IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
MISSISSIPPI-
IUKA- TISHOMINGO COUNTY
, MS- 5/16/03

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

iu1.jpg (14881 bytes) iu163.jpg (7396 bytes) IUKA, MISSISSIPPI iu240.jpg (4495 bytes) iu239.jpg (7610 bytes)

 

iu80.jpg (16796 bytes)

IUKA
Chartered in 1857.  Often used as military headquarters in the Civil War.  Site of one of the South's first Normal School.  Iuka's mineral waters took first prize at St Louis World's Fair in 1904.

 

HISTORIC TIMELINE for IUKA, MISSISSIPPI 
1540  Spanish explorer Desota visited area
1682 French, LaSalla and Tonti, made contact with Chickasaw tribe in area
1736 Bienville with five hundred French soldiers made war on the Chickasaws and were defeated
1798 Mississippi Territory organized
1803 Treaty made with Chickasaws and main roads were opened including the Natchez Trace
1815 Andrew Jackson on his way to the Battle of New Orleans along the Natchez Trace welcomed by Chickasaws as he passed area.  Natchez Trace traversed almost the length of Tishomingo County
1816 A cession of land was secured from the Chickasaws
1836 The county was named for Chief Tishomingo which means warrior chief.  The President of the U S, as a mark of friendship gave him $150 annuity for his "conciliatory disposition" toward the whites.  Tishomingo was one hundred years old and his mother who lived with him was one hundred and twenty.
  Tishomingo County was formed.  The original county covered 923,040 acres.  The name of the original county seat was to be Cincinnati and was changed to Jacinto
  FIRSTS FOR TISHOMINGO COUNTY
  John Barton donated land for the courthouse at a cost of $199.
  First bridge built across Tuscumbia River at cost of $70
  William B Owns was the first sheriff.
  Samuel Matthews was the first senator
  Shelby Ussery was the first representative.
  Reverend Isaac Mahan of Eastport was the first minister of record in Iuka.
  The first mayor of Iuka was D L Davis.  He was also the first postmaster, first editor (of the Mink), a local preacher and a painter of considerable skill.
  James Anderson was the first Marshal
  The Blythe Hotel was the first hotel built.  The Iuka Springs Hotel was built soon after, later replaced by Mineral Springs Hotel.  The Wiggs Hotel was built near the west entrance of the park.  The Cayce Hotel was built on the hill which bears their names.
1837 First marriage license was issued from Iuka to John P Azbell and Jane Phillips
1839 Stage line built through Jacinto between Nashville and Memphis.  Road cost about $50.00 per mile
1840 Mineral Springs Park donated to the town of Iuka by David Hubbard in the early 1840's.  The mineral waters flowing from the ground became the center of tourism during the late 19th century..  The railroad brought visitors by the trainload to take advantage of the curative power of the award-winning mineral water and the peaceful beauty of the park, which is much the same today as it was then.  The springhouses have been maintained and recently a bandstand was reconstructed similar to the original.
  Dr M A Simmons of Jacinto edited the county's first newspaper
1841 Chief Tishomingo died
  Telegraph line installed along recently built stage road
1842 There were six church ministers located in the county
1844 David Hubbard donated ten and one half acres for Iuka Mineral Springs Park.  There were originally six flowing springs in the park.  The water was once sold to people all over the world  The Mineral Springs Hotel and the Leatherwood Hotel housed people from all over the world who came to drink the healing waters.
  E W Carmack founded Euclid Academy south of Jacinto
1852 By the treaty of Pontotoc, the tribe gave up all land and moved to Indian Territory
1856 First train passed through Iuka
1857 Land acquired for courthouse in  from Lemuel Hubbard
1857 David Hubbard was one of early settlers.  He built a home where Chief Iuka was supposed to have lived.  Now called the Brinkley estate.  Hubbard ran a ferry across the Tennessee River.
  Early Settlers in the Area:  Corman, Collier, Stamps, Doan, McIntosh, Davis, Latham, Cox, Blythe, Settle, Anderson, Eccles, Hubbard, McKnight, Hammerly, Hodges, Weaver, Lyle, Moore, Thompson, Coleman, Ussery, Barnett, Chism, James, Matthews and others were among the first settlers of the county.
  Town of Iuka incorporated December 13.  Many businesses from the town of Eastport relocated in the downtown area after railroad by passed the town of Eastport.  Town named after famous Chickasaw Indian Chief, Iuka.  Chief Iuka sold land to settler David Hubbard where city is now located.  Jay Bird park was once lined with hitching posts  
  Tishomingo County voted against session in the Legislature
  A railroad from the east and one from the west were joined one mile west of Iuka.  It was called the Memphis and Charleston.  Pat Maloney drove the silver spike to complete the railroad.
1858 George Stamps established the Iuka Female College on land donated by David Hubbard.
1859 A courthouse was built in Corinth
  Baptist Church first established
  The old Methodist Church was used as a hospital during the Battle of Iuka
1860 Harmony United Methodist Church was founded
  Population of Tishomingo County was 24,149.  The cotton crop was 11,479 bales
1862 Confederate General Henry Little was killed during the Battle of Iuka.  He was buried in the Rose Garden at the Coman Home, which is located across the street.  After the Civil War, his family had his remains moved home to Maryland

iu12.jpg (18679 bytes)

  General Nathan B Forrest made his headquarters in Iuka at the Old Reed Home which was located on  Quitman Street where the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bob Brown now stands.

iu13.jpg (23699 bytes)

1863 Iuka Springs Hotel used as hospital for sick and wounded after Civil War Battle of Corinth
1866 A group founded the Episcopal Church of Our Savior
  Oak Grove Cemetery was deeded to the town by Colonel Lawrence Moore
  NOTE: A visitor wrote "I read in  William L. Coker, Valley of Springs: The Story of Iuka, Winston- Salem: Hunter Publishing Co., 2nd ed. 1975, page 253, that John  Marshall Stone (Miss. Governor) deeded that land.  Could this be correct?
Can anyone help us solve this?
1867 The Bishop made his first visitation to the Episcopal Church
1869 Iuka Springs Hotel burned 
1869 First St Mary's Catholic Church erected
1870  Original Frame courthouse erected at a cost of $6,749 (1870 to 1886)
  Tishomingo County divided into Alcorn, Prentiss and Tishomingo counties
  Colonel Price, a member of the Methodist Church, donated land for the Episcopal Church 
1871 A March storm destroyed St Mary's Catholic church
1872 The Iuka Springs Hotel was erected
1873 The Episcopal Church building consecration  on September 28.
1875 The Iuka Female College was sold
1878 Yellow Fever swept through nation and people flocked to the healing springs in Iuka
1880s Methodist Church Building remodeled
1880 Iuka becomes a famous spa
1882 The Normal School was officially founded when H A Dean purchased the buildings which had been Iuka Male and Female Academy.  It was the first successful private normal school in the South.
1886 Original courthouse burned destroying all historic records..  Afterward makeshift court was held in Hiett's Store.
1889 A second courthouse  erected 
1889 Iuka Church of Christ established 
  The Christian Church erected
  Cumberland Telephone was given right to operate
1894 The Normal School was moved to the old Mineral Springs Hotel to provide more space for the increasing number of students.
1896 A disastrous fire destroyed much of downtown Iuka on March 17.
1897 Methodist Church Building remodeled again when the memorial art windows were installed
1898 The Southern Railway took over the Memphis and Charleston Railroad
1899 The Leatherwood Hotel along with the Calaboose  was burned.
1900 Bear Creek Bridge was built at a cost of $2583
1901 Electric lights were first turned on.
1902  The Iuka Normal Institute closed due to the typhoid epidemic and financial difficulties enrollment and patronage declined at the turn of the century
1904 Iuka Mineral Springs water awarded first place at the St Louis World's Fair.
1906 The apse was added and the art glass window picturing the Good Shepherd became a part of the structure of the Methodist Church
1907 Old frame railroad depot replaced by brick depot
1908 Illinois Central railroad opened up all of Tishomingo County
1914 The Baptist Church burned and was replaced by a brick building

1917 to 1971

The second courthouse held the Annual Gospel Singing Convention 
1922 The electric plant burned
1950  A new Catholic Church dedicated 
1956 Catholic Church demolished
1970  Shady Grove Cemetery was closed 
1980 A mission Catholic Church erected in downtown Iuka
1985  The Episcopal Church was saved from demolition by Iuka Heritage Corporation who now own the property

 

IUKA SITE MAPS

CLICK ON MAP FOR ENLARGEMENT

iu166.jpg (66443 bytes) SITE #31 iu267.jpg (12698 bytes)

 

DOWNTOWN IUKA

Site #31- A

Fulton Street

iu248.jpg (16367 bytes)

Site #31- B

Fulton Street

iu247.jpg (19136 bytes)

Site #31- C

Fulton Street

iu246.jpg (23440 bytes)

 

Site #31- D

Front Street

iu258.jpg (19068 bytes)
Site #31- E

Front Street

iu259.jpg (19066 bytes)
Site #31- F

Front Street

iu260.jpg (20398 bytes)
Site #31- G

Front Street

iu261.jpg (18657 bytes)
Site #31- H

Front Street

iu262.jpg (18173 bytes)
Site #31- I

Front Street

iu263.jpg (16355 bytes)

 

Site #31- J

Pearl Street

iu244.jpg (13074 bytes)

 

Site #31- K

Eastport Street

iu254.jpg (17130 bytes)
Site #31- L

Eastport Street

iu255.jpg (21472 bytes)

 

Jay Bird Park

Site #31- N

Front Street

iu235.jpg (26783 bytes)

iu236.jpg (20626 bytes)

iu238.jpg (17204 bytes)

iu237.jpg (20127 bytes)

iu173.jpg (11673 bytes)
 
iu167.jpg (15070 bytes) iu169.jpg (18797 bytes)
1920's  Downtown Iuka looking east  1930  Downtown Iuka looking east  
iu195.jpg (20812 bytes) iu178.jpg (12641 bytes) iu171.jpg (10299 bytes)
North side of Public Square and Jay Bird Park  Old railroad depot in Iuka 1910  Dugger Blacksmith Shop in Iuka
     
iu215.jpg (9215 bytes) iu170.jpg (10297 bytes)

Leatherwood Hotel

 

OLD COURTHOUSE  IUKA, MISSISSIPPI (Site #1)

iu7.jpg (15996 bytes)

OLD TISHOMINGO COUNTY COURTHOUSE
Land acquired 1857.  Courthouse built 1888.  Was in use from 1889 to 1971.  Former Governor J M Stone supervised erection.  Building housed Tishomingo County Singing Convention from 1917 until 1971.
iu242.jpg (25273 bytes) iu3.jpg (13107 bytes) iu2.jpg (10977 bytes) iu5.jpg (22383 bytes)
iu216.jpg (15190 bytes) iu6.jpg (6668 bytes)
1888  Old Tishomingo County Courthouse built after first courthouse burned Picture of Mr Duckett, former caretaker of courthouse
iiu11.jpg (11168 bytes) iu10.jpg (8610 bytes) iu8.jpg (5866 bytes) iu9.jpg (8079 bytes)

Pictures of the extensive archives located in the Old Courthouse

 

TISHOMINGO COUNTY ARCHIVES & HISTORY MUSEUM

Division of Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society
203 East Quitman Street
P.O. Box 273
Iuka, MS 38852
E-mail: tcarchives@nadata.net
Hours of Operation-Wednesday-Friday 8:30am-4:30pm,Saturday 10am-2pm
They have civil war memorabilia, Indian artifacts, medicine and medical bags from the 1800's, a home front room, a genealogy dept., a sheriff's office, a bell pull with a working bell, a gift shop, one room church, school, general store and more.

 

SITE OF IUKA NORMAL INSTITUTE (Site #12)

iu97.jpg (16913 bytes)

IUKA NORMAL
H A Dean & John Newhardt continuing work begun in 1857, opened Iuka Normal Institute in 1882.  Their reputations brought students from throughout the South.  Graduates won distinctions.
iu211.jpg (15917 bytes)
The old Iuka High School 

Now the site of Iuka School

iu98.jpg (26050 bytes)

 

CHURCHES OF IUKA

iu118.jpg (20284 bytes)

IUKA METHODIST CHURCH
Charter members from Eastport.  Edifice erected 1859.  Used as hospital during and after Battle of Iuka.  Structure damaged and records lost in War.  Bishop Hoss formally dedicated building 1898.
iu117.jpg (5780 bytes) iu120.jpg (11703 bytes) iu119.jpg (6379 bytes) iu128.jpg (10985 bytes) iu129.jpg (15897 bytes)

IUKA UNITED METHODIST CHURCH  (Site #29)

 

iu131.jpg (24844 bytes)

CHURCH OF OUR SAVIOR
Erected in 1873, this board and batten Carpenter Gothic structure was designed by James B Cook, architect, and was purchased by citizens from the Episcopal Diocese in 1985 to prevent removal.  Placed on National Register of Historic Places in 1991.  Received Award of Merit from the Mississippi Historical Society for exemplary restoration in 1992.
iu130.jpg (7250 bytes) iu132.jpg (3378 bytes) iu134.jpg (22150 bytes) iu165.jpg (15664 bytes) iu133.jpg (8136 bytes)

EPISCOPAL CHURCH OF OUR SAVIOR  (Site #30)

 

iu136.jpg (5506 bytes)iu137.jpg (8227 bytes)iu135.jpg (12813 bytes)iu139.jpg (3693 bytes)iu138.jpg (10586 bytes)iu140.jpg (6824 bytes)
IUKA FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH ST MARY'S CATHOLIC CHURCH

 

MINERAL SPRINGS PARK  (Site #34)

iu81.jpg (12332 bytes) iu175.jpg (10299 bytes) iu177.jpg (17881 bytes) iu79.jpg (17459 bytes)
Mineral Springs Park donated to the town of Iuka by David Hubbard in the early 1840's.  The mineral waters flowing from the ground became the center of tourism during the late 19th century..  The railroad brought visitors by the trainload to take advantage of the curative power of the award-winning mineral water and the peaceful beauty of the park, which is much the same today as it was then.  The springhouses have been maintained and recently a bandstand was reconstructed similar to the original.
iu82.jpg (22541 bytes) iu83.jpg (12292 bytes) iu248.jpg (19417 bytes)

iu85.jpg (22365 bytes)

Donated by Marshall and Reed Holley.  Was the home of their grandfather, Joseph Henry Holley.  Log house raised erected in 1879 in the New Hope Community of Prentiss County.

iu84.jpg (28236 bytes)

 

THE SIX SPRINGS OF MINERAL SPRINGS PARK

Six springs situated in a beautiful growth occupied a circle of about fifty feet.

Spring #1
For chronic malaria, chills, loss of appetite3, anemia and general debility.  Analysis: (1) Peroxide of Iron, largely  (2) Alumina, small quantities  (3) Chloride of Lime  (4) Chloride of Potassium  (5) Chloride of Sodium  (6) Free Carbonic Acid  (7) Sulphates in small proportions

Spring #2  The Beauty Spring
For dyspepsia and stomach troubles of all kinds,.  Analysis:  (1) Sulphurated Hydrogen, largely  (2) Free Carbonic Acid  (3) Bicarbonate of Magnesia, small amount  (4) Bicarbonate of Lime  (5) Bicarbonate of Potash and Soda  (4) Chlorides of Potassium and Sodium.

Spring #3  The Star Spring
For nervousness and a general toxic.  Analysis:  (1) Bicarbonate of Iron  (2) Free Carbonic Acid  (3) Bicarbonate of Magnesium, small amounts  (4) Bicarbonate of Calcium  (5) Bicarbonate of Soda  (6) Traces of Chloride.

Old Mineral Springs Hotel and Annex iu213.jpg (12882 bytes) iu200.jpg (17039 bytes)

 

THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF IUKA  (Site #38)

THE ORIGINAL BATTLEFIELD
This was the site of the "bloody" Battle of Iuka.  It is located south on Iuka around what is now Highway 25.  The battle took place on September 19, 1862 in the late afternoon hours and it has been estimated that there were 2,000 soldiers killed and wounded.

 

TISHOMINGO COUNTY FAIRGROUNDS  (Site #39)

Located just off Highway 25 south on Fairgrounds Road.  It is the site of the 125th Anniversary Re-enactment of the Battle of Iuka on September 19 & 20, 1987.

 

TISHOMINGO COUNTY HOSPITAL  (Site #48)

iu151.jpg (7573 bytes) iu152.jpg (23519 bytes) The structure was Tishomingo County's first hospital and was known as the "Cosby Clinic and Hospital".  It contained nine beds and two examining rooms.  Dr Harry Cosby practiced in this location until 1976 when he retired.  It is now used as a chiropractic clinic.

 

IUKA PUBLIC LIBRARY  (Site #53)

iu252.jpg (22553 bytes)

Iuka had library services since early 1930's.  The library was the first non-segregated library in the State of Mississippi.

 

IUKA POST OFFICE 

Iuka Post Office iu184.jpg (24694 bytes)

 

SIGNS of the TIMES in IUKA

iu256.jpg (17706 bytes) iu257.jpg (27150 bytes)

 

HISTORIC HOMES IN IUKA, MISSISSIPPI

Site #2  

Gravette-Woodley House.

iu14.jpg (7956 bytes) iu243.jpg (21704 bytes)
1880 House located on the east side of the second courthouse (Site #1)
1914 Purchased by E H Gravette from C L Pace.  Served as a boarding house for those who came from other parts of the county and state to conduct business at the courthouse.
1950 House extensively remodeled by Mr. Gravette's daughter and her husband Carlton Woodley

 

Site #3

Twin Magnolias

iu72.jpg (29469 bytes)
1842 House built as home of John M Stone who served as a Major in the Confederate Army and became Governor of Mississippi in 1876.  After the Battle of Iuka many wounded men were brought to this home, among General Henry Little of Maryland who died of his wounds in the master bedroom of the former spring house.

 

Site #4

Mulberry House

iu73.jpg (6311 bytes) iu74.jpg (26597 bytes)
1857 Originally built in the shape of and "L" with the dining room and kitchen opening onto a long back porch.  Handhewn beams still support the present structure and the original roof of cedar shingles and square nails are in existence under the present roof. A gazebo in the back is built on the site of the former spring house.

 

Site #5

Oakhaven

iu75.jpg (6674 bytes) iu76.jpg (23711 bytes)
1857 Property purchased from J C Terry
1882 A bungalow was built on the site of the first Baptist Church in Iuka by Samuel Dewoody and was later purchased by Governor John M Stone.  Later the home passed into the hands of T H Elam an attorney and upon his death in 1918 an outside doorway had to be enlarged to accommodate his casket.

 

Site #6

Walnut Port

iu77.jpg (6763 bytes) iu78.jpg (27550 bytes)
1837 Home originally built Eastport
1860 Moved from Eastport to 102 East Meigs.  This is the oldest home in Iuka.  Dr James S Davis lived in the home during the Civil War and his daughter, Miss Meg Davis taught a private school in the home for many years.

 

Site #

Hyatt Cottage

iu88.jpg (29576 bytes)
1885 Located at 109 West Meigg.  Built by Captain J C Hyatt as a vacation home for his children.

 

Site #8

Folly House

iu89.jpg (35174 bytes)
1885 One of the original Hyatt Cottages built by Captain Hyatt
1968 Extensively renovated by Mrs. Ethel Childs

 

Site #9

Twin Oaks

iu90.jpg (20211 bytes)
1867 Home located at 502 South Pearl Street was originally the home of the Barnett family and was used at one time to hourse students from the Iuka Normal Institute.  An interesting old cellar lined with brick still remains under the house.
1977 Bought by the Clark sisters and underwent extensive renovation retaining much of the original structure.

 

Site #10

Olen House

iu91.jpg (23198 bytes)
1842 Originally built in the town of Eastport, moved to Iuka a few years later and located on the corner of Quitman and Pearl Streets.  Captain Jim Doan and his family lived in the home for many years.
1935 Remodeled by Mr. and Mrs. David Olen Jourdan, Sr.
1949 Moved to its present location on Pearly Street at the corner of Meigg 

 

Site #11

Doan-Childs Home House

iu92.jpg (22484 bytes) iu93.jpg (26922 bytes)
1857 Located at 203 West Quitman Street.  Built by Captain Jim Doan.  Only four families have lived in it since its construction.  The home contains five fireplaces (originally the home had seven) and random birch parquet floors
1973 Restored by Mrs. Ethel Childs

 

Site #13

Merrill-Nelson Home

iu94.jpg (5405 bytes) iu95.jpg (19665 bytes)
1855 Located facing south on the north side of Quitman Street.  Was the home to the Merrill family.  Dick Merrill, a famous aviator was born here.  The small structure beside the home is of the same period and once served as a school.  The home received extensive damage during the Battle of Iuka when a cannon ball went through the roof of the front bedroom
1936 The Nelson family purchased the home from Mrs. Lyla Merrill McDonald

 

Site #14

Dormitory Annex

iu99.jpg (6464 bytes) iu100.jpg (25141 bytes)
1858 Timbers for the home were incorporated in the back section of the Female College Dormitory erected in 1858
1903 The timbers were removed from the Dormitory and used to build the house on the south side of Quitman Street. 

 

Site #15

Carmichael House

iu101.jpg (6359 bytes) iu102.jpg (23203 bytes)
1869 This home next door to the Dormitory Annex was constructed for use as a boarding house for students attending Iuka Female College, and later Iuka Normal Institute.  The frame house is "L" shaped with two rooms upstairs and five rooms on the entry level.  The two basement rooms under the "L" wing were used as a kitchen and dining room during the dormitory days
1981 During remodeling, six of the original ten fireplaces were made operable.

 

Site #16

Reid Home

iu103.jpg (5415 bytes) iu104.jpg (20563 bytes)
1860 Home located at 702 West Eastport Street.  Was occupied by the Reid family for many years.  The gingerbread trim and picket fence are original and of particular interest.

 

Site #17

Parsonage

iu109.jpg (19876 bytes)
1842 Was originally built in the town of Eastport and moved to Iuka.  It was the first Methodist parsonage in Iuka
1975 During remodeling, wooden pegs and square nails were found enabling the  owners to date the home

 

Site #18

Carter Home

iu245.jpg (19953 bytes)
1891 Located at 115 South Stone Street.  Once owned by the Payne family.  Originally consisted of three rooms and added onto in later years.  The Carter family owned the home for many years.

 

Site #19

George Cutshall Home

iu110.jpg (16778 bytes)
1860 Home built.  The present structure includes annexed out-buildings which were once the slave quarters.  The original hand hewn beams still support the structure and the home looks today much as it did when it was constructed.
1869 Earliest available records show that John M Stone (later Governor) owned this home.

 

Site #20

Hiett Home

iu111.jpg (21960 bytes)
1863 Sheriff D T Deal built this three room house
1910 The Hiett family purchased the home
1912 Additions were made by the Hiett family.
1980 Miss Willie Hiett willed the home to the Iuka Baptist Church when she passed away and the building was renovated.  The Iuka Baptist Kindergarten and Day Care Center is presently housed in the structure..

 

Site #21

T L Brown Home

iu112.jpg (18366 bytes)
1878 This one story gabled house retains much of the original structure, although it has been greatly expanded in recent years.  It was the first Iuka home to be wired for electricity.  It remained in the Brown family until it was recently sold.

 

Site #22

Ramsey Home

iu113.jpg (6653 bytes) iu114.jpg (24986 bytes)
1881 Located at 408 West Eastport Street.  Was built by R H Allen
1942 Will Ramsey purchased the property in 1942.  The home has been extensively remodeled over the years

 

Site #23

Daniel-Ross Home

iu115.jpg (7198 bytes) iu116.jpg (24370 bytes)
1880 Located at 409 West Eastport Street.  No records known to exist on this home before 1880.
1962 A complete renovation was made.  The home maintains its original high ceilings and open fireplaces.

 

Site #24

Lacey's Love Home

iu122.jpg (7446 bytes) iu123.jpg (22691 bytes)
1884 Located at 408 West Eastport Street.  The name of the home originated from the James Robert Lovelace family who now own it.
1993 Home remodeled throughout, leaving the tall ceilings, long windows, and original floors

 

Site #25

Carmack Home

iu107.jpg (5286 bytes) iu108.jpg (23371 bytes)
1859 Located at 400 West Eastport Street.  Was built as a home for the David Hubbard family.
1895 Purchased by Dr Frank Carmack who was an accomplished physician, teacher, newspaper editor, mineralogist and geologist and municipal official.  He became Mayor of Iuka in 1919 and served until 1920.

 

Site #26

Foote-Nichols Home

iu124.jpg (18689 bytes)
1883 Home built by J C Jourdan.  Home is of Queen Anne design and now serves as offices for David L Nichole CPA.  Inside are large rooms with 13 foot ceilings and an old staircase remains intact.

 

Site #27

Dr A F Whitehurst Home

iu125.jpg (21703 bytes) iu180.jpg (26563 bytes) iu181.jpg (11893 bytes)
1859 Home is believed to have been brought from Eastport
1903 Home owned by Dr and Mrs. A F Whitehurst
1925 The two story dwelling was incorporated into the existing three story brick home which now stands.
1940's During the post World War II years, the home was known as the Hundley Hotel
1977 Returned to the Whitehurst family when it was purchased by Dr Whitehurst's grandson, James E Thomas Jr.

 

Site #28

Moss Rose

iu126.jpg (9089 bytes) iu127.jpg (27737 bytes)
1848 Located at 111 North Main Street.  Was used as an emergency hospital during the Battle of Iuka.  During the battle the home received considerable damage to a right side room when a cannon ball penetrated the roof
1866 Home acquired by the Moss family

 

Site #32

W S Brown Home

iu246.jpg (27394 bytes)
1917 Was the first brick home built in Iuka
1970's Home remodeled in early 1970's

 

Site #33

Hammerly Home

iu247.jpg (27363 bytes)
1847 Home originally built at the town of Eastport by George P Hammerly
1850's Home moved by oxcart to its present location at 102 West Quitman Street
1860's Home was the scene of weekly prayer meetings during the Civil War and for many years thereafter.  

 

Site #35

Gaines-Waters Home

iu86.jpg (21143 bytes)
1890 Located on Indian Street.  Built by the Jackson family in the Victorian era.  It was used at one time as a boarding house for visitors coming to Iuka to partake of the mineral water.

 

Site #36

Edwards Place


In its heyday early 1990's
submitted by B Gaines 8'06
iu87.jpg (24300 bytes)
5'03
1898 Located at 608 Indian Street.  The home was built for the Robert Edwards family.
1900's The home was also used as a boarding house in the early 1900's for tourist who came to partake of the mineral waters.  The home has been in the Lomenick family for about 60 years. It was purchased by Southern Railroad engineer Surrey Petus Waddey in about 1916 and he and his family lived there until about 1946. His wife was Mary Fulghum Waddey

 

Site #37

Shady Grove Cemetery

 
1857 It is believed that this cemetery was opened in 1857 along with the founding of the town of Iuka.  In the northwest corner of the cemetery lies the burial place of 263 Confederate soldiers who died during the Battler of Iuka.  Attempts were made around the turn of the century by the United Daughters of the Confederacy to commemorate the site with a wall and monument.  These no longer exist.

 

Site #40

Dunrobin House

iu249.jpg (31901 bytes)
1847  Home located at 605 Eastport Street.  Served as headquarters for a short period of time during the Civil War for U S Army General Grant and General Rosecran.  The Brinkley family has lived in the home continuously since it was constructed and much history and tradition surround this famous old landmark

 

Site #41

Rosa-Lee

iu250.jpg (19009 bytes) iu251.jpg (28153 bytes)
1911 Home built by R Lee Smith on the site of an older home that was torn down.  Mr Smith married the daughter of Captain C J Hyatt, Rosa Hyatt Smith and the same family has continually occupied the home.  The circular beveled glass in the front door is of interest as it is rare and was especially ordered for the home when it was built.

 

Site #42

Castleberry Home

iu105.jpg (7681 bytes) iu121.jpg (26942 bytes)
1887 Located at 610 West Eastport.  The house has been in the same family for 65 years and was the first home to have electricity from battery generated power.  The front portion of the home is original.

 

Site #43

Academy Row

iu141.jpg (5252 bytes) iu142.jpg (21483 bytes)
1882 Home constructed on the site of the Boys Academy property that was in existence in the 1860's.

 

Site #44

The Smith's Home

iu146.jpg (24305 bytes)
1864 Located at 708 North Pearl Street.

 

Site #45

Phillips Home

iu147.jpg (5587 bytes) iu148.jpg (22140 bytes)
1838 Was the first F H A structure built in Iuka.  The front portion of the home is original.

 

Site #46

Homeplace

iu149.jpg (6777 bytes) iu150.jpg (23965 bytes)
1880 Two story home located at 602 North Pearl Street.  Has been renovated over the years but still maintains the original structure with several high ceilings. 

 

Site #47

Doan-Cutshall

iu143.jpg (15225 bytes)
1864 Structure built by John Doan and later occupied by E J and Frank McRae who planted the large oak trees.  The building burned twice and Dr Hodges extensively remodeled what was left of the structure after the fires.
1941 Everett Cutshall bought the home and it became Iuka's first modern-day funeral home. 

 

Site #49

Hubbard House

iu153.jpg (7944 bytes) iu154.jpg (19602 bytes)
1857 Home built by David Hubbard.  The house became known in later years as the "Shockley House".

 

Site #50

Stage Coach House

iu157.jpg (7100 bytes) iu158.jpg (23125 bytes)
1853 Home believed to have been moved from the town of Eastport.  It was the first stop on a stagecoach route that ran from Eastport to Tupelo.

 

Site #51

Boothe Home

iu159.jpg (28819 bytes)
1857 Home retains much of its original structure except for an new kitchen that was added.  During a recent remodeling a letter dated 1857 was found in a wall behind the old chimney.

 

Site #52

Hubbard-Randle Home

iu144.jpg (24511 bytes)
1861 Home constructed by L G Hubbard.  Home occupied by Martha Francis Allen of "Girls of America" and Lucy Rowe who was honored with a club being named for her.

 

Site #54

Magnolia Home

iu160.jpg (33632 bytes)
1864 Home facing south on Fourth Street.  Many additions made.  Known as the old "Dewoody Homestead" back when Mississippi was spelled Mipipippi

 

Site #55

Lewis Home

iu253.jpg (19207 bytes)
1861 Located at 305 Eastport Street believed to have been moved from the town of Eastport.
1908 An addition was added to the home by Mr. Wood.  A picture drawn by a Civil War soldier of this home shows a wrought iron fence encircling the structure.

 

Site #56

McConvill-Kimberly

iu145.jpg (8781 bytes)
1864 Located at 100 Pearl Street
1900 Purchased by the McConvill-Kimberly families
1965 Home remodeled.  Original part of the house has a slate roof.

 

    STATE HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us