IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
MISSISSIPPI-
Iuka- Tishomingo County
, MS- 5/16/03

Memories are the Essence of Civilization

Back To: MISSISSIPPI - IMAGES - The FARM - GIFT STORE- MUSEUM- MEMORY ROAD - HOME

E-Mail Us

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

 

WELCOME to IUKA, Mississippi- 5/16/03
IUKA SITE MAP iu166.jpg (66443 bytes)
HISTORIC HOMES IN IUKA, MISSISSIPPI
Site #2  

Gravette-Woodley House.

iu14.jpg (7956 bytes) iu243.jpg (21704 bytes)
1880 House located on the east side of the second courthouse (Site #1)
1914 Purchased by E H Gravette from C L Pace.  Served as a boarding house for those who came from other parts of the county and state to conduct business at the courthouse.
1950 House extensively remodeled by Mr. Gravette's daughter and her husband Carlton Woodley
Site #3

Twin Magnolias

iu72.jpg (29469 bytes)
1842 House built as home of John M Stone who served as a Major in the Confederate Army and became Governor of Mississippi in 1876.  After the Battle of Iuka many wounded men were brought to this home, among General Henry Little of Maryland who died of his wounds in the master bedroom of the former spring house.
Site #4

Mulberry House

iu73.jpg (6311 bytes) iu74.jpg (26597 bytes)
1857 Originally built in the shape of and "L" with the dining room and kitchen opening onto a long back porch.  Handhewn beams still support the present structure and the original roof of cedar shingles and square nails are in existence under the present roof. A gazebo in the back is built on the site of the former spring house.
Site #5

Oakhaven

iu75.jpg (6674 bytes) iu76.jpg (23711 bytes)
1857 Property purchased from J C Terry
1882 A bungalow was built on the site of the first Baptist Church in Iuka by Samuel Dewoody and was later purchased by Governor John M Stone.  Later the home passed into the hands of T H Elam an attorney and upon his death in 1918 an outside doorway had to be enlarged to accommodate his casket.
Site #6

Walnut Port

iu77.jpg (6763 bytes) iu78.jpg (27550 bytes)
1837 Home originally built Eastport
1860 Moved from Eastport to 102 East Meigs.  This is the oldest home in Iuka.  Dr James S Davis lived in the home during the Civil War and his daughter, Miss Meg Davis taught a private school in the home for many years.
Site #

Hyatt Cottage

iu88.jpg (29576 bytes)
1885 Located at 109 West Meigg.  Built by Captain J C Hyatt as a vacation home for his children.
Site #8

Folly House

iu89.jpg (35174 bytes)
1885 One of the original Hyatt Cottages built by Captain Hyatt
1968 Extensively renovated by Mrs. Ethel Childs
Site #9

Twin Oaks

iu90.jpg (20211 bytes)
1867 Home located at 502 South Pearl Street was originally the home of the Barnett family and was used at one time to hourse students from the Iuka Normal Institute.  An interesting old cellar lined with brick still remains under the house.
1977 Bought by the Clark sisters and underwent extensive renovation retaining much of the original structure.
Site #10

Olen House

iu91.jpg (23198 bytes)
1842 Originally built in the town of Eastport, moved to Iuka a few years later and located on the corner of Quitman and Pearl Streets.  Captain Jim Doan and his family lived in the home for many years.
1935 Remodeled by Mr. and Mrs. David Olen Jourdan, Sr.
1949 Moved to its present location on Pearly Street at the corner of Meigg 
Site #11

Doan-Childs Home House

iu92.jpg (22484 bytes) iu93.jpg (26922 bytes)
1857 Located at 203 West Quitman Street.  Built by Captain Jim Doan.  Only four families have lived in it since its construction.  The home contains five fireplaces (originally the home had seven) and random birch parquet floors
1973 Restored by Mrs. Ethel Childs
Site #13

Merrill-Nelson Home

iu94.jpg (5405 bytes) iu95.jpg (19665 bytes)
1855 Located facing south on the north side of Quitman Street.  Was the home to the Merrill family.  Dick Merrill, a famous aviator was born here.  The small structure beside the home is of the same period and once served as a school.  The home received extensive damage during the Battle of Iuka when a cannon ball went through the roof of the front bedroom
1936 The Nelson family purchased the home from Mrs. Lyla Merrill McDonald
Site #14

Dormitory Annex

iu99.jpg (6464 bytes) iu100.jpg (25141 bytes)
1858 Timbers for the home were incorporated in the back section of the Female College Dormitory erected in 1858
1903 The timbers were removed from the Dormitory and used to build the house on the south side of Quitman Street. 
Site #15

Carmichael House

iu101.jpg (6359 bytes) iu102.jpg (23203 bytes)
1869 This home next door to the Dormitory Annex was constructed for use as a boarding house for students attending Iuka Female College, and later Iuka Normal Institute.  The frame house is "L" shaped with two rooms upstairs and five rooms on the entry level.  The two basement rooms under the "L" wing were used as a kitchen and dining room during the dormitory days
1981 During remodeling, six of the original ten fireplaces were made operable.
Site #16

Reid Home

iu103.jpg (5415 bytes) iu104.jpg (20563 bytes)
1860 Home located at 702 West Eastport Street.  Was occupied by the Reid family for many years.  The gingerbread trim and picket fence are original and of particular interest.
Site #17

Parsonage

iu109.jpg (19876 bytes)
1842 Was originally built in the town of Eastport and moved to Iuka.  It was the first Methodist parsonage in Iuka
1975 During remodeling, wooden pegs and square nails were found enabling the  owners to date the home
Site #18

Carter Home

iu245.jpg (19953 bytes)
1891 Located at 115 South Stone Street.  Once owned by the Payne family.  Originally consisted of three rooms and added onto in later years.  The Carter family owned the home for many years.
Site #19

George Cutshall Home

iu110.jpg (16778 bytes)
1860 Home built.  The present structure includes annexed out-buildings which were once the slave quarters.  The original hand hewn beams still support the structure and the home looks today much as it did when it was constructed.
1869 Earliest available records show that John M Stone (later Governor) owned this home.
Site #20

Hiett Home

iu111.jpg (21960 bytes)
1863 Sheriff D T Deal built this three room house
1910 The Hiett family purchased the home
1912 Additions were made by the Hiett family.
1980 Miss Willie Hiett willed the home to the Iuka Baptist Church when she passed away and the building was renovated.  The Iuka Baptist Kindergarten and Day Care Center is presently housed in the structure..
Site #21

T L Brown Home

iu112.jpg (18366 bytes)
1878 This one story gabled house retains much of the original structure, although it has been greatly expanded in recent years.  It was the first Iuka home to be wired for electricity.  It remained in the Brown family until it was recently sold.
Site #22

Ramsey Home

iu113.jpg (6653 bytes) iu114.jpg (24986 bytes)
1881 Located at 408 West Eastport Street.  Was built by R H Allen
1942 Will Ramsey purchased the property in 1942.  The home has been extensively remodeled over the years
Site #23

Daniel-Ross Home

iu115.jpg (7198 bytes) iu116.jpg (24370 bytes)
1880 Located at 409 West Eastport Street.  No records known to exist on this home before 1880.
1962 A complete renovation was made.  The home maintains its original high ceilings and open fireplaces.
Site #24

Lacey's Love Home

iu122.jpg (7446 bytes) iu123.jpg (22691 bytes)
1884 Located at 408 West Eastport Street.  The name of the home originated from the James Robert Lovelace family who now own it.
1993 Home remodeled throughout, leaving the tall ceilings, long windows, and original floors
Site #25

Carmack Home

iu107.jpg (5286 bytes) iu108.jpg (23371 bytes)
1859 Located at 400 West Eastport Street.  Was built as a home for the David Hubbard family.
1895 Purchased by Dr Frank Carmack who was an accomplished physician, teacher, newspaper editor, mineralogist and geologist and municipal official.  He became Mayor of Iuka in 1919 and served until 1920.
Site #26

Foote-Nichols Home

iu124.jpg (18689 bytes)
1883 Home built by J C Jourdan.  Home is of Queen Anne design and now serves as offices for David L Nichole CPA.  Inside are large rooms with 13 foot ceilings and an old staircase remains intact.
Site #27

Dr A F Whitehurst Home

iu125.jpg (21703 bytes) iu180.jpg (26563 bytes) iu181.jpg (11893 bytes)
1859 Home is believed to have been brought from Eastport
1903 Home owned by Dr and Mrs. A F Whitehurst
1925 The two story dwelling was incorporated into the existing three story brick home which now stands.
1940's During the post World War II years, the home was known as the Hundley Hotel
1977 Returned to the Whitehurst family when it was purchased by Dr Whitehurst's grandson, James E Thomas Jr.
Site #28

Moss Rose

iu126.jpg (9089 bytes) iu127.jpg (27737 bytes)
1848 Located at 111 North Main Street.  Was used as an emergency hospital during the Battle of Iuka.  During the battle the home received considerable damage to a right side room when a cannon ball penetrated the roof
1866 Home acquired by the Moss family
Site #32

W S Brown Home

iu246.jpg (27394 bytes)
1917 Was the first brick home built in Iuka
1970's Home remodeled in early 1970's
Site #33

Hammerly Home

iu247.jpg (27363 bytes)
1847 Home originally built at the town of Eastport by George P Hammerly
1850's Home moved by oxcart to its present location at 102 West Quitman Street
1860's Home was the scene of weekly prayer meetings during the Civil War and for many years thereafter.  
Site #35

Gaines-Waters Home

iu86.jpg (21143 bytes)
1890 Located on Indian Street.  Built by the Jackson family in the Victorian era.  It was used at one time as a boarding house for visitors coming to Iuka to partake of the mineral water.
Site #36

Edwards Place

iu87.jpg (24300 bytes)
1898 Located at 608 Indian Street.  The home was built for the Robert Edwards family.
1900's The home was also used as a boarding house in the early 1900's for tourist who came to partake of the mineral waters.  The home has been in the Lomenick family for about 60 years.
Site #37

Shady Grove Cemetery

 
1857 It is believed that this cemetery was opened in 1857 along with the founding of the town of Iuka.  In the northwest corner of the cemetery lies the burial place of 263 Confederate soldiers who died during the Battler of Iuka.  Attempts were made around the turn of the century by the United Daughters of the Confederacy to commemorate the site with a wall and monument.  These no longer exist.
Site #40

Dunrobin House

iu249.jpg (31901 bytes)
1847  Home located at 605 Eastport Street.  Served as headquarters for a short period of time during the Civil War for U S Army General Grant and General Rosecran.  The Brinkly family has lived in the home continuously since it was constructed and much history and tradition surround this famous old landmark
Site #41

Rosa-Lee

iu250.jpg (19009 bytes) iu251.jpg (28153 bytes)
1911 Home built by R Lee Smith on the site of an older home that was torn down.  Mr Smith married the daughter of Captain C J Hyatt, Rosa Hyatt Smith and the same family has continually occupied the home.  The circular beveled glass in the front door is of interest as it is rare and was especially ordered for the home when it was built.
Site #42

Castleberry Home

iu105.jpg (7681 bytes) iu121.jpg (26942 bytes)
1887 Located at 610 West Eastport.  The house has been in the same family for 65 years and was the first home to have electricity from battery generated power.  The front portion of the home is original.
Site #43

Academy Row

iu141.jpg (5252 bytes) iu142.jpg (21483 bytes)
1882 Home constructed on the site of the Boys Academy property that was in existence in the 1860's.
Site #44

The Smith's Home

iu146.jpg (24305 bytes)
1864 Located at 708 North Pearl Street.
Site #45

Phillips Home

iu147.jpg (5587 bytes) iu148.jpg (22140 bytes)
1838 Was the first F H A structure built in Iuka.  The front portion of the home is original.
Site #46

Homeplace

iu149.jpg (6777 bytes) iu150.jpg (23965 bytes)
1880 Two story home located at 602 North Pearl Street.  Has been renovated over the years but still maintains the original structure with several high ceilings. 
Site #47

Doan-Cutshall

iu143.jpg (15225 bytes)
1864 Structure built by John Doan and later occupied by E J and Frank McRae who planted the large oak trees.  The building burned twice and Dr Hodges extensively remodeled what was left of the structure after the fires.
1941 Everett Cutshall bought the home and it became Iuka's first modern-day funeral home. 
Site #49

Hubbard House

iu153.jpg (7944 bytes) iu154.jpg (19602 bytes)
1857 Home built by David Hubbard.  The house became known in later years as the "Shockley House".
Site #50

Stage Coach House

iu157.jpg (7100 bytes) iu158.jpg (23125 bytes)
1853 Home believed to have been moved from the town of Eastport.  It was the first stop on a stagecoach route that ran from Eastport to Tupelo.
Site #51

Boothe Home

iu159.jpg (28819 bytes)
1857 Home retains much of its original structure except for an new kitchen that was added.  During a recent remodeling a letter dated 1857 was found in a wall behind the old chimney.
Site #52

Hubbard-Randle Home

iu144.jpg (24511 bytes)
1861 Home constructed by L G Hubbard.  Home occupied by Martha Francis Allen of "Girls of America" and Lucy Rowe who was honored with a club being named for her.
Site #54

Magnolia Home

iu160.jpg (33632 bytes)
1864 Home facing south on Fourth Street.  Many additions made.  Known as the old "Dewoody Homestead" back when Mississippi was spelled Mipipippi
Site #55

Lewis Home

iu253.jpg (19207 bytes)
1861 Located at 305 Eastport Street believed to have been moved from the town of Eastport.
1908 An addition was added to the home by Mr Wood.  A picture drawn by a Civil War soldier of this home shows a wrought iron fence encircling the structure.
Site #56

McConvill-Kimberly

iu145.jpg (8781 bytes)
1864 Located at 100 Pearl Street
1900 Purchased by the McConvill-Kimberly families
1965 Home remodeled.  Original part of the house has a slate roof.

 

  PREVIOUS PAGE BEGINNING PAGE STATE HOME PAGE

Back To: IMAGES - The FARM - GIFT STORE- MUSEUM - MEMORY ROAD - HOME

E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map