NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing
|CHARLOTTE, Tennessee- 8/99|
|CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS OF CHARLOTTE|
|HISTORY OF CHARLOTTE|
TIMELINE OF CHARLOTTE, Tennessee
Charlotte is established
|1807||The first post office is opened in Charlotte|
|1810||The first tavern is established by Rank Ellis on northwest corner of square|
|1812||A tavern is operated by Ben Joslin|
|1819||The Tennessee Supreme Court holds regular sessions in town from 1819 to 1821|
|1828||The city is incorporated|
|1830||A devastating tornado strikes the
town on May 30
The tornado levels all but two buildings including the first courthouse
Most public records from courthouse are never found
Some books are found several miles away
The roof of the jail is found 13 miles away
Tracy Academy is established in Charlotte before 1830
|The Voorhees-James House and one other building are the only ones left.
|1843||A bill is introduced to move state capitol to
The bill fails by one vote in the legislature
|1849||The General Merchandise Store is built
Building construction is by L L Leach from Pennsylvania
|Historic Tour of
Downtown Charlotte, Tennessee*
*Much of the information to follow was obtained from a brochure by Sherry J Kilgore
#1 Dickson County Courthouse Bids are issued for courthouse construction in 1806. The estimated cost of construction is approximately $ 10,000. The courthouse and jail are completely demolished by a tornado on May 30, 1830. Court sessions are held in the schoolhouse until new courthouse can be built. Present building is erected on the foundation of the original courthouse. The jail is rebuilt with materials from the former courthouse The new courthouse is completed by builder, Phillip Murray in 1833. The jail burns 1878. The building is enlarged in 1930. Major restoration of the old courthouse is completed in 1989. The Dickson County Courthouse is the oldest courthouse in use in Tennessee.
#2 Peoples Bank The Dickson County Banking Company is organized in 1907. The existing building is erected in 1920. The name is changed to the Peoples Bank in 1988. Extensive remodeling is completed to the building in 1988
#3 Cumberland Presbyterian Church The church is organized in the bounds of Montgomery Bell State Park in early 1800's. The first building is erected in town in the 1820's. The existing building is erected by donated slave labor in 1855. It contains an upstairs slave gallery. Construction is by brick fired in James Dickson's kiln. The church serves as a Union hospital during the Civil War. Extensive repairs are made to the building in 1949. The former steeple is destroyed by lightning. The bell tower houses a bell salvaged from a steamboat named the Sarah Blayden.
#4 Dickson County Courthouse Annex Building is erected 1977. Building occupies site of Charlotte Stagecoach Inn, torn down in 1913. Dillingham's Store occupied site until 1976.
#5 Dickson County Election Office Building erected in 1930. Built on site of the Prestly House.
#6 Bower's Store Building Building erected as a general merchandise store by Isaac Bowers in 1888. Later becomes the Charlotte Coffee Shop and the Charlotte Square Restaurant.
#7 U S Post Office Building erected in1965.
#8 Charlotte Drug Company First building constructed in 1920 Present building was constructed as a restaurant and law office.
#9 L L Letch Building Building erected as the Leonard Lane Leech General Merchandise Store in 1849. It was known as the Earnest Store and was for many years the Masonic Lodge.
#10 Voorhies-James House Built by Captain William James in 1806. The first floor served a store with the second floor being a residence. James became the first postmaster for Charlotte Building later became the residence of Jacob Voorhies. Voorhies later served in the State Senate.
#11 Hickerson-Colonel T K Grigsby Residence Built by Ward and Madeling Hickerson in 1950 Located on the site of the former Grigsby Residence, built 1820.
#12 Raymond's Garage Building erected 1920.
#13 Smith House Built in 1880.
#14 L J Browning Residence Built in 1880.
# 15 Collier-Cook House Built by William Clements Collier in 1855. The upstairs section is added by Justice William Loch Cook in 1929.
#16 B A Collier Store Built by Oscar Caldwell in 1949. All of the original counters and some of the original furnishings remain.
#17 Hickerson Hotel The first building is a store owned by Tom Overton It is destroyed by the 1830 tornado. The present building is constructed in 1853. It is bought by Felix Hickerson as a residence. A conversion to a hotel on the stagecoach route to Clarksville is made before 1876. The building is used by General Kirwine's headquarters during the Union occupation. The old kitchen and dining room town down and rooms turned to apartments in the1920's.
#18 Hickerson Shoe Shop Building erected by shoemaker Felix Hickerson in 1876.
#20 McNelly-Marsh Residence Home constructed in 1840. Many changes have been made by recent additions.
#22 Old Masonic Lodge/Post Office The building is erected with a post office on the first floor with a Masonic Lodge above. #23 Mayor's Office Building erected 1900. It serves for many years as the law office of William Leech, Sr. It has twice housed the Mayor's Office.
#24 Leech and Mallory's General Merchandise Store Building constructed before the Civil War, about 1860. It houses an undertakers establishment at one time Captain W J Mallory operates the White Elephant Saloon in the building. The Bernadine Grocery occupies the building in 1977.
#25 Old Jailer's House The old jail, destroyed by the 1830 tornado, was built in 1804. The present building is built from bricks from the old courthouse. The building is enlarged to present size in the 1930's. Acquisition is made by the Dickson County Historical Society in 1978. Historical records and artifacts of Dickson County are housed in building.
#26 Town Spring Emerges from a cave spring located southeast of the Public Square. It flows down the hillside and empties into Town Branch.. Was site of an early Indian camp.
#27 Leech-Black Home and Office Home built by Dr Daniel R Leech in 1855.
#29 Leech-Jackson Residence Home built 1900.
#30 Hicks Motor Company The building is erected as a Desoto/Plymouth dealership in 1920.
#31 Water Street Church of Christ The church building was begun in 1912 and completed in 1914.
#32 Millinery Shop Built sometimes in the 1900's.
#33 Barn The building is a remaining part of the original tannery and stables.
|#34 Charlotte Office
The Historic Office Building is erected in 1902.
It was originally the Charlotte Methodist Church until 1974.
The City acquires the building in 1975 and uses it until it is sold in 1979.
It has held offices for the District Attorney General since 1990.
|PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE|
|Early settlers include:
Sterling Brewer (Lt Governor from 1821 to 1823)
James R Napier (James Robertson's son-in-law)
Anthony Wayne Vanleer
|Aunt Charlotte Robertson
Charlotte is named for Charlotte Robertson of Nashville
Is a lawyer and a judge in Charlotte.
He preside over the court of Law and Equity.
|CHURCHES OF CHARLOTTE|
|Calvary United Pentecostal Church||Water Street Church of Christ||Central Church of Christ||Charlotte First Baptist Church|
|McGavock AME Church
|SCHOOLS OF CHARLOTTE|
|Charlotte Jr High School
250 Humphreys St
PO Box 40
Charlotte, TN 37036
Charlotte Elementary School Grades K-6 4000 Hwy 48 N Charlotte, TN 37036
|STATISTICS OF CHARLOTTE|
|POPULATION of CHARLOTTE|
|LOCATION CODES for CHARLOTTE|
|DICKSON COUNTY PAGE||TOP OF PAGE||STATE HOME PAGE|
Travel Site Map