E-Mail Us

IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
MINNESOTA-
RUSHFORD
, MN- 06/97

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

 

1r.gif (86711 bytes)
Downtown Rushford 3r.gif (61456 bytes)
Rushford Map 17r.gif (41664 bytes)

 

HISTORY of RUSHFORD 
E K Dyer, his wife, and two children settled in area 1853
City named by four families in area on Christmas Eve, 1854
Name came from nearby Rush Creek and Rush Creek Ford
A K Hanson Hardware Store Building located corner of Hwy 43 and 50 downtown
Was Rushford’s first hardware store
Established 1866
Stone building erected 1870
Hardware store closed 1983
Carriage House Apartments Originally Rushford Wagon Company, built 1872
City Jail Built 1913
Open to visitors
Rushford City Mill Established by Hiram Walker 1858
Later owned by D J Tews from 1876 to 1917
Mill ceased operation 1936
Mill now privately owned
Rushford Wagon Company Building located at 111 Jessie St
First building erected 1873
Fire damage occurred 1879
Building remodeled 1894
Rushford Depot Built by Southern Minnesota Railway 1867
Now owned by the Rushford Area Historical Society
Listed on National Register 1986
Grinde School located on site
School built 1890
Episcopal church restored and moved to site
Church built 1867
Stone North End Parsonage Constructed 1859-61

 

HOMES in RUSHFORD
Maland Home

4r.gif (60874 bytes)

215 Stevens Av
Home built 1867
Bought by Martin A Maland, 1892
Maland was vice president and director of State Bank
Ran Rushford Wagon Shop
Is third oldest home in Rushford
Stevens Home

14r.gif (66868 bytes)

105 South Elm St
Built by George G Stevens, 1870’s
Stevens engaged in business and banking as early Rushford settler
He helped establish first church and library in city

 

CHURCHES in RUSHFORD
6r.gif (99941 bytes) 10r.gif (74284 bytes) 5r.gif (122356 bytes)
Building erected 1906
7r.gif (99595 bytes)
First Presbyterian Church Grace Lutheran Church Rushford Lutheran Church St Joseph’s Church

 

SCHOOLS in RUSHFORD
Rushford-Peterson School 15r.gif (113180 bytes)

 

LIBRARY in RUSHFORD 
D J Tew Memorial Library

2r.gif (116263 bytes)

Building erected 1922

 

PARKS in RUSHFORD
Rushford City Park 13r.gif (63572 bytes)

 

SPECIAL DAYS in RUSHFORD
Jaycee’s Fun in the Park At Rushford
Held on July 4th
Frontier Days At Rushford
Held third weekend of July
Features a parade, crafts, antiques, and good food
A talent show
Volleyball and basketball tournaments
Craft Fair At Rushford
Held mid October

 

  STATE HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map