IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TENNESSEE-
Montgomery County
, TN

E-Mail Us

wpeCC1.jpg (11796 bytes)

Do you have information to provide?
Your help is needed to make this site better for all the people inside and outside of Montgomery County, Tennessee.  We are particularly interested in documenting the history of Montgomery County.  If you have useable information we are anxious to publish it on this site or will provide a link if you have it already posted on the net.  Many thanks.


AIRPORT of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Outlaw Field Airport 200 Airport Rd
Clarksville

Runway Length: 6000 ft & 4000 ft
Lighted Runway: YES

ATTRACTIONS of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Camp Boone
Located 3.5 miles S of Kentucky line on Hwy 79
Staging and training area for Kentuckians who wanted to join the Confederate Army, 1861
Old Blockhouse
Built by Valentine Sevier in 1791
This limestone blockhouse was the scene of an Indian attack in late 1794
Six family members were killed
Located near Clarksville

HIGHER EDUCATION of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Austin Peay State University College St
Clarksville
Named after Tennessee Governor and Clarksville native
A unit of the Board of Regents Universities
School called Rural Academy occupied site, 1806
The state of Tennessee acquired site 1927
University founded 1927
Senior College-4 year public liberal arts university
Offers Associates, bachelor's, master's and education specialist
Montgomery Co Industrial Training
3789 Guthrie Hwy
Clarksville
Clarksville Baptist School of Religion
1325 Dodd St
Clarksville
North Tennessee Bible Institute
245 West Ave
Clarksville
Winfield Dunn Center
Cunningham

HIGHWAYS of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

U S Highways
I-24, 41A, 79
State Highways
12, 13, 48, 76, ,112, 149, 233, 235, 236, 237, 238

HISTORY of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Established 1796
Organized no record
Clarksville is county seat
County formed from lands that had been Tennessee County
Tennessee County abolished 1796

HISTORICAL SOCIETY of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Montgomery County Historical Society
P.O. Box 262
L & N Train Station
10th & Commerce Streets
Clarksville, TN  37041-0262

MONTGOMERY COUNTY ARCHIVES 

Montgomery County Archives
Repository for nearly all the pre 1950 historic records of the county. 
350 Pageant Lane
Suite 101-D, Clarksville, TN 37040
Hours are 8:00 to 4:30 Monday through Friday, except for federal holidays.

PEOPLE of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Colonel John Montgomery County named for Colonel John Montgomery
Explored Cumberland country as early as 1777
Revolutionary War officer
Founder of Clarksville
Traveled with John Donelson to Nashboro
Was signer of the Cumberland Compact
Commanded territorial troops in Nickajack Expedition 1794-killed by Indians in Ky
First sheriff of the district
Died 1794

POST OFFICES of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Ardee Opened: February 20, 1886 Closed: October 6, 1899
Armstrong Opened: July 19, 1880 Closed: January 24, 1883
Asbury Opened: May 1, 1844 Closed: June 12, 1858
Bagby Opened: January 17, 1900 Closed: September 29, 1900
Bald Hornet Opened: March 26, 1878 Closed: March 19, 1891
Bellemy Opened: March 19, 1891 Closed: March 31, 1908
Big Four Opened: December 5, 1895 Closed: August 31, 1907
Blooming Grove Opened: April 18, 1837 Closed: December 31, 1851

Opened: August 18, 1837 Closed: December 31, 1851
Brewer Opened: June 16, 1894 Closed: December 19, 1904
Broadbent Opened: May 31, 1900 Closed: July 31, 1904

Opened: April 24, 1908 Closed: July 18, 1908
Brook Hill Opened: January 17, 1816 Closed: January 20, 1832
Bryantville Opened: June 16, 1894 Closed: May 17, 1905
Byway Opened: January 31, 1891 Closed: June 14, 1895
Leghorn Opened: April 25, 1894 Closed: May 29, 1894
Little Grove Opened: July 2, 1847 Closed: March 31, 1854
Liverwort Opened: May 31, 1898 Closed: April 30, 1909
Louise Opened: May 19, 1892 Closed: August 11, 1929
Macadoo Opened: October 2, 1846 Closed: January 28, 1850
Maggie Opened: September 1, 1884 Closed: October 8, 1884
Merriwether Opened: November 28, 1894 Closed: May 15, 1901
Minor's Nursery Opened: February 2, 1839 Closed: ?

Opened: July 3, 1944 Closed: November 21, 1848

Opened: July 10, 1849 Closed: November 15, 1850
Mococ Opened: May 12, 1900 Closed: January 14, 1904
Mount Henry Opened: October 16, 1820 Closed: November 7, 1848
Mount Vernon Furnace Opened: June 14, 1832 Closed: November 19, 1835
McAllisters Cross Road Opened: March 1, 1817 Closed: November 22, 1866

Opened: April 30, 1867 Closed: November 22, 1866
Needmore Opened: February 3, 1903 Closed: November 14, 1900
New Providence Opened: March 2, 1837 Closed: September 4, 1855

Opened: November 13, 1855 Closed: November 15, 1915
New York Opened: February 8, 1820 Closed: 1841

Opened: September 21, 1848 Closed: September 22, 1866
Oak Plain Opened: December 2, 1897 Closed: April 2, 1906
Oakwqod Opened: February 8, 1859 Closed: September 30, 1908
Omer Opened: October 8, 1884 Closed: July 30, 1904
Onecho Opened: March 29, 1839 Closed: 1856
Orgain's Cross Road Opened: December 17, 1877 Closed: July 16, 1896
Palmyra Opened: October 1, 1801 Closed: July 3, 1866

Opened: July 17, 1877 Closed: Operating
Pea Ridge Opened: March 8, 1847 Closed: September 22, 1866

Opened: August 9, 1869 Closed: January 10, 1870

Opened: December 4, 1871 Closed: January 30, 1882
Peacher's Mill Opened: November 16, 1853 Closed: September 22, 1866

Opened: April 24, 1867 Closed: April 30, 1906
Pleasant Mound Opened: July 27, 1855 Closed: March 27, 1855

Opened: August 23, 1855 Closed: July 15, 1897
Poplar Spring Furnace Opened: July 5, 1876 Closed: March 26, 1878
Port Royal Opened: January 1, 1802 Closed: December 31, 1940
Rattlesnake Opened: March 3, 1893 Closed: June 30, 1904
Rea Opened: April 19, 1882 Closed: September 28, 1887
Red River Forge Opened: April 15, 1826 Closed: May 13, 1829
Rest Opened: December 20, 1887 Closed: February 18, 1889
Richardson's Opened: April 7, 1847 Closed: May 16, 1860

Opened: June 7, 1860 Closed: September 22, 1866

Opened: May 16, 1870 Closed: September 13, 1872
Riggins Opened: October 30, 1883 Closed: May 5, 1886

Opened: September 12, 1888 Closed: January 20, 1898
Ringgold Opened: February 5, 1847 Closed: September 2, 1875

Opened: February 26, 1877 Closed: July 23, 1877

Opened: February 11, 1878 Closed: June 15, 1906
Rose Hill Opened: May 5, 1905 Closed: April 15, 1909
Ross View Opened: April 28, 1873 Closed: March 30, 1906
Ryan's Store Opened: March 29, 1852 Closed: June 24, 1856
Sailors Rest Opened: May 31, 1832 Closed: September 22, 1866
Saint Bethlehem Opened: July 15, 1869 Closed: Operating
Sango Opened: October 11, 1889 Closed: April 30, 1906
Saugo Opened: August 29, 1881 Closed: October 11, 1889
Search's Opened: January 14, 1817 Closed: April 25, 1839
Seg Opened: June 30, 1881 Closed: October 17, 1883

Opened: April 30, 1884 Closed: May 14, 1904
Shllo Opened: July 15, 1869 Closed: August 17, 1881
Somerset Opened: December 22, 1853 Closed: April 19, 1854
Southside Opened: March 25, 1880 Closed: Operating
Steele Opened: April 16, 1883 Closed: September 13, 1886
Tates Station Opened: June 30, 1864 Closed: August 4, 1869

Opened: February 8, 1870 Closed: June 10, 1872
Tennessee Iron Works Opened: August 7, 1827 Closed: November 24, 1852
Thomason Opened: December 23, 1889 Closed: March 31, 1918
Turbine Opened: October 16, 1888 Closed: May 31, 1913
Vernon Furnace Opened: January 19, 1875 Closed: August 17, 1881
Walnut Grove Opened: February 3, 1819 Closed: ca est 1827
Washington Furnace Opened: April 4, 1833 Closed: June 19, 1940
Wheatley's Mills Opened: December 7, 1848 Closed: November 5, 1851
Williams Opened: December 18, 1827 Closed: March 29, 1839
Woodford Opened: August 1, 1854 Closed: September 22, 1866

Opened: February 13, 1872 Closed: March 31, 1929
Woodlawn Opened: March 31, 1854 Closed: Operating
Yellow Creek Furnace Opened: February 11, 1825 Closed: September 22, 1866

HOSPITALS of MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Gateway Medical Center
1771 Madison St
Clarksville
Healthsouth Surgical Center
121 Hillcrest Dr
Clarksville
Parthenon Pavilion
1800 Business Park Dr
Clarksville

STATISTICS for MONTGOMERY COUNTY
MONTGOMERY COUNTY:
SIZE

SIZE of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Square Miles 539
Miles of City Streets 216.61
Miles of County Road 662.17
POPULATION of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
1970   54,777
1980   83,342
1990 100,498
ELEVATION of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Average Elevation (feet) 500
TEMPERATURE of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Yearly Average 60.2 F
January Average High 45.9 F
July Average High 90.7 F
January Average Low 25.9 F
July Average Low 66.6 F
PRECIPITATION of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Yearly Average Rainfall 49.64 in
Yearly Average Snowfall 10.9 in
LOCATION CODES of MONTGOMERY COUNTY
Zip 37040, 37042, 37043, 37142, 37171, 37191

 

 


CLARKSVILLE, Tennessee


ATTRACTIONS of CLARKSVILLE

Beachaven Vineyards & Winery
1100 Dunlop Lane
Free tours & samples
Monthly jazz concerts during summer months
Closed major holidays
Tennessee's largest winery
Tours, tasting, and gift shop available
Queen of Clarksville Riverboat
630 N Riverside DR
A 145 passenger paddle wheeler docked at McGregor Park
Offers sightseeing and dinner and dance cruises
Canopied viewing deck
Climate controlled lower deck
Snack and cocktail bar
Closed January & February
Admission charged
Blackhorse Brewery
Franklin St
Brew pub located in historical downtown area

Specializes in freshly prepared ales and gourmet pizza
Clarksville Speedway
1600 Needmore Rd
Clarksville
Smith Trahern Mansion
311 N Spring St
Clarksville

BOAT RAMPS in CLARKSVILLE

Trice Landing Oak St
Picnic
Boat landing,

GOLF in CLARKSVILLE

Clarksville Country Club
Private
Eastland Greens
Sango & Dixie Bee Rd
Public
18 Holes
6,410 Yards
Mason Rudolph
1514 Golf Club Lane
Public
18 Holes
6,661 Yards
Swan Lake
581 Dunbar Cave Rd
Public
18 Holes
6,661 Yards

HISTORY of CLARKSVILLE

The state of North Carolina created Clarksville out of these lots 1785
City designated county seat of what was known as Tennessee County 1788
When Tennessee became a state, city became county seat of Montgomery, 1796
Became a major tobacco port in early 1800's
City incorporated as a "town" 1819, as a city 1855
Town's population 215 in 1826
Is now the 5th largest town in Tennessee

HOMES of CLARKSVILLE

Alfred Robb Home
529 York St
Built by Confederate Colonel Robb 1858
Killed at battle of Fort Donelson
Allendale/W B Allen Home
Preachers Mill Rd
Two homes occupy the land
Log cabin built 1796
Brick home built 1858
Listed on National Historic Register
Archwood
706 E College St
Built by a Mr Rexinger, 1878
Was the Clarksville postmaster 1867 to 1883
Listed on National Historic Register
B O Keesee Home
502 Madison
Currently occupied by a bank

Built by Bank of Clarksville President, 1873
Carriage House
4th & Main St
Formally called Bailey House
Central part of house built 1820
Wings added later
Cave Johnson Home Site
916 Madison St
Mr Johnson was U S Postmaster under President James K Polk
Original house burned
Cloverlands

1411 Tylertown Road
Built 1814 by John Barker
House completed 1820
Listed on National Historic Register January 8, 1979
Now a Bed & Breakfast

Slaves cut timber for the beams of the house from trees on the property; slaves also made the bricks right there on the property

The original cemetery with Mr. Barker's grave is located there on the property and now has a historical marker provided by the Montogomery County Historical Society. There is also an unmarked slave cemetery; although general area is known, unable to locate the graves.

Cloverlands was a tobacco plantation. Mr. Barker not only made money from his tobacco, but also bought his neighbors' tobacco and removed the stems in a stemming house located on the property. Then he would take the tobacco himself to New Orleans where it was shipped to European markets. This gave him a contact in London, so that before the Civil War began, he took his money and put it in the Bank of London. He was one of the few Southerners who came out of the War still a millionaire.

The house has almost 4700 sq. feet and sits on 15.9 acres just off of Exit 1 in Clarksville, Tennessee. It has four bedrooms and is open to the public for meals. Breakfast and lunch served Monday-Saturday, fine dining on Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday brunch from 10-2.

information courtesy of Owner, Cloverlands Bed & Breakfast(2'04)

Drane-Patch-Catlett Home
328 Home Av Clarksville
Built by Mrs. W H Drane 1867
Listed on National Historic Register
Gustavus Henry Home
N Second St
Built as a farm house in 1820's
Is currently APSU's Emerald Hill Alumni Center
Home contains many of its original furnishings
Open for tours
Listed on National Historic Register
Hachland Hall Dining Inn
Served as bed and breakfast establishment for 40 years
Listed by Better Homes as one of 54 top getaways in America
Gourmet food served
John Conroy Home
625 Madison St
Built after Civil War
Norman Smith Home
1209 Madison St
Currently occupied by funeral home
Built around 1908
Oak Top Home
107 Madison Terrace
Built around 1850
Listed on National Historic Register July 8, 1980
Oscar Beech/M C Northington Home
512 Madison St
Built by Clarksville mayor, M C Northington 1886
Professor J Morris Gordon Home
638 Madison St (facing 7th St)
Conducted school in house early 1900's
Professor L D Ring Home
111 5th St
Was a private school for boys 1840 to 1870
Riverview Home
Cumberland Heights Rd
Built 1828
Overlooks Cumberland River
Former home of authors Allen Tate and wife Carolyn Gordon
Listed on National Historic Register March 26, 1979
Smith Trahern Mansion
Spring & McClure Streets
Built in 1856 by wealthy tobacconist Christopher Smith

Overlooks the Cumberland River
Early pioneer, Valentine Sevier, buried on property
Fully restored and boasts grand hallways and an exquisite winding staircase
Listed on National Register
Owned by the city of Clarksville
Home of the Extension Homemakers
Admission charged
Tip Top Home
Trahern Terrace
Built by J P Williams 1909
Purchased by Tennessee Governor Malcolm Patterson
Listed on National Historic Register July 15, 1998
William A Forbes Home
N 2nd St & Forbes Av
Built by Confederate Colonel Forbes, 1859
Killed at second Battle of Manassas
Whitehall Home
Mill Rd
A massive all wood home built by owner of Ringold Mill, 1839
Became a girls' home from 1845 to Civil War
Listed on National Historic Register January 31, 1978

PEOPLE of CLARKSVILLE

John Montgomery and Martin Armstrong
John Montgomery and Martin Armstrong settled in area 1784
Arrived from North Carolina
Purchased 640 acres of land
Set aside 200 acres in town lots
General George Rogers Clark
City named in honor of General George Rogers Clark
A Revolutionary War hero
Was a frontier explorer and an Indian fighter
L&N Freight Depot
Off Riverside Dr
Located near drawbridge
Consists of a large shipping platform area
Listed on National Historic Register
L&N Railroad Drawbridge
Riverside Dr
Supports constructed by Irish stone masons 1859
Listed on National Historic Register

 BUILDINGS of CLARKSVILLE

PLEASE NOTE
On January 22, 1999 the Historic Districts of Clarksville suffered major damage from a Tornado
Dog Hill Architectural Historic District
Bounded by Munford, 1st, Union and Madison between 2nd & 3rd
Named because dogs howled at whistles of nearby trains and steamboats
Houses from 1890's
Listed on National Historic Register May 9 1980
The Victorian house at 114 Munford Ave razed October, 1999
Downtown Architectural Historic District
Bounded by Public Sq, Legion St, 2nd St, Franklin St, Commerce St
Covers appx 15 acres
Walking tour map available at the Chamber of Commerce 180 Holiday Rd
Many buildings on Franklin between 1st and 3rd rebuilt after burning 1878
Listed on National Historic Register May 13, 1976
Industrial Historic District
Area bounded by Riverside Dr, Washington St, Crossland Av and abandoned rail track
Listed on National Historic Register
10th Street Railroad Depot
10th & Commerce St
Built around 1890
Served as an L&N depot for the city
Last train passed through in the 1960's
Site purchased by city 1982
Houses museum, and farmers market
American Snuff Company
820 Commerce St
Built around 1898
Other additions early 1900's
City Hall Building
Public Square
Facade of building constructed 1914
Building much older
Mayor's Office building was originally Bank of America, built 1856
Gazebo part of nation's bicentennial, built 1976
Clarksville Foundry
Commerce & Spring Streets
Records of business date to 1853

Canons and ammunition manufactured during Civil War
Clarksville's first fresh water supply spring located on one of the buildings
Listed on National Historic Register November 25, 1987
Clarksville/Montgomery County Historical Museum
Built 1898
Originally built as a Post Office & Custom House
Clarksville Department of Electricity occupied building 1936 to 1982
Now houses Clarksville-Montgomery County Museum
Museum opened 1984
Contains over 40,000 square feet of space
Offers textile, military, fire fighting, and a memory lane exhibit
Includes a sculpture garden and a two-story art gallery
A log house built on Yellow Creek,1842, displayed in museum
Suffered extensive Tornado damage Jan 22, 1999
Dunlop Mill
1138 Franklin St
Built 1893
Has been in continuous operation
Listed on National Historic Register February 12, 1999
Farris Apartments
305 Main St
Built as Presbyterian Church parsonage 1891
Home Infirmary
Riverside Dr & Current St
Established by Dr Robert Tecumseh Burt, 1904
Doctor was black surgeon and civic leader
The institution predated the white hospital by 12 years
Operated for 40 years
Building burned 1992
Listed on National Historic Register August 23, 1978
Knights of Pythias Building
Franklin & 3td St
Built in the 1890's
Leaf Chronicle Building
200 Commerce St
Newspaper thought to be oldest in state
In continuous operation since 1808, but not always in this building
Heavy tornado damage Jan 22, 1999
Montgomery County Annex
Franklin & 2nd St
Originally Owen & Moore Building
Built 1890's
Montgomery County Courthouse
2nd & Commerce
Courthouse on Franklin St destroyed by fire
Existing building, 4th courthouse, constructed 1878
Almost destroyed by fire 1900, but was salvaged
Heavy tornado damage Jan 22, 1999
Northern Bank of Tennessee
128 N 2nd St
Bank, not the building, oldest in state, founded 1854
Poston Block
Public Square & Main St
Block of three buildings built by John Poston 1841
Advertising still visible on north wall from 1870's
Listed on National Historic Register June 13, 1972
Ringold Creek Mill Complex
Mill Rd (Off Hwy 41-A)
First mill built on site washed away in 1810
The mill dam was built by Irish stonemasons 1859
The third and existing mill built 1874
Stayed in operation until 1971
Listed on National Historic Register July 8, 1980
Roxy Community Theater
100 Franklin St.
First opened its doors 1911
Located in historic downtown area
Movie theater turned into a community theater
Presents 12 musicals, comedies and classics year round
Performances spring through fall
Admission charged
Runyon & Runyon Building
3rd & Main St
Built by Cornelius Crusman 1830
Waterworks Building
808 S Riverside Dr
Built 1812
Was Clarksville's second water company

CHURCHES of CLARKSVILLE

Bethel United Methodist Church
Hwy 41-A
Built in late 1800's
Bethlehem United Methodist Church
Gholson Rd
Organized 1836 in log church on site
Present building constructed 1899
Listed on National Historic Register June 10, 1994
Fifth Ward Baptist Church
900 Franklin St
Organized 1871
Original building was on Main St
One of earliest black congregations following Civil War
First Baptist Church
5th & Madison St
Built on site of former church, 1917
Constructed of Alabama stone
First Presbyterian Church
3rd & Main St
Organized 1822
Cornerstone laid 1876
Features stained glass windows
Listed on National Historic Register April 30, 1976
Forest St United Methodist Church
416 Church St
Organized on Lawn St. 1889
Present building constructed 1896
Immaculate Conception Church
Franklin & N 7th
Cornerstone laid August 12, 1880
Original brick veneered with molded stone
Listed on National Historic Register
Madison St United Methodist Church
319 Madison St
Organized 1829
Cornerstone laid 1862
Features stained glass windows and twin spires
A 1000 pound bell is housed in left spire
Listed on National Historic Register May 13, 1976
Heavy tornado damage Jan 22, 1999-all remaining was
 front wall of sanctuary
Meeting House
334 Main St
Built by Methodists 1831
First brick church in Clarksville
Listed on National Historic Register
Methodist Church
438 Franklin St
Build in currently occupied by a florist
Basement portion of building was foundation for
second church built 1842
Mt Olive Baptist Church
608 Main St
Organized around 1886
Building erected 1889
St John Baptist Church
710 Main St
Organized at another site 1870
St Peter Methodist Episcopal Church
518 Franklin St
Organized 1866

Building erected 1873
Listed on National Historic Register April 6, 1982
Grace Chapel
Located at Rossview
Organized by the Episcopal Church 1866
Trinity Episcopal Church
317 Franklin St
Established 1832
Cornerstone laid 1875
Features stained glass windows
Listed on National Historic Register April 6, 1982
Heavy tornado damage Jan 22, 1999-only central section remained standing

 SCHOOLS of CLARKSVILLE

Board of Education Building
501 Franklin St
Built 1879
Called Howell School, was first public school for boys
Old Clarksville High School
Greenwood & Madison Streets
Currently occupied by Greenwood Place Apts
Built 1907
Burned and was reconstructed 1916
Used as school until 1980
Converted to apartments 1984
Listed on National Historic Register December 8, 1983

CEMETERIES of CLARKSVILLE

Greenwood Cemetery
Greenwood Av
Dedicated 1873

Contains 174 acres
Governors Willie Blount and Austin Peay are buried here
Contains a 50 foot tall Confederate Monument
Erected 1893
Cost $7500 to build
Riverview Cemetery
Spring Street
Cemetery part of original land set aside as north of town
Early settler, Valentine Sevier buried on property 1800
Became "public burying ground" when purchased by city 1805

LIBRARY of CLARKSVILLE

Clarksville-Montgomery Co Library
350 Pageant Lane Suite 501
Clarksville 37040
110,000 volumes
Brown Harvey Genealogy Room
1998-99 Income $1,500,000.00
E-mail: reference@clarksville.org
Austin Peay State University Library
Austin Peay Campus
Warioto Regional Library Center
350 Pageant Ln

PARKS of CLARKSVILLE

Dunbar Cave Natural Area
401 Old Dunbar Cave Rd
Clarksville
South of Hwy 79
Situated on 110 acres and designated a State Natural Area
Contains 15 acre lake
Cave inhabited by Prehistoric Indians 10,000 years ago
Rowe Peterson staked a claim to land occupied by cave, 1790
Thomas Dunbar also staked a claim to land, built house, and moved family
Peterson won legal battle to property, but Dunbar's name stuck to the cave, 1792
Was a mineral springs resort at the turn of the century
The Idaho Springs Hotel was built 1931
Hotel burned 1950
Big bands was the attraction in the 1930's
Mushroom farming attempted 1937
Roy Acuff acquired and featured country music, 1948
18 hole golf course built
City of Clarksville acquired golf course 1972
State of Tennessee acquired cave area 1973
The old bathhouse now serves and visitor center and museum

INDOOR ACTIVITIES
Museum
Visitor Center

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES
Hiking
Picnic Area
Planned Activities

WATER ACTIVITIES
Fishing

Beachaven
Madison St
Swimming Pool
Bel Air Park
Corner of Marie and Lexington Drives off Peachers Mill Rd
Swimming Pool
Billy Dunlop Park Off Needmore Rd
By reservations only
Facilities
Nature trails
Fishing
Picnic Playground
Ball fields
Pavilion
Game area
Burt Cobb Community Center 1011 Franklin St Facilities
Basketball
Volleyball
Racquetball
Table tennis
Pool
Football
Weight lifting
Meeting room
Crow Community Center 211 Richview Rd Facilities
Basketball
Volleyball
Racquetball
Table tennis
Pool
Football
Weight lifting
Aerobics
Bench aerobics
Meeting rooms
Cumberland River Walk/McGregor Park Riverside Dr
Walking path follows Cumberland River
Boat launch facilities
700 seat amphitheater facing a stage/wharf area
International Avenue of Flags
The Queen of Clarksville is anchored here
Facilities
Picnic
Boat ramp
Playground
Walk/jog trail
Edith Pettus Park Fairgrounds Park
Hwy 48 & 13
Boat launching
Pavillion- 2000 capacity
Governors Indoor Tennis Center
APSU has 8 outdoor courts open to public
Between Dunn Center and Municipal Stadium
Kleeman Community Center Cunningham Lane Facilities
Basketball
Racquet ball
Table tennis
Pool
Football
Weight lifting
Mason Rudolph Swimming Pool 1514 Golf Club Lane
Montgomery County Rotary Park Hwy 41A Bypass
100 acres
Facilities
Picnic
Nature trails
Playground
Amphitheater
Ball fields
Murtland Field Pettus Swimming Pool
Farris Av north of APSU
Porters Bluff Park
Porter's Bluff Rd
Established as an early recreation area
Street car lines extended out Madison St to park
Area overlooks the Red River
Now a residential area
Smith Swimming Pool
Greenwood Av at Smith School
St Bethlehem Civitan Park
Swan Lake Sports Complex Dunbar Cave Rd
By reservations only
Facilities
Tennis
Racquetball
Ball fields
Golf
Tennis
Handball courts
Softball fields
Swimming pool
Valleybrook Park

SPECIAL DAYS of CLARKSVILLE

Indoor Soccer Tournament
February
Players to age 18 compete
Old Time Fiddlers Champion
Competition in 14 categories
Early-April
Chamber of Commerce
Musicians from across the U.S. compete in various music categories
Queen City Road Race
April
Over 2000 runners compete
Features a special wheelchair division
Spring Jubilee
April
Downtown
Held last Saturday in April
Pancake breakfast, arts and crafts, games
Military display, carriage rides, music
Tennessee Walking Horse Show
May
Clarksville Softball Tournament
May
Jazz on the Lawn
May to Oct
Beachaven Winery
Held on the fourth Saturday
North Tennessee State Fair
July (Late)
Midway, beauty pageants, exhibits, entertainment, fireworks
Independence Day Activities
July
Parades, picnics, games, and fireworks
State Senior Games
July
Ages 55 and up
Clarksville Rodeo
August
Barrel racing, calf roping and bareback riding
Riverfest
September
McGregor Park
Arts & crafts, music, food, and river events
Octoberfest
October
Fairgrounds
Held first full weekend in October
German food, music, dancing
Queen City Soccer Tournament
November
Players ages 8 to 18 compete
Trees of Christmas
December
Smith Trahern Mansion
Christmas Parade
December
Public Square
Lighting of city's Christmas tree
Madrigal Feast
December
Austin Peay
Event presented by the Department of Music
Includes entertainment and a buffet dinner
Hilldale Kiwanis Arts & Crafts Bazaar
Late-November
Chamber of Commerce
Held at the Dunn Center at Austin Peay State University

STATISTICS for CLARKSVILLE

SIZE of CLARKSVILLE
Square Miles 59
POPULATION of CLARKSVILLE
1960 22,021
1970 41,687
1980 62,721
1990 75,494
ELEVATION of CLARKSVILLE
Elevation 382 feet
LOCATION CODES for CLARKSVILLE
Zip 37040, 37042, 37043

 

 


FREDONIA, Tennessee

 


HOMES of FREDONIA

Sanford Wilson Home Listed on National Historic Register

 

 


FT CAMPBELL, Tennessee

 

ATTRACTIONS of FT CAMPBELL

Don F Pratt Museum and Visitors Center Located near gate 4, Ft Campbell
Tennessee Ave
Museum open daily
Pratt Museum features exhibits on history of Fort Campbell
Exhibits include Civil War relics and history of WW 1 to present
Free

 GOLF in FT CAMPBELL

Cole Park Gate 1
Ft Campbell
Private
18 Holes
6,645 Yards

HISTORY of FT CAMPBELL

Fort Campbell Military Reservation US Hwy 41A
Fort opened 1942
Named for William Campbell, a Tennessee statesman
Includes 105,000 acres, 2/3 located in Tennessee
Visitor entrance at Gate 4 off Ft Campbell Blvd
Home of famed 101st Air Assault Division of the U S Army

HOMES of FT CAMPBELL

Historic Post House 3190 Rt. Campbell Blvd
Historic Gateway from KY into TN
Building was the mid-way stagecoach stop between Clarksville & Hopkinsville, KY
Stage pulled with four horses and cost was $2.00
Now used for transit passenger waiting and a full service branch of US Postal Service

PARKS of FT CAMPBELL

Gardner Program Swimming Pool
11th St & Tennessee Av
Clarksville Base Swimming Pool
Headquarters Loop Rd
Baldanado Swimming Pool
25th & Indiana Av
Single Swimming Pool
38th St & Kansas Av
Muldoon Pool
Kansas Av

SPECIAL DAYS of FT CAMPBELL

Independence Day Activities July
Ft Campbell
Music, food, and fireworks

VISITOR CENTER of FT CAMPBELL

Fort Campbell Visitor Center Visitor center and museum
26th St and Tennessee Av

 

 


NEW PROVIDENCE, Tennessee

 


HISTORY of NEW PROVIDENCE

Fort Defiance/Fort Bruce "A" Street
Site is located above the Cumberland and Red rivers
Fort Defiance a Confederate fort constructed by slave labor
Federal Troops occupied facility 1862
Was renamed Fort Bruce
Open daily
Free
Sevier Station Walker St
A stone block house built by Valentine Sevier in 1792
Used as a refuge from Indian attacks
A small stone block house
Oldest standing structure in county
Sevier buried in Riverview Cemetery
Listed on National Register
Sevier Station is the oldest standing structure in Montgomery County

HOMES of NEW PROVIDENCE

Smith-Hoffman Home A & Beech St
Built by William Crosby Smith 1858
Listed on National Historic Register

PARKS of NEW PROVIDENCE

New Providence Swimming Pool Cunningham Lane at New Providence Middle School

 

 


PORT ROYAL, Tennessee

PARKS of PORT ROYAL

Port Royal Historic Area Port Royal State Historic Park
I-24, Exit 11, two miles off Hwy 76
3300 Old Clarksville Hwy
I-24, Exit 11, 2 miles off Hwy 76
Designated a State Historic Area, and a State Park
26 acre park
Port Royal became thriving river boom town 1797
Cherokee Indians "Trail of Tears" passed through area 1837
Features covered bridge across Red River
Original bridge washed away 1866
New bridge opened 1904
The new bridge used until 1955
Bridge fell into river 1972
State of Tennessee acquired land and rebuilt bridge 1977
Bridge recently washed away in a flood
ACCOMMODATIONS
Tent Camping
INDOOR ACTIVITIES
Museum
OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES
Hiking
Picnic Area
WATER ACTIVITIES
Canoeing
Fishing

 

  MONTGOMERY COUNTY PAGE TOP OF PAGE STATE HOME PAGE


E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map