IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TENNESSEE-
Robertson County
, TN

 

E-Mail Us

robertsonmap.jpg (51668 bytes)

Do you have information to provide?
Your help is needed to make this site better for all the people inside and outside of Robertson County, Tennessee.  We are particularly interested in documenting the history of Robertson County.  If you have useable information we are anxious to publish it on this site or will provide a link if you have it already posted on the net.  Many thanks.



AIRPORTS

Springfield-Robertson County Airport 4432 Airport Rd
5000 Foot Lighted Runway
Charter Service Available
Radio Communications: Unicom
Runway Lights: Yes

ATTRACTIONS

Highland Rim Speedway
Built by L.J. Hampton of Goodlettsville, TN in May 1962.

Click here for more information

6801 Kelly Willis Rd
Greenbrier
Camp Cheatham
Confederate training site was established in 1861.
Located in Robertson County near Cedar Hill.
Springfield Public Square Picturesque square was featured in a television movie
The wonderful Robertson County Courthouse, built in 1879, has been carefully restored
Courthouse is open Mon.-Fri.

Wild Horse and Burro Ranch

 

The only southeastern center of the Federal Bureau of Land Management for the public adoption of wild horses and burros from the western U.S.
Open weekends off I-65 near Cross Plains

Red River Canoeing

 

Red River Canoeing offers a four-hour leisure trip down this historic river
Open weekends April thru October
Daily Memorial Day thru Labor Day.

EDUCATION (Higher)
Robertson County Vocational School 5240 Hwy 76 E

HIGHWAYS

U S Highways:
I-65, I-24, 41, 431
State Highways: 49, 76, 11, 65, 161

HISTORICAL

GENERAL

Established 1796
Organized July 18, 1796
Robertson County split from Davidson County 1796
Springfield is county seat
First cotton gin installed 1802

Port Royal State Historic Area Covered bridge spans Red River
Masonic Lodge Building restored 1959
Features: Picnic, fishing, nature trails and boat ramp

Robertson County Distilleries
During the Civil war, occupying Union forces banned the distillation of whiskey because corn and other grains were needed to feed both humans and livestock. In Robertson County, distilling was one of the first businesses to start up after Federal troops pulled out in April of 1865. It was late spring, the favored season for distilling. Limestone water, corn, and firewood were readily available and a still could be set up easily and cheaply. It seemed as though nearly everyone in the county went into making whiskey for the simple reason that it was the fastest way to make money and required virtually no capital.

A major advantage was the fine reputation that Robertson County distillers such as Wiley Woodard already enjoyed. The 249 gallons of whiskey Woodard shipped to Lyon & Company in Nashville on September 21, 1865, commanded $3.75 a gallon, compared to forty cents a gallon before the war.12 Clearly his success would have been a stimulus to other producers.

Although Woodard continued to produce the finest Robertson County whiskey and apple and peach brandies, his production was eventually surpassed by aggressive new contenders, many of whom were his relatives. By 1874, these and other Robertson County distillers were producing 45,000 barrels of whiskey annually. They consumed so much corn that it became necessary to import large amounts from St. Louis and other markets. Before the war, there had been no wholesale whiskey dealers in Springfield, but by 1874 the business had grown to nearly one million dollars in annual sales. The barrel business that had grown up at Coopertown now produced $125,000 in business annually. In 1872 the Springfield National Bank was established to cater to the liquor industry. Because of the whiskey deposits-the average deposit was over $100,000-the newly established bank never wavered during the financial panic of 1873.

The Robertson County distillery that grew to be the largest was located at Greenbrier. When it was started about 1867 by Charles Palmer of Springfield, its capacity was a modest five gallons a day. In 1870, Charles Nelson, a native of Mecklenburg, Germany, who had come to Nashville from Cincinnati, bought it to supply his wholesale grocery business in Nashville (at that time grocers sold whiskey). The whiskey was manufactured in Robertson County, but it was both bottled under the Greenbrier label and distributed from his Nashville warehouse on Second Avenue North. At its peak, the distillery employed a work force of fifteen to twenty-five men, including government inspectors and gaugers as well as the operators. By 1885 the Greenbrier Distillery manufactured 8,000 barrels of whiskey or a little less than 380,000 gallons a year, and paid annual taxes of over $341,000.

In 1886 the Nashville Union reported that the distilling industry was the largest manufacturing industry in the state of Tennessee, annually consuming 750,000 bushels of corn and 500,000 bushels of apples and peaches. By the late 1880s, however, the industry had begun to decline. Smaller and less successful distillers had gone into other businesses, faced with intense competition from the larger distillers on the one hand, and mounting pressure from church and temperance groups on the other. The Women's Christian Temperance Union had organized in the state in 1874 and would be joined by the Anti-Saloon League in 1899.13

In Robertson County, by 1894, only five distilleries were still depositing whiskey in warehouses, and two of those were run by widows: Louisa Nelson for Charles Nelson's Greenbrier Distillery, and Josephine Woodard Brown for J. S. Brown Distilleries on Wartrace Creek. As the distilleries closed down, the distillers or their families tended to transfer their considerable assets into banking.

In 1903, the Adams Law, which extended the Four Mile Law first passed in 1877 to towns of 5,000, closed the saloons of Springfield.14 In 1909, with the state-wide prohibition on the manufacture of whiskey, the two remaining Robertson County distilleries, Nelson's Greenbrier and Pitt's Cave Spring, and all others in Tennessee went out of business, although some tried to conduct sales through retail and manufacturing activities in other states.

Robertson County Historical Society & Museum

PEOPLE
Named for General James Robertson(1742-1814) Was leader in the establishment of Watauga Settlement of East Tennessee
Explored the Cumberland country 1778
Founded Cumberland Settlements
Led an expedition to found Nashborough
Known as "Father of Tennessee"

Thomas Kilgore

 

Settled on Red River 1779
First lived in cave which now bears his name
Established fort called Kilgore Station
Cross Plains now occupies area where fort stood

Mauldin's Station second settlement, 1780

CHURCHES

Highland Chapel Baptist

Milldale Presbyterian
6275 Henry Road, Springfield, TN 37172
Robertson County's oldest continually operating church. Founded as a brush arbor in 1858 on the William McKissack plantation.
Original site was beside the church cemetery on Draper Road, and was called McKissack Cumberland Presbyterian Church.
In 1906 the congregation was large enough to move to the current location and the present Sanctuary dates from 1911.
The church is a member of the Living Waters Synod of the Presbyterian Church USA. Worship times: Sunday School 9:00 a.m. and Worship 9:45.

HOOLS
Liberty Academy was first school Established 1811

Post Offices

ADAMS'S STATION Opened: April 24, 1860 Closed: Feb. 10, 1898
ADAMS Opened: Feb. 10, 1898 Closed: Operating
ASHBURN Opened: May 11, 1892 Closed: Oct. 15, 1907
BAGGETT'S Opened: April 28, 1847 Closed: May 23, 1849
BAGGETTSVILLE Opened: May 16, 1870 Closed: July 5, 1907
BRAINBRIDGE Opened: Feb. 18, 1850 Closed: Dec. 13, 1852
BARREN PLAINS Opened: Dec. 16, 1839 Closed: Dec. 31, 1907
BATON Opened: Nov. 28, 1900 Closed: Dec. 10, 1902
BETHLEHAM Opened: July 24, 1860 Closed: July 18, 1866
BLACK JACK Opened: May 20, 1852 Closed: March 15, 1895
BLACKJACK Opened: March 15, 1895 Closed: Feb. 19, 1896
BOBWHITE Opened: April 11, 1890
Re-Opened: June 16, 1898
Closed: Jan. 9, 1892
Re-Closed: Oct. 31, 1904
BROADERICK Opened: April 13, 1892 Closed: June 15, 1895
LENOIR'S Opened: Jan. 31, 1823 Closed: June 2, 1870
LOWE'S Opened: Dec. 4, 1827 Closed: Nov. 11, 1845
MARCUS Opened: Jan. 22, 1834 Closed: May 23, 1844
MEESVILLE Opened: May 11, 1830 Closed: May 14, 1847
MILLDALE Opened: Dec. 16, 1893 Closed: Feb. 14, 1906
MILLERSVILLE Opened: Feb. 26, 1855 Closed: Jan. 8, 1861
MILLTOWN Opened: April 17, 1820 Closed: ca.1822
MITCHELL Opened: June 7, 1876 Closed: Jan. 31, 1907
MITCHELLSVILLE Opened: July 5, 1837 Closed: Aug. 10, 1859
MOUTH OF HARPETH Opened: Oct. 14, 1847 Closed: Nov. 18, 1834
MULLOYS Opened: Nov. 8, 1827
Re-Opened: Feb. 10, 1843
Re-Opened: June 15, 1848
Re-Opened: May 22, 1868
Closed: July 20, 1844
Re-Closed: April 11, 1848
Re-Closed: Dec. 5, 1857
Re-Closed: July 17, 1886
McCREARY'S Opened: March 11, 1828 Closed: July 5, 1837
NUNLEY Opened: Nov. 2, 1881 Closed: Aug. 14, 1882
ORLINDA Opened: Sept. 29, 1882 Closed: Operating
RED RIVER Opened: March 27, 1838 Closed: June 1, 1860
RIDGETOP Opened: Oct. 12, 1897 Closed: Operating
ROSE HILL Opened: Feb. 28, 1850
Re-Opened: July 28, 1857
Closed: Dec. 13, 1851
Re-Closed: June 1, 1860
SADLERSVILLE Opened: July 11, 1853
Re-Opened: March 20, 1873
Closed: Jan. 2, 1861
Re-Closed: Oct. 31, 1965
SANDY SPRING Opened: May 20, 1895 Closed: Aug. 31, 1903
SLAYDENSVILLE Opened: Dec. 13, 1858 Closed: Sept. 22, 1866
SPRINGFIELD Opened: Sept. 13, 1800 Closed: Operating
STROUDSVILLE Opened: June 16, 1900 Closed: Aug. 15, 1903
THOMASVILLE Opened: Feb. 15, 1849 Closed: Sept. 22, 1866
TURNERSVILLE Opened: Oct. 1, 1804 Closed: July 15, 1907
WATTSVILLE Opened: Sept. 6, 1890 Closed: April 24, 1899
WESSYNGTON Opened: March 1, 1897
Re-Opened: Aug. 2, 1898
Closed: June 16, 1898
Re-Closed: Aug. 31, 1911
WHITE HILL Opened: Dec. 23, 1890 Closed: Oct. 31, 1904
WHITE HOUSE Opened: Feb. 18, 1820
Re-Opened: March 17, 1879
Closed: ca.1824
Re-Closed: March 8, 1856
WOODVIEW Opened: Oct. 7, 1901 Closed: Dec. 31, 1902
YOUNGSVILLE Opened: Jan. 19, 1900 Closed: Feb. 28, 1907

HISTORICAL TIME LINE

15000 BC to 5000 BC  Paleo Indians in area

6000 BC to 1000 BC 

Archaic Indians in area
Created mussel shell mounds along Cumberland River

1000 BC to 1100 AD 

 

Woodland Indians in area
Built mounds in area
1100 AD to 1600 AD  Mississippian Indians in area
1600's  Cherokee, Chickasaw, and Creek Indians used area as common hunting ground
1682 Cherokee drive out Shawnees who tried to permanently settle area
1765 Henry Scaggs explored the Cumberland area
1796 Robertson County established

HOSPITALS
Northcrest Medical Center 100 Northcrest Dr
Oakwood Center

Springfield

MOTELS / BED & BREAKFAST / CAMPGROUNDS
BED & BREAKFAST
William Stringer Home
Located 3.5 miles off I-65 on Hwy 52
Built 1858
Now serves as Aurora Inn Bed & Breakfast Inn

CAMPGROUNDS
Red River Valley Park

Trail of Tears Museum chronicles heritage of Robertson County
Live Country Music
RV hookups
Canoeing and camping

RAILROADS

Seaboard Systems Railroad
Csx
Springfield

SPECIAL DAYS

Tennessee-Kentucky Threshermen's Show
Mid-July
Antique wheat threshers, tractors, and hundreds of other steam engines in action.
Arts and crafts, quilt show, and music.

STATISTICS

SIZE Square Miles: 477
POPULATION 1970 29,102
1980 37,021
1990 41,494

 

 


ADAMS

 

ATTRACTIONS

Bell Witch Cave Cave was named for the legendary ghost who reportedly haunted and tormented the John Bell family near Adams from 1816 to 1828
Bell family came from Edgecombe County when they settled in Robertson County in the 1790s
located at Keysburg Rd
Admission charged
Bell Witch Opry Located in Old Bell School
Bluegrass and Country music from the Bell Witch Antique Mall
Every Saturday night from 7:30 to 10:30

HISTORICAL

GENERAL Adams incorporated in 1963
The famous Bell Witch Legend, originated nearby
PEOPLE Named in 1856 for James Reuben Adams


SPECIAL DAYS

Thrasherman Show
Old Bell School
Adams
Three day event offering a variety of special events and crafts
3rd Week of July

Bell Witch Bluegrass Festival
Old Bell School
Adams

Music and dancing competitions
2nd Weekend of August

STATISTICS

POPULATION
1960  (X)
1970  458
1980  600
1990  587

 

LOCATION CODES

Zip: 37010

 

 

 


CEDAR HILL

 

HISTORICAL

GENERAL Name came from landscape
Incorporated in 1963

 

 

 


CROSS PLAINS

 

ATTRACTIONS
Carr's Wild Horse & Burro Center 2nd oldest town in the County

4844 Couts-Carr Rd
Bureau of Land Management, Department of Interior
Adoptions of wild horses and burros must meet government requirements
Free

KD Orchard 6900 Blackberry Lane
Largest peach & blackberry orchard in Middle Tennessee
You pick your own peaches and blackberries
Group tours for children and others by appointment only
Free

HISTORICAL

GENERAL
Second oldest city in Tennessee
Used to be a Stage Coach stop
Incorporated in 1970
Early roads
north-south and east-west crossed here
hence the name of the town

Randolph Tavern

 

Located at Cross Plains
Built 1815
The East Room served as post office from 1940 to 1970

Historic Thomas Drugs

 

7802 Hwy 25
Old fashioned 1915 drugstore
Operating soda fountain
Offers a variety of medicine goods, arts, crafts, and gifts
Free

SCHOOLS
Neophogen College Founded in Cross Plains 1873
Originally called Stonewall College
Frame structure burned and replaced by brick building

STATISTICS

POPULATION
1960  (X)
1970  (X)
1980  655
1990  1,025
LOCATION CODES Zip: 37049

 


GREENBRIER

HISTORICAL
GENERAL Youngest town in the County

Was known as Cheatham's Station
1857, railroad came, town became Greenbrier
Incorporated in 1937

Old Distillery Building Built by Nelson's Distillery
Shut doors in 1909
Used as a tobacco warehouse

CHURCHES

Bethel Baptist Church 7022 Bethel Road
Greenbrier
Ebenezer Baptist Church 6028 Ebenezer Rd
Greenbrier, Tn 37073

STATISTICS

POPULATION 1990 2,873

 

 


ORLINDA

HISTORICAL

GENERAL Incorporated in 1965

 

 


RIDGETOP

HISTORICAL
GENERAL Incorporated in 1935
Ridgetop Museum Obrien St
History of Ridgetop displays

STATISTICS
POPULATION
1960  372
1970  858
1980  1,225

1990 

1,132
LOCATION CODES

Zip: 37152

 

  ROBERTSON COUNTY PAGE TOP OF PAGE STATE HOME PAGE

E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map