E-Mail Us

IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
MARYLAND -
HAGERSTOWN, MD - 7/31/05

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

 

 hm5.jpg (12365 bytes) hm2.jpg (4822 bytes) HAGERSTOWN MARYLAND hm3.jpg (11901 bytes)   hm4.jpg (17277 bytes)

 

HISTORIC BUILDINGS in HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND

 

HISTORIC CHURCHES in HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND

ZION EVANGELICAL AND REFORMED CHURCH
December 1770- A congregation of German-Swiss refugees organized The First German Reformed Church in Elizabeth Town, Canageschik, Fridrich County, Province of Mereland.  The first pastor was Jacob Weimer.  Land was acquired from Johnathan Hager, Jr subject to ground rent for 75 years.  The cornerstone was laid August 10, 1774.
November 6, 1775- Captain Jonathan Hager, Sr died from an accident resulting from fallen timbers while helping to build the church.

1785- The church bells were cast in Holland containing several metals including silver.  Captain Wilhelm Heyser, builder of the church, led a company of Germans in the American Revolution.  Guns powder, tomahawks, grain and blankets collected here were sent by wagon to General Washington.  Eleven patriots of the American Revolution are buried in the church yard.

July, 1863- General George Custer used the bell tower as a signal post after the Battle of Gettysburg.

ZION REFORMED UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST

JOHN WESLEY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH OTTERBEIN UNITED METHODIST CHURCH
PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF HAGERSTOWN ASHBURY UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

ST JOHN'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH

FUNDAMENTAL BAPTIST CHURCH TRINITY LUTHERAN CHURCH

ST JOHN'S LUTHERAN CHURCH

 

HISTORIC HOMES in HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND
JONATHAN HAGER HOUSE

JONATHAN HAGER HOUSE (Circa 1740)
October 16, 1739, Jonathan Hager took up "Hager's Fancy", 200 acres in the valley of Antietam Creek.  A year later he married Elizabeth Kershner for whom Elizabeth-Town (Hagerstown) was named and established his home here.  In 1944 it was acquired by the Washington County Historical Society.

HAGER'S FANCY (Circa 1740)
This dwelling was built by Jonathan Hager.  Founder of Hagerstown, Maryland, 1762.  Captain of scouts, French and Indian War 1755 - 1763.  Member of the non-importation association and of the committees of safety and of observation, 1775.  Member of the General Assembly, Annapolis, 1771 - 1775.

Jonathan Hager grew prosperous here.  He opened a trading post in his new home and acquired more land.  In 1745, he sold "Hager's Fancy" to Jacob Rohrer for a substantial profit.  Hager House remained in the Rohrer family until 1944 when it was purchased by the Washington County Historical Society.  It was presented to the City of Hagerstown in 1954 and was opened to the public in 1962.

Today, restored and furnished, Hager House offers a glimpse of 18th century life.  The adjacent Hager Museum hoses and extensive collection of period artifacts, including many items discovered during the restoration of the Hager House.

Heiskell is a Hessian soldier weather vane.  Little Heiskell has become the symbol of the City of Hagerstown.  The weather vane, now on permanent display at the Hager Museum, once adorned the cupola atop City Hall.  During the Civil War, a Confederate sharpshooter reportedly fired a mini-ball through Little Heiskell's "heart."

MT AETNA CANNON
Mt Aetna Furnace, at which this cannon was cast in 1776, was located one mile west along Mt Aetna Road from its predecessor Antietam furnace which was along Mt Lena Road.  Numerous records from the Revolutionary period describe the activities at Antietam Furnace which resulted from the award to the Hughes brothers of a contract to cast cannon for the Continental Army.  The extra metal at the  muzzle end, into which slag contained in the molten metal would rise, would have been cut off hat the center core stayed in place during the casting. 
As can be seen by viewing the muzzle end, it was far out of place and this piece was discarded to remain hidden for 200 years until it was discovered by Mr and Mrs Carl W Shaver in their garden and presented by them to the Washington County Historical Society.  Production of some 70 cannon in what was then a wilderness area was described by Michael D Thompson in "The Iron Industry in Western Maryland' as a "prodigious industrial achievement and an immense contribution to the war effort, unmatched by any other furnace establishment in any other North American colony."

 

ELLIOTT - BESTER HOUSE
Boyhood home of Commodore Jesse D Elliott, USN, (1782 - 1845) of Battle of Lake Erie fame during War of 1812.  This National Register property preserved in memory of Mrs. Mary B K Bowman.

 

The PARKS in HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND

 

SIGNS of the TIMES in HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND

 

  STATE HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map