219 bytes) mo235.jpg (13687 bytes) mo233.jpg (12393 bytes) mo207.jpg (17886 bytes)
THE PARKS of MOBILE
mo22.jpg (10862 bytes) mo25.jpg (17080 bytes) mo27.jpg (12983 bytes) mo28.jpg (28135 bytes) mo24.jpg (37748 bytes) mo23.jpg (40963 bytes)
mo26.jpg (18504 bytes) mo36.jpg (10858 bytes) mo35.jpg (9917 bytes) mo12.jpg (41318 bytes) mo13.jpg (20009 bytes) mo11.jpg (26249 bytes) mo10.jpg (46538 bytes)
mo121.jpg (32134 bytes) mo122.jpg (16736 bytes) mo128.jpg (39427 bytes) mo129.jpg (41853 bytes) mo131.jpg (29179 bytes) mo123.jpg (26314 bytes) mo127.jpg (6432 bytes) mo120.jpg (10816 bytes)
mo130.jpg (32452 bytes) mo135.jpg (14592 bytes) mo162.jpg (12374 bytes) mo138.jpg (13000 bytes) mo164.jpg (16635 bytes) mo132.jpg (14077 bytes) mo163.jpg (13801 bytes)
mo158.jpg (39946 bytes) mo155.jpg (21034 bytes) mo157.jpg (18137 bytes) mo156.jpg (27781 bytes) mo133.jpg (10429 bytes) mo134.jpg (24939 bytes) mo136.jpg (9773 bytes) mo137.jpg (20256 bytes) mo159.jpg (25416 bytes)
Special Benches of the Park... mo139.jpg (28319 bytes) mo140.jpg (30533 bytes) mo141.jpg (25092 bytes) mo160.jpg (34720 bytes)
mo161.jpg (34582 bytes) mo124.jpg (30716 bytes) mo125.jpg (27988 bytes) mo126.jpg (29933 bytes) mo119.jpg (30055 bytes)
HISTORIC HOMES IN MOBILE (Just a few of many!!)
mo170.jpg (20744 bytes) mo171.jpg (35227 bytes) mo80.jpg (36958 bytes)
1865 mo142.jpg (12112 bytes) mo103.jpg (38071 bytes) Rapelje-DeLaney House
1005 Government Street
1856

mo62.jpg (30644 bytes)

Douglass-Taylor-Inge-Kearney House
Government Street
1892

mo59.jpg (24529 bytes)

Helmer House
reputed to be haunted by a little girl ghost who looks out the attic window

mo30.jpg (32984 bytes)

Bishop Portier House
mo191.jpg (35462 bytes) mo143.jpg (30893 bytes)
1859 Admiral Semmes House mo53.jpg (11226 bytes) mo55.jpg (39825 bytes) mo54.jpg (21260 bytes)

HOME OF RAPHAEL SEMMES
Rear Admiral, Confederate States Navy, Brigadier General, Confederate States Army, Commander of the Alabama, the greatest sea raider of all times.  In this house, a gift of the people of Mobile, Admiral Semmes spent his late years.
1854 Chandler House mo152.jpg (12926 bytes) mo153.jpg (17795 bytes) 1910 Creagh - Moulton mo82.jpg (34651 bytes)
1872 Douglas-Ellis -Mims
952 Government Street
mo60.jpg (12125 bytes) mo61.jpg (25020 bytes) 1870 Farley - Wert mo185.jpg (12511 bytes) mo186.jpg (22245 bytes)
1867 Frazier - Meacham mo50.jpg (12647 bytes) mo51.jpg (20627 bytes)   Guesnard House, Government Street Presbyterian mo31.jpg (14599 bytes) mo32.jpg (34601 bytes)
1885 Hopkins -Vergos mo63.jpg (10391 bytes) mo64.jpg (41234 bytes) 1867 Horst - Ezell & Sharbrough mo33.jpg (18064 bytes) mo34.jpg (30712 bytes)
1897 1909 Izard - Whitfield & McAlpine mo95.jpg (11969 bytes) mo96.jpg (34012 bytes) 1863 Macartney - Vergos mo65.jpg (10681 bytes) mo66.jpg (35171 bytes)
NEXT PAGE BEGINNING PAGE STATES HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map