NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing
|CUMBERLAND FURNACE, Tennessee- 8/99|
|CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|F & AM Lodge #601 (T/G # 3)|
|SIGHTS IN CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|HISTORY OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|HISTORIC TIMELINE OF
CUMBERLAND FURNACE, Tennessee
Is Dickson County's oldest community
|1793||General James Robertson and
William Sheppard purchase 640 acres of land
They build the first iron plantation village in Tennessee on Furnace Creek.
A fort is also constructed to protect the villagers
|1804||Robertson sells the plantation
to Montgomery Bell
Bell supplies cannon shot to General Andrew Jackson in War of 1812
|1825||Anthony Wayne Van Leer
purchases the iron works for $ 50,000
Van Leer operates furnace until the Civil War in 1863
|1865||Mary Florence Kirkman, Van
Leer's granddaughter, takes over furnace operation
She and husband Major James P Drouillard, a Union officer, operate furnace
|1889||Southern Iron Company buys
Southern replaces old furnace with a modern coke furnace
|1891||Louisville and Nashville Railroad establishes a branch line to furnace|
|1896||Buffalo Iron Company begins operating the furnace|
|1899||Warner Iron Company purchases the operations|
|1938||The furnace is shut down by Warner Iron|
|1942||During World War II, the
furnace is reopened for a short time
After the war, the iron works is dismantled and sold for scrap
|1988||The town is placed on the National Historic Register in September|
|Historic Tour of Downtown Cumberland Furnace, Tennessee|
|Daniel's Store (T/G # 10)
Built as a soda fountain by Henry Hunt in 1920.
Purchased by Jesse Daniel about 1927.
Building houses a grocery store until about 1961.
|Montgomery Bell Furnace (T/G #11)
Between 1810 and 1820, Montgomery Bell builds a larger furnace.
It is located about one half mile east of Robertson Furnace.
A house known as the John Cannon House is built on the site.
|Company Office (T/G # 12)
This building is part of the second furnace complex built by Bell.
It originally has three front entrances.
Entrances used as an office, a company store, and a hotel.
|Old Brick Utility Building (T/G # 13)
Uses probably included a slave quarters, smoke house, blacksmith shop, and residence.
Is built as part of the second furnace complex.
An 1892 deed refers to the building as "the store".
|Robertson Furnace Site (T/G # 17)
James Robertson starts construction of the furnace in 1793.
Furnace is opened for operation in 1796.
The pyramidal cold blast furnace is built of limestone and is charcoal fired.
Bellows operated by a water wheel furnish air for the furnace.
Furnace is located on a small cliff just east of Stack Spring.
Furnace is sold to Montgomery Bell in 1804.
Anthony Van Leer dismantles the furnace in 1830.
|Cumberland Furnace Railroad Depot (T/G # 19)
The Louisville and Nashville Railroad builds a six mile spur line into town in 1890.
The original depot burns when a load of hot slag falls on it in April 1919.
The present depot is built in 1920.
Service to the town is discontinued in 1931.
Tracks are removed by 1936.
|Cumberland Furnace Commissary (T/G # 20)
Built across street from Daniel's Store in 1870.
Building moves to present location in 1907.
Is used as a company store until the 1920's.
|Warner Iron Company Furnace (T/G # 21)
The Southern Iron Company builds a modern coke furnace in 1893.
The panic of 1893 causes a change of ownership in the Buffalo Iron Company, 1896.
Warner Iron Company becomes the owner in 1901.
The furnace is dismantled and sold for scrap in 1943.
|HOMES OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|Company House (T/G # 18)
House is built in 1900.
Is typical of turn-of-the-century company built residences
|Drouillard House (T/G # 1)
by the affluent Drouillard family in 1868 to 1870
Ferrell House (T/G # 6)
|Grimes House (T/G # 5)
Construction probably pre-dates the Civil War.
The structure is a double-pen log cabin covered with weather board.
The style is a good example of "folk architecture"
|Hand House (T/G # 4)
One of oldest buildings in Cumberland Furnace.
Built in 1829.
Served as residence and as a tavern.
Brick walls are three bricks thick and are all handmade.
|Stark's Cabin (T/G # 7)
Believed to have been built before the Civil War.
Log cabin is a single-pen one and one half stories
|Stark's House (T/G # 9)
Home built 1920.
The Stark's operated store next door to house.
|Warner Summer Home (T/G # 22)
Home built by Joseph Warner in 1900.
|CHURCHES OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|Hwy 48||Organized by Rev W M Martin and
Mrs B Stone and others, 1911.
35 charter members worshipped in school house until the church building is finished.
An addition is built in 1993.
|Cumberland Furnace Church of Christ||Cumberland Furnace Church of God||Cumberland Furnace United Methodist Church (T/G # 14)|
2075 Washer Hollow Rd
|1086 Old Hwy 48
Built by James and Mary Florence Douillard around 1878.
The first priest, Rev A B Russell, arrives April 1, 1879.
The architectural style is "Country Gothic".
|Land donated by R
B Stone and E H Stone to black citizens in 1902.
The church when built is named Stone Chapel.
|Mt Olive Missionary Baptist Church||Saint James Episcopal Church (T/G # 2)||Stone Chapel United Methodist Church (T/G # 15)|
|CEMETERIES OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|Vanleer Cemetery (T/G # 16)
first community cemetery in Dickson County.
|SCHOOLS OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|Van Leer Academy (T/G
James P and Mary Florence Drouillard build a parish school about 1880.
A state charter is applied for on March 21, 1881.
The first teacher is Miss Mary Harris.
The first floor becomes a two room public school until 1948.
The Iron Lodge # 503 builds a second story on building 1882.
|POST OFFICE OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|COMMUNITY CENTERS OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|Cumberland Furnace Community
Center (T/G # 8)
Is originally called Stark's Store.
Built by Hubert Stark in 1915.
|STATISTICS OF CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|LOCATION CODES for CUMBERLAND FURNACE|
|DICKSON COUNTY PAGE||TOP OF PAGE||STATE HOME PAGE|
Travel Site Map