IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TENNESSEE-
Fentress County
, TN

E-Mail Us


ALLARDT


HISTORICAL

Pronounced (AL-ART)
Had beginning about 1890
City incorporated 1964

Allardt Real Estate Association

 

Formed early days of city to promote community development
Village became known for excellent schools and religious ideals
County's first regular newspaper Began publication in city, 1890
Was called Allardt Gazette
Paper later moved to Jamestown

PEOPLE

Early settlers Bruno Gernt, Max Colditz, Stephen Lake, and Max Fritsche
Other old families of community Taylor, Northrup, Blair, Phillips, Brown, Gentry, and Wheaton
Bruno Gernt Was a native of Saxony
Came to Tennessee from Michigan
His old homeplace listed on National Register, 1987
Gernt Office Building
Max Colditz Was an engineer, surveyor, and historian

CHURCHES
Allardt First Baptist Organized 1935
Used basement building 1939
Auditorium constructed 1949
Allardt Freewill Baptist
Allardt Presbyterian Established 1902

SCHOOLS
Allardt School Built 1883
Replaced by one room frame building, 1910
Third school building opened 1923

POST OFFICE
Allardt Post Office Opened: 1883
Closed: No

BED & BREAKFAST
The School House B & B Taylor Place Rd Built 1910 as local school
Mountain View Golf Course & Lodge 3 miles south of Allardt
18 hole course
56 room lodge

PARKS
Bruno Gernt Memorial Park, Michigan Rd, Allardt Picnic

STATISTICS

POPULATION
1970 610
1980 654
1990 609
LOCATION CODES Zip: 38504

 

 

 


Armathwaite Community

HISTORICAL

Located in eastern part of county
Named by Alwyn Maud in honor of his English home community
Old homeplace for ancestors of Statesman, Cordell Hull

PEOPLE
Early settlers Hulls, Voiles, Tompkins, Bucks, Pierces and Brooks families

CHURCHES
Fellowship United Baptist Organized 1857
Listed by Stockton Valley Association of United Baptist Churches in 1916
Mt Helen United Baptist Organized 1893
First building was log construction
Second building erected 1903
Listed by Stockton Valley Association of United Baptist Churches in 1916

Morning Star Church

Center Belle Separate Baptist Probably organized about 1880
Land deeded to church 1884
Mt Olive arm of Separate Baptist organized 1892
New Friendship, New Liberty, and Pleasant Ridge were three churches in area
New Liberty and Pleasant Ridge joined to form Center Belle church

SCHOOLS
Armathwaite School Built 1885
Was log building near Fellowship Cemetery with flat rock floor
A two teacher school built at Chestnut Ridge, 1896
Last building erected 1928

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1881
Closed: 1972

 

 

 


Banner Springs Community

HISTORICAL

Located in southern part of county

First newspaper in county

Printed here, 1880's
Called The Pioneer
Althea F Dickson, Editor
Purpose was to advertise lands
Home Location, Roslin Rd

PEOPLE
Early settlers Young, Atkinson, Rogers, Hall, Ramsey, Jones and LaRue families

CHURCHES
Mt Gilead United Methodist Organized 1874
Held private home services for 15 years
Present building erected 1927
Banner Baptist Baptist's and Methodist's used same building 1914
Methodists built new church 1930
Baptist also built new church 1930
Building burned 1932
Meetings held at Uncle Joe Stowers store building
New church built near Springs Chapel Methodist

SCHOOLS
Long Branch School First conducted in kitchen of William Ramsey's house
Log school building constructed
Replaced by a one room frame structure
New building erected 1917

POST OFFICE
Originally the Beauty Post Office
Opened: 1890
Closed: 1961

 

 


Ben Stockton Community

HISTORICAL

Located about eight miles east of Jamestown
Numerous Indian shelters found under bluffs and on creeks in area
A stopping point on O & W Railroad Depot built 1919

PEOPLE
Early settlers Copley, Stockton, Paul, Brannon, Clark, Brewster, Crabtree, Bowden and Lynn families

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1919
Closed: 1953

 

 

 


Boatland Community

HISTORICAL

Name derived from the manufacture of flatboats built on East Fork Creek
Famous Witchcraft Case Originated in community
Year 1835, on the banks of Obeys River
Judge Joshua Owens, Justice of the Peace, presided
Man called Stout arrested because daughter became ill with strange disease
Arrested by posse with silver bullets
Prosecuting attorneys refused to indict
tout sued posse and arresting officers for false arrest

PEOPLE
Early settlers Beaty, Bowden, Owen, Mullinix, Wright, Sublett, Stevens, Franklin, York,
Turner, Wood, Albertson, Choate, Hogue, Hood, and Gwyann families

Owen information submitted by D. W. Smith 07'06

George Owen


George Owens was born in 1792 in Little Crab, Jamestown, Fentress, Tennessee. He married Susan Gwin in 1818 in Fentress, Tennessee. He died in 1864 in Fentress, Tennessee.

They had the following children:


Andrew Owen

Andrew Owen was born in 1835. He married Julia Anne Beaty (1841- 1912)in May 1857 in Fentress, Tennessee. He enlisted into the Union Army as private in the Tennessee Infantry, Company D. He died on 9 June 1864 at Andersonville Prison, as a prisoner of war.

They had the following children:

Melinda Owen

Melinda Owen
Melinda Owen was born 10 Oct 1861 in Overton, Tennessee. She married William Thomas Rich. She died on 12 Jan 1902 in Livingston, Tennessee.

They had the following children:

John Calvin Rich
Myra Bell Rich
Willie Jane Rich
James Porter Rich
Mary Ann Rich
Albert Andrew Rich
Margaret Louise Rich
Stella Mae Rich
Martha Emaline Rich
Henryetta Clay Rich
Julia Elizabeth Rich


 

David Crockett Had hunting camp on East Fork Creek
Lived and hunted in county 1817
Was friends with early settler, Coonrod Pile

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1855
Closed: 1955

 

 


Boyer's Chapel Community

HISTORICAL

Named in honor of Mrs. S C Boyer

 

 


Clarkrange

HISTORICAL

Community named for Judson Clarke who raised cattle in area
Bledsoe Stand A stage coach stop before Civil War
Walton Turnpike Tollgate located at crossroads
Hwy 62 was called Emory Turnpike
Joshua Wright was first owner of crossing
Clarkrange Lodge Chartered 1898
May Chapter #11 OES Chartered 1900
Triple Tare Chapter #881 RAM Chartered 1910
Cumberland Mtn Gen Store Built 1925
Known as McDonalds Store
Moved 1979

PEOPLE
Early settlers Todd, Ashburn, Bledsoe, Neely, and Miller families

CHURCHES

Clarkrange Baptist
Clarkrange United Methodist Organized 1882
New building erected 1954
Clarkrange United Baptist

SCHOOLS
First school in area Called Possom Trot School
Clarkrange Elementary School Organized about 1890
One room log schoolhouse
Methodist Church built new church building across the road, 1898
School moved into old church building
County built new school 1907
Clarkrange High School Begun 1913
New building erected 1925
Became four year high school 1927
Girls Class A basket ball champs 1983, 1984, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1995

POST OFFICE
Clarkrange Post Office Opened: 1885
Closed: No

 

 

 


Cooper Community

HISTORICAL

Coopertown Cemetery

CHURCHES

Riverton Baptist
Coopers Chapel Freewill Baptist

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1848
Closed: 1867

 

 


Cumberland Grove Community

HISTORICAL

Taylor Place Cemetery

CHURCHES

Wesleyan Church
Lighthouse New Beginning Baptist
Independent Bible Methodist

 

 


Davidson Community

HISTORICAL

Named for Davidson of Davidson, Hicks, Green Lumber Company Established lumber mill in area 1908

POST OFFICE

Opened: 1910
Closed: 1967
Moved To: Wilder

 

 


Double Top Community

HISTORICAL

CHURCHES

Pleasant View United Baptist
Hinds Chapel United Baptist Established 1936

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1915
Closed: 1916
Moved To: Little Crab

 

 


East Jamestown Community

HISTORICAL

Originally named Old Louvain, then New Louvain
O & W Railroad Opened 1913
Community was railroad center for Jamestown

PEOPLE
Early settlers Crockett, Brannon, Roysden, Slaven, and Brown families

CHURCHES
Central Union Baptist Organized 1931
Met in Brannon School
Used lumber from old Zenith School building for church


POST OFFICE
Post office called Coonrod until 1920's Called East Jamestown starting 1928
Opened: 1928
Closed: 1955

HISTORICAL SOCIETIES
Fentress County Historical Society P.O. Box 457 (38556)

 


Fairview Community

HISTORICAL
CHURCHES

Fairview United Baptist (35F) Established 1890
Fairview Cemetery located next to church

 

 


Forbus Community

HISTORICAL

Located on Caney Creek in northern part of county

Sometimes called Old Blue Rock, Gatewood Community, or Travisville

John Clemens settled in Blue Rock, 1832
Horseshoe Bend Grist Mill Built by William Davidson, 1850
Dug 500 foot tunnel to carry water to mill
First county court held here First county court held in Wolf River at Horseshoe Bend
Presided over by Arthur Frogge
Forbus General Store Founded by W M Johnson who died 1941
Built 1892
Was located a few hundred yards from Van Buren Academy site

PEOPLE
Early settlers Travis, Upchurch, Crouch, Barton, Smith, Davidson, Frogge, and Riley families

CHURCHES
Old Travisville Church Building erected 1883
New Travisville Church Built 1964
Greer's Chapel Organized 1830
Met in Old Republican Meeting House
Mount Union Missionary Baptist Called Old Republican Meeting House or Campground before 1870
Called Mount Union since Oct 17, 1870
First church building
Log building with chimney and open fireplace
Second church building
Built of large hewn chestnut logs
Building shared with Methodist, 1866
Methodist moved to Clarkrange 1882
Building later used as school
Third church building
Large wood frame, 1902
Fourth and present building
Built 1935

SCHOOLS
First school called Republican Meeting House John Clemens instrumental in forming school
Later called Gatewood School
Mt Union School Was log building with split logs for seats, had no windows
Margaret Barton, first certified woman teacher in county, taught here

Van Buren Academy

 

Established 1841
Used until after Civil War
Travis School Located at head of Caney Creek
Served community for over 100 years
Name changed to Moody School 1872

Forbus School

 

Property now owned by Vickie & Ruble Upchurch Jr
Rt 1, Box 10, Pall Mall, TN 
1963
, 1958 (Send P/T)
Ruble's dad used to teach at school
School to be converted to home

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1887
Closed: 1972
Moved To: Pall Mall

 


Glenoby Community

HISTORICAL

Located about 6 miles west of Jamestown in Buffalo Cove area Buffalo Cove a narrow valley
Got name from buffalo wintering in cane brakes or from buffalo fish in creeks
Jamestown supplied with gas by pipeline from Glenoby wells

Was battle ground during Civil War

First two soldiers killed buried in Walters Cemetery

PEOPLE
Early settlers Stephens, Flowers, Waters, Tipton, Young, Allred, Hogue, Hood, York and Choate families

John Hood

 

One of earliest settlers
Lived in Virginia during Revolutionary War
Benedict Arnold burned his residence in Virginia
While serving in army, was crippled from a shot in the knee

SCHOOLS
Buffalo Cove School Opened about 1881
Closed late 1940's or 1950's


POST OFFICE
Opened: 1892
Closed: 1923
Moved To: Boatland

 


Grimsley Community

HISTORICAL

Located about eleven miles south of Jamestown

Named in honor of Bart Grimsley

PEOPLE
Early settlers Gwynn, Richards, Stephens, Beaty, Beason, Scroggins, Goney. Flannigan and Young families
 Davis and Beatress Cook  were one of the first settlers on Grimsley, Tennessee - As a matter of fact, The graveyard that is referred to as the Goney graveyard was originally established by the Cook family and shared with the Goney's. But everyone knows it as the Goney graveyard - this graveyard is directly behind their old house. Also, the lane that they lived on is now called Davis Cook Road. Submitted by M Thibault 7/5/02

This submission received from  visitors to our site 7/25/04BankCem.jpg (348834 bytes)

This email statement came from the Nashville Public Library Assistant 08/03/04
I consulted the Cemetery Records of Fentress County, and on page 157 is a listing for a Gauney or Goney
Cemetery which was established in the late 1800's.   The location of the cemetery is the southeast section of the Wilder quadrangle, north of Highway 85 near the intersection of Wilder Road and U.S. Highway 127

CHURCHES

Grimsley Methodist

Church of God of Prophecy

Church of the Harvest P.O. Box 338
Grimsley Church of Christ

SCHOOLS
Pine Springs School Established 1880's
Log building, rough wood benches, wood stove
One room frame building opened 1897
Another frame building erected 1908
Last location 1919

POST OFFICE
Grimsley Post Office
5100 S York Hwy
Opened: 1902
Closed: still operating

STATISTICS

LOCATION CODES Zip: 38565

 


Helena Community

HISTORICAL

Located in the Poplar Cove area Once known as Donelson Cove
Part of a forty thousand acre grant made to Stockley Donelson by North Carolina
The Coyote Path Old Indian trail passed through area leading to Cumberland River
Little Crab Lodge F & AM Organized 1900
Met upstairs at L B Chism's General Store
First building constructed 1904
New building erected 1986

PEOPLE
Early settlers Pyburn, Young, Choate, Cobb, Davis, Wood, Stephens, Brannon, Conatser, Broxmire,
Albertson, Price, Penycuff, Hyder, Campbell, and Shepherd families

CHURCHES
New Hope Baptist Located near Stockton Valley Academy campus
Established 1827
New building 1908
Cove Creek United Baptist

SCHOOLS
Mt Cumberland Academy Established by act of Tennessee Legislature, 1840
Chartered 1844
Abolished in 1860
Stockton Valley Academy Located near site of Mt Cumberland Academy
Founded 1909
School began first summer with 14 students
Second story of building used as dormitory
School taken over by Southern Baptist Convention, 1911
Baptist's gave up control of school 1929
Fentress County Board of Education took over

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1897
Closed: 1955
Mary Choate first postmaster

 


Jamestown

HISTORICAL

Site of city was a former Cherokee Indian camp

Indians called area Sand Springs
City of Jamestown laid out about 1828
City incorporated 1837
Named after James Fentress Speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives
Served four terms in House
Railroad brought to city, 1928 Frame depot built
Left city 1954
First silent film theater established 1920's
The "Big Fire" of 1930 Started in a grocery store on the square
Wiped out an entire block of uptown except for the old jail

Mark Twain Park

 

Mark Twain's parents were early settlers in Jamestown
Park features a wood statue of Mark Twain
Old town spring located in park

BUILDINGS
Old Jail/Chamber of Commerce One of first government buildings in county
John Clemens drew plans, 1827
Two story log building completed 1828
Jail #2
Stone structure with 18" walls completed 1898
Cost under $6000
Jail #3
Present jail completed 1979
Cost $401,700

 

Courthouse Courthouse #1
Designed by John Clemens
Built 1828
Burned early 1860's
Courthouse #2
Brick structure built 1869
Burned 1904
Courthouse #3
Built 1908
Remodeled 1973
Jamestown Lodge NO 281, F&AM Chartered 1870
First meetings probably in Pall Mall
First lodge and church building, 1892
Present lodge building erected 1955
Bank Building Bank organized 1904
Building erected 1921

PEOPLE
Hiram and Marsha Millsap lived in only house in city, 1817 Three families lived in city, the Millsap's and two Anderson's, 1824
Ten families lived in city, 1827
Nineteen families lived in city, 1871

John M Clemens

 

Was father of Mark Twain
Was an early settler in county, 1820's
Lived where post office now located
Practiced law and was member of Jamestown bar, early 1830's
Drew up plans for first courthouse and jail
Held office of Circuit Court Clerk, 1828 to 1835
Served as Attorney General pro-tem, 1828 to 1833
Was first postmaster at Jamestown
Obtained grants from state for more than 75,000 acres of land
Land sold after his death for 10 to 50 cents an acre
Mark Twain was conceived in Jamestown
Twain called area Obedstown after the nearby river in one of his books
Family left county for Missouri about 1835
Clemens died when Mark Twain was 11

CHURCHES
South Main Baptist Organized 1951
Building completed 1952
Faith Baptist Tabernacle PO Box 931
Jamestown, TN 38556
Founded by pastor Fred Allred 1980

First Baptist

 

Organized 1930
Met in courthouse until 1931
Moved to Masonic building until 1937
Existing building completed 1937
Cost $5000
Educational building added 1950's
Remodeling completed 1979
Church of Later Day Saints
Jamestown Church of Christ
First Methodist First church built 1893
Site of church begun as a Baptist Church
Methodist purchased building 1921
Present building erected, 1949

SCHOOLS
Jamestown Academy Incorporated by legislature, 1860
Upstairs used by Masonic Lodge, 1861
Burned 1889
New school built north of post office

Jamestown Vocational Bldg

York Institute Located 1.5 miles from Jamestown
Established April 2, 1926
Funds for school solicited by Alvin C York
400 acres of land donated for campus
Buildings completed 1929
ROTC Building once Agriculture Building
Opened to students February 11, 1929
Operated as private institute until 1937
Taken over by county 1937
Science and Economics Building completed 1971
Vocational Building opened 1976
Mountaineer Craft Center
Located in an old dormitory building of the York Institute
Operated by over 100 craft persons that offer products for sale

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1827
Closed: No

MOTELS
Mark Twain Inn, Public Square Located on land once owned by Mark Twain

PARKS
Jamestown Community Ctr, N Main St Soccer, Playground, Pool

West Fentress Community Ctr

Playground, Basketball
South Fentress Community Ctr Playground, Ball Field
Sharp Community Center

RESTAURANTS
Restaurants recommended by the townspeople

Country Kitchen Restaurant, W Central Av Dairy Mart, Town Square, Jamestown
Mac's Diner, S Main St
Ruth's Family Restaurant, North Main St

  SISTER CITIES
To follow are sister cities across the United States with the
same name as Jamestown in Fentress County, Tennessee:

Jamestown CA 95327 Jamestown CO 80455

Jamestown ID 83274

Jamestown IL 62275
Jamestown IN 46147 Jamestown KS 66948

Jamestown KY 42629

Jamestown LA 71045
Jamestown MI 49427 Jamestown MO 65046
Jamestown MS 39483 Jamestown NC 27282
Jamestown ND 58401 Jamestown NM 87347
Jamestown NY 14701 Jamestown OH 45335
Jamestown OK 74080 Jamestown PA 16134
Jamestown RI 02835 Jamestown SC 29453
Jamestown TX 75977 Jamestown VA 25081          

STATISTICS

POPULATION
1834 80 people, 30 houses, 2 lawyers, 2 tanners, 1 shoemaker, 2 blacksmiths,
1 teacher, 1 preacher, 2 stores, 2 taverns, a courthouse, and a jail
1910  350
1960 1,727
1970 1,899
1980 2,364
1990 1,862
ELEVATION Feet: 1740 ft
LOCATION CODES

Zip: 38556

VISITOR CENTERS

Jamestown-Fentress County Chamber of Commerce W Central Ave, Box 1294
Jamestown TN 38556
Chamber building erected as jail, 1897
Sheriff lived upstairs

 

 


Jonesville Community

HISTORICAL

Established about 1858
Named in honor of Ervin Jones and Barton Jones family

CHURCHES

Jonesville Community Baptist Pilgrim Baptist

 

 


Little Crab Community

HISTORICAL

Located about 10 miles west of Jamestown

Some of best producing oil wells located in area

Bob's Bar oil well drilled 1896
Named for Bob King and a sand bar in East Fork Creek

PEOPLE
Early settlers Reagan, Beaty, Hinds, Conatser, Robinson, Choate, Wright and Wood families

First pioneers came to area about 1819

CHURCHES
Cedar Grove United Baptist Church Organized 1876
First church was log building at top of Crab Creek Hill
Existing building few hundred yards to west, 1905
Masonic lodge met upstairs
Church was active from 1876 to 1981
Methodist church built on Cedar Grove site, 1910
Fairview United Baptist Church Organized 1890
Listed by Stockton Valley Association of United Baptist Churches in 1916

SCHOOLS
Little Crab School Built 1907

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1871
Closed: 1955
Moved To: Jamestown

 

 


Manson Community

HISTORICAL

Located at the forks of Indian Creek in the 1890's
Named after Manson Stephens, first postmaster

PEOPLE
Early settlers Long, King, Culver, Bridgewater, Cherry, Turner, Allred, Black, Franklin, Smith, ,
Cooper Whitehead, Hoover, Jackson, Hinds, and Mullinix families

CHURCHES

King Mountain Baptist

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1897
Closed: 1953
Moved To: Jamestown

 

 


Martha Washington Community

HISTORICAL

Named by Algurial Todd for a girls college in Abington, VA
Features a natural bridge about 25 feet across a ravine

CHURCHES

Martha Washington Freewill Baptist

 


Mt Helen Community

HISTORICAL

Originally part of the Armathwaite community
Named by Matilda Bow in honor of her daughter Helen Bow

PEOPLE
Early settlers Kimbrell, Garrett, Ellis, Peters, Smith, Tompkins and Goad families

CHURCHES

Mt Helen Baptist

SCHOOLS

School built near Joe's Branch, 1886

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1903
Closed: 1928

 

 


No Business Community

HISTORICAL

First settler in area was Richard Harve Slaven

Community named after tornado destroyed home of the Young's

Wife stated they had "no business" moving to area
They left and returned to Clear Creak community
**Thank you Rob:
Per Fentress County, Tennessee book published by Fentress County Historical Society in 1987 it lists: 
"He (Mr Young) looked at his wife, took her at her word....and they returned to Clear Fork Community" (pg 41). 
I thought I would just send a note because I have been researching the Youngs in this area and could not figure out the Clear Creek connection. I believe that the Young in the "story" was Burdine Young and after he left in 1824, he sold his land to his brother Andrew who shows up in 1825. (I have not fully researched this). 
July 15, 1824 - Burdine Young lived on Station Camp Creek a tributary of Big South Fork River (Entry 77).
July 15, 1825 - Andrew Young lived on Station Camp Creek a tributary of Big South Fork River (Entry 78). 
The only (2) Youngs that can be found in that vicinity in the land records are the ones I have found so far above, and the early entries does not show anymore.

CHURCHES
Two churches organized and met in same building, 1842 Liberty United Baptist met third Saturday and Sunday each month
Separate Baptist met fourth Saturday and Sunday
A school also used same building

POST OFFICE

Early Post office called Elva, TN

 

 


Pall Mall Community

HISTORICAL

Wolf River Area became home to the first settlers in county Named by early settlers because wolves howled at night
Area first to establish schools, churches

First coal mine opened 1829
Pall Mall moved several times since its establishment in 1832
298 families and one free black, Rosa Pile, lived in valley, 1850
Was once home to John Clemens, Mark Twain's father
York's Birthplace

PEOPLE
Conrod (Coonrod) Pile First long hunter in area
Gregg Upchurch Fought Revolutionary War under Washington at Valley Forge
Lived in valley near Pall Mall

Alvin Cullom York 1887-1964

Born near Pall Mall December 13, 1887
Great-great grandfather was early settler, Coonrod Pile
Great grandfather, Urich York, killed by Confederate troops
Was elder of Church of Christ in Christian Union before war
Drafted and sent to Camp Gordon, Ga 1917
Became war hero in Chatel-Chehery, France on October 8, 1918
Killed 25, and captured 132 Germans single-handedly
Received congressional medal of honor April 11, 1919

Alvin York's Grist Mill

 

Located 10 miles north of Jamestown
Designated a State Historic Shrine 1968
Maintained by Tennessee State Parks
Open daily, April through September
No admission

York's Home

Built as two story frame house with 15 rooms, 1922
Remodeled 1940

York's Store

Located across street from house
Built by York about 1925
Post office added later

Wolf River Cemetery

Cemetery established early 1800's
Was originally called Mt Pleasant Burying Ground
Approximately 600 burial sites
Coonrod Pile and wife buried here
William Patent (1811-1915) died at 104
Alvin C York and wife's grave in cemetery

CHURCHES
Wolf River United Methodist Organized 1840
First building of logs served as church and school
Present building erected 1888

Upchurch Chapel

Upchurch Cemetery located next to church

York Chapel

Building completed 1925
Alvin York was elder of church

Frogge Methodist Chapel

Frogge Cemetery across road dates to 1860
Church moved to this site 1880

SCHOOLS
Pall Mall School A log building, built mid or late 1800's
Replaced with two room frame structure, 1919
Brick building erected 1951
Pall Mall School
School turned into a community center
Outdoor facilities include Playground, Ball Field, Basketball

POST OFFICE
Pall Mall Post Office
Built on land once owned by John Clemens, 1832
Opened: 1832
Closed: No

PARKS
Sergeant Alvin C York Park General Delivery
Pall Mall

ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS: Seven miles north of Jamestown on Hwy 127

York Mill Park

INDOOR ACTIVITIES:

Visitor Center
Picnic and playgrounds

Park pays tribute to Sergeant Alvin C York, hero from WW I
Area includes York's homeplace, gravesite, school, and family farm

Big South Fork National River & Recreation Area

Over 100,000 acres
Managed by National Park Service
Hiking, horseback riding, camping, hunting, fishing, canoeing, white water rafting, swimming, mountain biking, Kayaking
Sometimes called Yellowstone of the East

 

 


Pine Haven Community

HISTORICAL

Located just north of Jamestown
Named by Blanch Bowden for the abundance of pines around community
Gernt's mill located here, 1929

Mini Park

Features steam engine and gazebo

CHURCHES
Pine Haven Missionary Baptist Organized 1959
Pine Haven Church of Nazarene Organized 1950
Building erected 1952
Pine Haven Church of God Built about 1960
Pine Haven Baptist Organized 1937
Lot purchased 1938
Existing building erected 1947

 

 


Poplar Cove Community

HISTORICAL

Located west of Jamestown

PEOPLE

Stockley Donelson received 40,000 acres in area by North Carolina land grant

 

 


Red Hill Community

HISTORICAL

Moonshine still operated in area from 1915 to 1940

CHURCHES
Sinking Springs United Baptist Church Organized 1805
Sometimes called Shatter Church
Listed by Stockton Valley Association of United Baptist Churches in 1916
Was active from 1805 to 1932

Red Hill Church

No Name Church (Brick)
Met for long while in Red Hill School
Building erected 1940
Bricks added 1979

 


Riverton Community

HISTORICAL

Was originally part of the Little Crab community Now separated by Dale Hollow Lake

Oil wells drilled and oil shipped through pipe lines to Kentucky, 1890's

PEOPLE
Early settlers King, Greer, Beaty, and Cooper families

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1899
Closed: 1955
Moved To: Jamestown

 

 


Roslin Community

HISTORICAL

Located in southern part of county

Northern real estate firm attempted to establish a co-operative colony in area, 1890's

Published newspaper called Roslin Tickler
No colony was ever established

PEOPLE
Early settlers Vanwinkle, Beaty, Atkinson, Young, Hall, LaRue, and Rogers families

SCHOOLS
Roslin School established 1907 New building erected 1929

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1888
Closed: 1961
Moved To: Jamestown

 

 


Sharp Place Community

HISTORICAL

CHURCHES

Aikers Chapel

Park Rd Baptist

 

 

 


Shirley Community

HISTORICAL

Located on the Clear Fork River in eastern part of county

PEOPLE
Early settlers Smith, Voiles, Jones, Taubert, Hull, Brown and Murray families

CHURCHES
Shirley United Baptist Organized 1925
Met in Shirley School building, built 1902
Existing building erected 1947

SCHOOLS

Shirley School began 1892

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1899
Closed: 1953
Moved To: Armathwaite

 


Springs Chapel Community

HISTORICAL

Spring Chapel Methodist Established 1887
Present building completed 1930

 

 


Stockton Community

HISTORICAL

Railroad came to community, 1919 Became central shipping point of county

PEOPLE

Stockton family among first settlers, 1800's

CHURCHES

Bethlehem United Missionary Baptist

Stockton Chapel Church

 

 


Tinchtown Community

HISTORICAL

Located in the southern part of the county

Community center in area called Old Barger

Barger built first log house where Old Barger Church located
Annual home comings held each year

PEOPLE
Early settlers Anderson, Hicks, Spurlin, Gill, Kennedy, Edwards, Hoover, Stinson Tinch,
Morgan, Barger, and Dunnigan families

George Tinch arrived in area about 1828

CHURCHES

Old Barger Church Tinchtown Freewill Baptist Tinchtown United Baptist

POST OFFICE
Post office called Gill
Established around 1850
Named after Alex Gill who was first postmaster
Opened: 1881
Closed: 1908

 

 


Wilder Community

HISTORICAL

Located in southwestern part of county
Community formed about 1900 Named for Gen John T Wilder
A Union general who visited area during Civil War
Opened coal mine in area, 1902

PEOPLE
Early settlers, Davidson, Hicks, and Greene families

CHURCHES

Welcome Missionary Baptist

POST OFFICE
Opened: 1902
Closed: No

 


Zenith Community

HISTORICAL

Located in eastern part of county
Was a coal mining community
The O & W railroad passed through community

POST OFFICE
Originally Ridgewell Post Office
Opened: 1921
Closed: 1924
Moved to Gernt

WeDoC.com Website Design

FENTRESS COUNTY PAGE PREVIOUS PAGE TOP OF PAGE STATE HOME PAGE

E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map