IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TENNESSEE-
ANDERSON COUNTY, TN- 5/21/98

Do you have information to provide?
Your help is needed to make this site better for all the people inside and outside of ANDERSON County, Tennessee.  We are particularly interested in documenting the history of ANDERSON  County.  If you have useable information we are anxious to publish it on this site or will provide a link if you have it already posted on the net. Many thanks.

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

ANDERSON COUNTY, TENNESSEE

wpeBDF.jpg (6297 bytes)

 

HISTORIC TIMELINE of ANDERSON COUNTY
1750 Dr Thomas Walker sent by Loyal Land Company of Virginia to explore area
1761 Elisha Walden and his exploring parties traveled the Clinch and Powell River Valley
1796 It is believed that the first dwelling built near Clinton in Anderson County was by Thomas Frost
1801 County established from lands that had been parts of Knox and Grainger Counties on November 6
1802 There were roughly 600 families living in Anderson County
1803 The first public election in the county for state and federal offices occurred
1806 A portion of the county was removed to become a part of Campbell County
Union Academy was established for male students
1817 Union Academy's charter amended to admit female students
1820
The following businesses were noted in Anderson County in 1820 12 Hat shops
8 Tanyards
16 Blacksmiths
5 Saddlers
5 Wheelwrights
10 Coopers and Barrel Makers
3 Cabinet Makers
38 Sugar Manufacturers
44 Distilleries
1830's A new jail was built
1840's The Butler Iron Works was operating on Poplar Creek
The McKinney Forge was operating near Donavan
1849 A portion of the county was removed to become a part of Scott County
1850 A portion of the county was removed to become a part of Union County
1856 The Knoxville and Kentucky Railroad Company laid tracks in the county
1890's State militia stops coal miner's war
1892 There were 58 public schools in the county, 21 log and 37 frame buildings
1950's State militia quells racial violence 

 

PEOPLE of ANDERSON COUNTY

z5.jpg (2682 bytes)

-Anderson County was named for Senator Joseph Anderson
-Joseph Anderson was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on November 3, 1757
-He studies law and was appointed ensign in the New Jersey line of the Continental Army
-Anderson attained the rank of Brever Major by end of the Revolutionary War
-He was appointed one of three Judges of the Territory Southwest of the River Ohio in 1791
-He served in the U S Senate from 1797 to 1815
-President Madison appointed Anderson Comptroller of the Treasury in 1815
-After retirement from the Senate, Anderson lived in Washington until his death on April 17, 1837

JOSEPH ANDERSON

Charles "Bones Seivers in recognition of outstanding duties performed and services rendered while serving in the capacity of mayor, alderman, and administration for the town of Clinton, Tennessee.  Dedicated May 20, 1987.

CHARLES G SEIVERS

 

ATTRACTIONS of ANDERSON COUNTY

wpe970.jpg (20549 bytes)

wpeC0E.jpg (3500 bytes)wpeB52.jpg (3822 bytes)

wpe9EC.jpg (7929 bytes)

-Located on Highway 61 outside Clinton
-A 100 acre complex
-Operated by the Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency
BULL RUN STEAM PLANT EAGLE BEND FISH HATCHERY

 

NORRIS DAM

wpeA55.jpg (21157 bytes)

You are now at Norris Dam, a multi-purpose dam on the Clinch River.  Water stored here helps control floods, released water generates electricity and helps maintain navigation depths on the Tennessee.  Before reaching the Ohio river the same water produces electricity at nine additional dams.
The Tennessee River has its headwaters in the mountains of Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina and Georgia.  The main stream forms at Knoxville, where the Holston and the French Broad Rivers join.

The valley, 41,000 square miles in area, receives an average of 52 inches of rain a year.  In terms of water discharged into the Ohio and Mississippi, the Tennessee River is about equal in size to the Missouri.

The Tennessee Valley Authority has harnessed the river with a multi-purpose system of dams and reservoirs which regulates floods, improves navigation, and generates electric power.

High dams on the tributaries create large storage reservoirs which hold back flood waters, releasing them when necessary to maintain navigation depths downstream, and at the same time generating electric power.  The system also helps protect the Lower Ohio and Mississippi Valleys.

The nine main river dams, with their locks, form a navigation channel 850 miles long, from Knoxville to the Ohio River.  An important arm of the nations inland waterway system connecting 20 states.

Having developed virtually all the river's power resources, TVA has built huge coal-burning steam electric plants to help serve the region's growing power needs.. TVA power is sold at wholesale to cities and rural electric cooperatives which, in turn, distribute it at retail to homes, farms, business, and industry.  A few industries and U S Government diverse installations that use large amounts of power and served directly by TVA.  The largest of these using more power than a great city, are the atomic plants at Oak Ridge, Tennessee, and Paducah, Kentucky.

wpeA52.jpg (5435 bytes) wpeA54.jpg (6364 bytes) wpeA53.jpg (6127 bytes) wpeA49.jpg (6350 bytes) wpeA4D.jpg (6155 bytes) wpeAEE.jpg (4798 bytes)
wpeAF2.jpg (2991 bytes) wpeAEF.jpg (3592 bytes) wpeAF1.jpg (3506 bytes) wpeA61.jpg (6445 bytes) wpeC1B.jpg (4832 bytes) wpeA62.jpg (5859 bytes)

wpeA5F.jpg (6553 bytes)

wpeA4A.jpg (10623 bytes)

wpeA60.jpg (7554 bytes)

State Striped Bass or Rockfish Fishing Record Record catch 49 lbs, 8 oz
Caught in Norris Lake

NORRIS DAM

 

MUSEUM OF APPALACHIA
wpeA28.jpg (4913 bytes) wpeAF8.jpg (6521 bytes) wpeAFE.jpg (4925 bytes) wpeA27.jpg (34848 bytes)
-Located one mile east of I-75 at Norris exit 122
-Open daily
-Admission charged
-65 acre museum
-Contains a collection of more than 30 authentic log cabins and buildings
-250,000 artifacts housed in a huge display barn
-Appalachian Hall of Fame, a tribute to the people of Appalachia
-Appalachian gardens surrounded by split rail fences, numerous farm animals
wpeAF9.jpg (5370 bytes) wpeA31.jpg (4982 bytes) wpeAFB.jpg (5736 bytes) wpeA2D.jpg (4144 bytes)
wpeAFC.jpg (5969 bytes) wpeA2B.jpg (5743 bytes) wpeAFD.jpg (5010 bytes) wpeA2A.jpg (4523 bytes)

MUSEUM OF APPALACHIA

 

wpeC0F.jpg (7776 bytes)

-Craft and Gift Shop features items made by over 200 local artists
-An antique shop and restaurant located in building
-A large auditorium for meetings and receptions occupy a large portion of building
-Restrooms available at location

1  MUSEUM ENTRANCE BUILDING

wpeC10.jpg (6962 bytes)

Houses relics belonging to notable, historic, famous, interesting and unusual folk from area
Also contains an Indian artifact collection and early handmade and unusual musical instruments
Restrooms available at location

2  THE MUSEUM OF APPALACHIA HALL OF FAME BUILDING

-Contains one of the nations largest collections of frontier and pioneer memorabilia
3  THE DISPLAY BARN
-Used for producing tannic acid
-Tannic acid used for tanning hides for leather
-Tanned leather used in making shoes, saddles, harnesses, and other items

4  BARK GRINDERS

5  JAIL CELLS
-Contains leather working tools and equipment
-Originally owned by Hobart Hagood of Persia, Tennessee
6  LEATHER SHOP

wpeA37.jpg (9405 bytes)

-Cabin moved from Possum Trot, Tennessee
-Once served as the home of Mark Twain's parents and some of their children
-The famous writer was born in Missouri some five months after family moved from Tennessee

7  MARK TWAIN'S FAMILY CABIN

-A typical East Tennessee log barn moved from adjoining Union County
-Is used for storing hay and fodder and for sheltering various farm animals
8  THE WILSON BARN
-Turkeys, guineas, ducks, peafowl, and various kinds of chickens housed at Granny's
9  GRANNY'S HEN HOUSE AND CHICKEN LOT
-This stop represents three of the most important pioneer industries
-A wooden bellows used for firing the forge in blacksmith shop
-Blacksmith tools featured
-Center portion of building houses the wheelwright shop
-Is one of the most complete wheelwright shops in the country
-The shed to the west contains a stone mill powered by a one cylinder engine
10  BLACKSMITH SHOP, MILL HOUSE, AND WHEELWRIGHT SHOP

wpeC11.jpg (7340 bytes)

-Grown here were the main source of family food
-Dozens of varieties of vegetables are grown here
11  THE GARDENS
-Used to store the years supply of smoked pork
12  BUNCH SMOKEHOUSE
-General Bunch helped build the house when he was eight years old
-Bunch died at age 86 when he fell from an apple tree
13  THE GENERAL BUNCH HOUSE
-The cabin was built about 1800 on the Clinch River near Liberty Hill in Granger County
-It is included in the National Register of Historic Places
-The cabin is fully furnished in frontier style
14  THE ARNWINE CABIN
-Represents a typical gristmill found in the mountains of the region
15  THE OLD SHARP CORN MILL
-Was built southwest of Knoxville on what later became Kingston Pike
-It is thought to have be built by the McClungs in the 1790's
-The McClungs later became one of East Tennessee's most prominent families
-It is thought to have been used as a hospital during the Civil War

16  THE McCLUNG HOUSE

-Moved from nearby Maynardville, Tennessee
-Was later used as a meat smoke house by the Monroe family

17  THE MARK MONROE PIONEER LOG KITCHEN

-Broomcorn was grown by almost all early families
-The round brooms consisted of a few bunches of broom straw tied on a stick
-Displayed inside in a wooden "geared and cogged" rope making machine
-Any size rope could be made by twisting three smaller strands into one
18  BROOM AND ROPE HOUSE
-Moved from the old "Bunk" Cox place about two miles south
-The site was taken when I-75 was built

19  CORN COB CRIB

-The corn crib in the lot was built by the Longworth family in Claiborne County

20  HOG HOUSE & HOG LOT

wpeC12.jpg (7407 bytes)

-Is a one-room dirt floored structure
-Was used by 20th Century Fox in a TV series for CBS called "Young Dan'l Boone"
-The cabin was built in the New River section of Anderson County in the early 1800's
-It is fully furnished with early frontier-pioneer artifacts
21  DAN'L BOONE CABIN
-Used by early families to protect their flock at night from wild animals and stray dogs
22  SHEEP PEN
-Was built about 1840 near the community of Hamburg in Madison, North Carolina
-After abandonment as a church it was bought by local farmer
-It was later sold to Thomas Tweed of Woodfin, North Carolina
-Tweed paid $35 and a cowboy hat for the building
-The building and its contents was purchased by the museum in 1976
23  LOG CHURCH

wpeC13.jpg (3720 bytes)

-Was moved from nearby Tater Valley
-It is furnished in the manner of an early mountain school
24  LOG SCHOOL HOUSE
-Consists of a grove of early varieties of fruit trees
-Old fashioned beehives are located in the orchard
-A cedar "bee tree" is also found in the orchard where bees have made honey for at least a half a century
25  THE ORCHARD

wpeC14.jpg (8041 bytes)

-The building came from the old Hatmaker place in nearby Raccoon Valley
-It was acquired from Bishop Hatmaker
26  LOOM HOUSE

wpeC15.jpg (2850 bytes)

-Has now become one of the most rapidly vanishing structures in America
-Most privies could accommodate only one person at a time, but this one is a "two-holer"
27  THE PRIVY
-Was moved from adjoining Union County near the village of Luttrell
-First known occupant was Nathaniel Peters who lived there about 1840
28  PETERS HOMESTEAD HOUSE
-This building was originally owned by the Childress family and located in Powell Valley
-The loft was used as a granary, and reportedly as a place to make illicit moonshine
29  HOMESTEAD SMOKEHOUSE & GRANARY
-The underground dairy was used as a cool place to store milk and other perishables
-This building was constructed from red cedar by Ed and Elmer Sherwood
-It was restored by Jim Russell and Mickey Lindsay in 1996

30  UNDERGROUND DAIRY

-Built as a protection where poultry could be penned up at night
31  CHICKEN HOUSE AND LOT
-Indian corn, or more properly maize, was a most important crop of the early pioneer
-From it came bread, mush, grits, and parched corn for family survival during the winter
-It was also used to feed the fowl and livestock
32  HOMESTEAD CORN CRIB
-Was used for sawing logs into limber
-This mill remains operable and lumber is sawed here on special occasions

33  SAW MILL

-Mules or Jackass's had a mean disposition and were held at night in Jack Pens

34 JACK PEN

-Isolated families of Southern Appalachia had their own tiny blacksmith shops
-Every tool in the shop was handmade by an African-American family named Parkey
35  PARKEY BLACKSMITH SHOP
-This barn was moved to the Museum from a location near Seymour in Sevier County, Tennessee
36  OVERHANG OR CANTILEVER BARN

 

BOAT DOCKS & RAMPS of ANDERSON COUNTY
wpeB13.jpg (22669 bytes) wpeB12.jpg (25504 bytes)
SEQUOYAH MARINA STARDUST RESORT & MARINA

 

HISTORIC HOMES of ANDERSON COUNTY

wpeA88.jpg (6373 bytes)

 

CHURCHES of ANDERSON COUNTY
wpeAEA.jpg (25430 bytes) wpeAD4.jpg (28178 bytes) wpeABB.jpg (22708 bytes)
Antioch Missionary Baptist Church Batley Baptist Church
Established 1924
Beech Grove Baptist Church
wpeA8A.jpg (24058 bytes) wpeADC.jpg (29530 bytes) wpeAE9.jpg (32683 bytes)
Beech Grove Missionary Baptist Church Black Oak Baptist Church Blowing Springs Missionary Baptist Church
Building erected 1951
wpeAD2.jpg (29434 bytes) wpeB56.jpg (29297 bytes)
Carroll Hollow Baptist Church Cedar Hill Missionary Baptist Church Claxton Church of God
wpeA90.jpg (26089 bytes)
Established 1904
wpeAE7.jpg (28966 bytes) wpeB2F.jpg (31512 bytes)
Clear Branch Baptist Church 
Building erected 1960
Community Baptist Church Deep Springs Baptist Church
wpeAAD.jpg (23739 bytes) wpeAA9.jpg (32762 bytes) wpeB33.jpg (22450 bytes)
Dutch Valley Missionary Baptist Church Dutch Valley United Methodist Church Eagle Bend Apostolic Church
wpeB51.jpg (27072 bytes) c95(3).jpg (28933 bytes) wpeB24.jpg (25449 bytes)
Edgemoor Baptist Church
Building Erected 1959
Emmanuel Baptist Church Fairview Free Will Baptist Church
wpeB15.jpg (24154 bytes) wpeB50.jpg (22807 bytes) wpeAAE.jpg (27238 bytes)
Faith Baptist Church Farmers Grove Baptist Church First Dutch Valley Baptist Church
wpeAAF.jpg (27284 bytes) c25(2).jpg (29026 bytes)
Fratersville Baptist Church Free Communion Baptist Church
Established 1889
Freeway Church of God
wpeAB8.jpg (26230 bytes) wpeABA.jpg (31951 bytes) a98(2).jpg (29561 bytes)
Friendly Welcome Missionary Baptist Church  Fork Mountain Baptist Church
Abandoned
Frost Bottom Missionary Baptist Church
wpeAA0.jpg (27640 bytes) wpeAD8.jpg (22304 bytes) wpeAB3.jpg (30682 bytes)
Gospel Light Church of God Gospel Outreach Baptist Church Graves Gap Missionary Baptist Church
wpeAB0.jpg (24900 bytes) c69(2).jpg (19995 bytes) a33(2).jpg (22009 bytes)
Grave Hill Missionary Baptist Church Greenway Baptist Church Guiding Star Missionary Baptist Church
c97(2).jpg (34334 bytes)
Established 1939

335 3rd St, Clinton, TN
wpeB31.jpg (13790 bytes)
Haven Chapel United Methodist Church
Rev E Knott 1892
Rev O R Huff 1945
Rev J E Hill 1966
Hillvale Baptist Church
Building erected 1993
 
Hinds Creek Baptist Church
wpeAB4.jpg (23322 bytes) wpeB18.jpg (25708 bytes) wpeAA1.jpg (26320 bytes)
Indian Bluff Missionary Baptist Church Indian Gap Baptist Church Island Ford Missionary Baptist Church
Established 1892
b61(2).jpg (26670 bytes) wpeAD6.jpg (27357 bytes) wpeAB6.jpg (25960 bytes)
Island Home Baptist Church Jarnigan Chapel Missionary Baptist Church Laurel Grove Missionary Baptist Church
wpeB2C.jpg (30030 bytes) a35(2).jpg (14772 bytes) wpeACE.jpg (28198 bytes)

Liberty Missionary Baptist Church

Light House Church of God

Little Community Baptist Church

wpeB17.jpg (19380 bytes) b29(2).jpg (29199 bytes) wpeB1F.jpg (25969 bytes)

Lone Mountain Baptist Church

Midway Baptist Church

Moores Gap United Methodist Church

wpeACC.jpg (20798 bytes) c33(2).jpg (27299 bytes)
Organized 1824
b63(2).jpg (25248 bytes)
Organized 1906

Moran Baptist Church

Mount Hebron Primitive Baptist Church

Mountain Assembly Church of God 

c35(2).jpg (26750 bytes) wpeB26.jpg (19553 bytes)
Organized 1924
c15(2).jpg (25496 bytes)
Organized 1888
Mt Olive Baptist Church Mt Pleasant Baptist Church
New Building Erected 1953
Mt Pleasant United Methodist Church
a25(2).jpg (31905 bytes) wpeB20.jpg (26015 bytes) anders63(2).jpg (30583 bytes)
Mt View Baptist Church Mt Zion Missionary Baptist Church New Hope Baptist Church
wpeAC9.jpg (29096 bytes) wpeAB2.jpg (24469 bytes) wpeAD3.jpg (30734 bytes)
New Mountain View Baptist Church New Pilot Baptist Church Oak Ridge Primitive Baptist Church
c17(3).jpg (23204 bytes) wpeA8B.jpg (22343 bytes) wpeAE8.jpg (18463 bytes)

Open Door Assembly of God

Pine Hill Baptist Church

Pine Ridge Baptist Church

wpeB3C.jpg (27293 bytes)
Established 1872
a50(3).jpg (27759 bytes) wpeADB.jpg (19487 bytes)

Piney Grove Missionary Baptist Church
Building erected 1967

Pleasant Hill Baptist Church

Pleasant View Baptist Church

wpeAD0.jpg (24925 bytes)
Established 1872
wpeB3A.jpg (25834 bytes) b93(3).jpg (26047 bytes)
Poplar Creek Baptist Church
Building erected 1950 & 1957
Providence Church Red Hill Baptist Church
wpeAB1.jpg (25353 bytes) wpeB14.jpg (25997 bytes) wpeA9F.jpg (28453 bytes)
Rock Hill Baptist Church Sequoyah Missionary Baptist Church Shultz Hollow Baptist Church
wpeB34.jpg (24814 bytes) wpeABC.jpg (26365 bytes) c99(2).jpg (40739 bytes)
Sinking Springs United Methodist Church Shiloh Baptist Church Spring Hill Missionary Baptist Church
a54(2).jpg (24401 bytes) wpeAEB.jpg (30567 bytes) wpeAA7.jpg (28022 bytes)
Established 1936
Valley View Baptist Church Victory Baptist Church Walden View Missionary Baptist Church
111 Executive Park Drive
 Clinton, TN 37716
140 S. Jefferson Circle
Oak Ridge , TN 37830
wpeB37.jpg (23687 bytes)
Wards Chapel-Clinch River Wards Chapel-Oak Ridge Wolf Valley Baptist Church
wpeB39.jpg (19098 bytes) wpeB22.jpg (25980 bytes)
Organized 1842
Zion Baptist Church Zion Hill Baptist Church

 

CEMETERIES of ANDERSON COUNTY
wpeA8E.jpg (29894 bytes)Established 1842 wpeB30.jpg (2900 bytes) wpeAAC.jpg (5732 bytes)
Leach Cemetery Overton Cemetery R W Long Cemetery

 

SCHOOLS of ANDERSON COUNTY
c83(2).jpg (23746 bytes) wpeB38.jpg (30586 bytes) wpeA9C.jpg (8675 bytes)
Anderson County High School Claxton Elementary School Dutch Valley School
wpeB32.jpg (20439 bytes) wpeB25.jpg (25946 bytes) b33(2).jpg (28095 bytes)
Faith Christian School Fairview Elementary School Grand Oaks Elementary School
wpeAAB.jpg (8258 bytes) wpeAB5.jpg (11393 bytes) wpeACF.jpg (7724 bytes)
Old School Building Old School Building Old School Building (Abandoned)
wpeADA.jpg (9966 bytes) wpeAB9.jpg (6098 bytes)
Old School Building Rosedale Elementary School (Abandoned)

 

POST OFFICES OF ANDERSON COUNTY
Bud Opened: June 20, 1887 Closed: March 31, 1904
Burrville Opened: July 1, 1802 Closed: December 29, 1809
Cardena Opened: July 7, 1898 Closed: December 31, 1903
Charley’s Branch Opened: July 3, 1930 Closed: November 30, 1957
Clinch River Opened: March 12, 1877 Closed: November 14, 1903
Clinchmore Opened: July 1, 1933 Closed: September 30, 1933
Coal Creek Opened: May 2, 1868 Closed: March 18, 1939
Custer Opened: January 4, 1883 Closed: November 19, 1903
Dail Opened: June 18, 1903 Closed: February 28, 1903
Delrey Opened: March 31, 1850 Closed: May 10, 1853
Devonia Opened: May 20, 1920 Closed: February 28, 1975
Dossets Opened: October 17, 1888 Closed: February 29, 1908
Dutch Valley Opened: April 25, 1879 Closed: January 24, 1905
East Fork Opened: April 2, 1858 Closed: April 3, 1867
Fairview Opened: July 15, 1869 Closed: April 25, 1898
Frost Opened: February 5, 1880 Closed: August 31, 1905
Hibbs Opened: May 27, 1892 Closed: February 28, 1903
Hinds Creek Opened: February 13, 1872 Closed: May 16, 1902
Jobe Opened: March 6, 1897 Closed: December 31, 1903
Lamar’s Store Opened: December 26, 1832 Closed: April 25, 1837
Laurel Opened: October 22, 1903 Closed: January 31, 1908
Leinarts Opened: February 17, 1909 Closed: July 18, 1951
Ligia Opened: August 15, 1903 Closed: January 14, 1904
Ligias Opened: November 12, 1880 Closed: February 24, 1897
Longville Opened: October 29, 1898 Closed: October 22, 1903
Low’s Sulphur Springs Opened: August 22, 1879 Closed: July 5, 1892
Loy’s Cross Roads Opened: June 22, 1832 Closed: June 27, 1866
Loysborough Opened: January 24, 1818 Closed: ca. 1821
Lues Well Opened: August 11, 1858 Closed: December 9, 1868
Lupton Opened: May 6, 1880 Closed: December 31, 1903
Marlow Opened: May 27, 1889 Closed: May 15, 1934
Moores Rest Opened: January 13, 1852 Closed: May 18, 1868
Mount Moriah Opened: July 13, 1874 Closed: January 4, 1883
Nily Opened: March 6, 1891 Closed: February 28, 1902
Offutt Opened: March 12, 1880 Closed: September 30, 1926
Olivers Opened: January 11, 1826 Closed: September 22, 1866
  Opened: November 9, 1866 Closed: January 18, 1869
  Opened: February 24, 1870 Closed: March 22, 1882
Olla Opened: April 25, 1892 Closed: May 30, 1903
Panther Opened: March 3, 1891 Closed: April 25, 1892
Peal Opened: April 13, 1883 Closed: December 13, 1883
Peril Opened: May 26, 1898 Closed: December 31, 1903
Pless Opened: January 20, 1901 Closed: June 15, 1914
Podopholine Opened: January 27, 1881 Closed: April 17, 1917
Poplar Creek Opened: March 22, 1882 Closed: May 3, 1884
Prosise Opened: March 27, 1884 Closed: March 31, 1903
Robertsons Opened: July 15, 1869 Closed: July 27, 1882
Robertsville Opened: March 26, 1832 Closed: December 30, 1832
  Opened: March 2, 1838 Closed: September 22, 1866
  Opened: February 17, 1869 Closed: July 14, 1917
Rosedale Opened: September 10, 1907 Closed: February 29, 1952
Ross Opened: June 28, 1828 Closed: July 11, 1872
Scarborough Opened: December 9, 1868 Closed: April 15, 1911
Scarborough Mills Opened: July 15, 1837 Closed: April 12, 1838
Seedom Opened: September 20, 1889 Closed: October 12, 1907
Sickles Opened: April 1, 1933 Closed: July 2, 1844
Sinking Spring Opened: March 24, 1807 Closed: July 12, 1813
Stainville Opened: November 6, 1907 Closed: January 31, 1955
Thomas Mills Opened: June 20, 1884 Closed: February 28, 1914
Tillary Opened: March 21, 1903 Closed: June 29, 1907
Tip Opened: June 21, 1890 Closed: August 23, 1905
Wallaces Cross Roads Opened: February 23, 1849 Closed: November 7, 1877 
Wilsons Opened: February 3, 1826 Closed: August 10, 1867
  Opened: September 29, 1869 Closed: March 31, 1904
Windrock Opened: March 29, 1880 Closed: February 12, 1894
  Opened: February 17, 1904 Closed: May 15, 1954

 

PARKS in ANDERSON COUNTY

wpeACA.jpg (8722 bytes)

wpeACB.jpg (3777 bytes)

Picnic Area
Playground
Boat Ramp

GIBBS FERRY PARK

 

NORRIS DAM STATE RESORT PARK
Norris Dam State Park
1261 Norris Freeway
Lake City
wpeA43.jpg (9810 bytes) wpeA45.jpg (20610 bytes) wpeA58.jpg (10885 bytes)
Located 5 miles from I-75 (Exit 128 or 122) on Highway 441
Norris is TVA’s first hydroelectric dam
Completed in 1936
Lake covers 36,000 acres
Overlooks on both sides of dam
Picnic areas, and walking paths are available
The powerhouse entrance is below the dam
Open to the public free
4,038 acre park

Built as the first TVA project, 1933
Grist mill built in 1790's restored and operating
Threshing barn and museum next to mill with pioneer artifacts

ACCOMMODATIONS:

INDOOR ACTIVITIES:

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES:

WATER ACTIVITIES:

Cabins (15)
RV Parking (50 sites)
Hook-ups
Electric
Water
Dump Station
Laundry
Restrooms
Showers
Tent Camping (40 sites)
Camp Store
Gift Shop
Museum
Recreation Center
Snack Bar
Visitor Center
Archery
Hiking
Picnic Area
Planned Activities
Playground
Tennis Courts
Volleyball
Boat Dock
Boat Launching
Boat Rental
Fishing
Swimming- Lake
Water/Jet Skiing
wpeAF3.jpg (5987 bytes) wpeA48.jpg (11971 bytes) wpeAF5.jpg (8168 bytes) wpeAF4.jpg (5057 bytes)
Located on Lower Clear Creek Rd
Caleb Crosby originally built the barn and threshing machine on the north side of the Holston River
The area was later called the Crosby Settlement in the Noeton community
Both the barn and threshing machine are built entirely from wood by hand
The barn stood  for about a100 years from the 1830's
Before the barn site was flooded by the lake, the barn was donated to the National Park Service
The barn was donated to the Tennessee State Park system and moved to present site in 1978
The barn artifacts include a pea shucker, cotton planter, and a wooden treadmill
Admission is free

CROSBY THRESHING BARN (Site #1)

wpeAE1.jpg (5287 bytes) wpeAE6.jpg (4853 bytes) wpeADE.jpg (6415 bytes) wpeAE0.jpg (5619 bytes)
wpeADF.jpg (4207 bytes) wpeAE3.jpg (6464 bytes) wpeAE4.jpg (6207 bytes) wpeAE5.jpg (5436 bytes) wpeAE2.jpg (5054 bytes)
Originally constructed along Lost Creek in Union County in 1798
Built by James Rice after migrating from North Carolina
The mill house was a two-story log structure with a wood shake roof
The wooden water wheel is of the overshot design
All of the wheel's internal gears were carved from hickory
The water wheel shaft was believed to have been hewn from a yellow poplar tree
The mill stones are original and believed to have been imported from France
A severe storm damaged the original millhouse in 1874
A two story frame millhouse was constructed in 1879
Four generations of the Rice Family operated the grist mill
"Uncle Jim" Rice operated the mill from 1798 until his death in 1829
Eldest son George operated the mill until 1868
George's eldest son, Henry, operated the mill until 1888
Henry gave the mill to his eldest son Rufus "Uncle Rufe" Rice
Uncle Rufe operated the family mill until 1935
TVA purchased the land for Norris Lake
The Civilian Conservation Corps removed the structure to its present site
TVA donated the mill and adjoining land to the Tennessee Department of Conservation in 1953
The mill still grinds corn meal during the summer months

RICE 18th CENTURY GRIST MILL (Site #2)

wpe9DC.jpg (9870 bytes)

Located one mile below Norris Dam on Hwy 441 at Norris Dam State Park
Contents of museum given to State of Tennessee by Will G Lenoir
Lenoir collected artifacts for more than 60 years
Free admission

wpe9DD.jpg (9814 bytes)

Tour can be made during visits at the Norris Dam State Park
LENOIR PIONEER MUSEUM (Site #3) HILL CAVE

 

RIVER BLUFF NATURAL AREA
wpeAA3.jpg (4013 bytes) wpeAA6.jpg (4132 bytes) wpeAA4.jpg (4880 bytes) wpeAA5.jpg (5457 bytes)

 

STATISTICS for ANDERSON COUNTY
Square Miles: 338
Miles of City Streets: 162.84
Miles of County Roads: 417.67

SIZE of ANDERSON COUNTY

1810 3,959 1880 10,820 1960 69,032
1820 4,668 1900 17,634 1970 60,300
1840 5,658 1920 18,298 1980 67,346
1860 7,068 1940 26,504 1990 68,250
POPULATION of ANDERSON COUNTY

 

SIGNS OF THE TIMES IN ANDERSON COUNTY
wpeAA2.jpg (3384 bytes) wpeACD.jpg (5203 bytes) wpeB2E.jpg (2402 bytes)
SLOW BLIND HILL KAREN RABBIT ON MAILBOX ON MILK CAN

 

BEGINNING PAGE STATES HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map