IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TENNESSEE-
CUMBERLAND COUNTY HISTORY, TENNESSEE

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing


 

CITY KEY:

B          CRAB ORCHARD

R          CROSSVILLE

C          CUMBERLAND CO

P          PLEASANT HILL

 

 

BAKER'S CROSSROADS COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of BAKER'S CROSSROADS

Spencer, Hughell, Turner, Johnson, Taylor, and Welch Came from Ashe County, NC, 1832
Settled on 5000 acres
Named community Baker's Crossroads
Early Settlers (1886) James H Baker

CHURCHES of BAKER'S CROSSROADS

Early meeting held in Baker's home
Log house built to house church and a subscription school
Built 1886
Copeland Creek Church Free Will Baptist

SCHOOLS of BAKER'S CROSSROADS

Log house moved to another site to serve as school about 1911
Replaced by one room frame building
Another room and kitchen added 1944
Present brick building erected 1948
Baker's Crossroads School

 

 

 

BIG LICK COMMUNITY

HISTORY of BIG LICK

Name came from a salt lick

Original name was “Deer Lick”

Town grew large, name changed to Big Lick

PEOPLE of BIG LICK

Established  first church First postmaster
Hiram Proctor Louis Bennett

CHURCHES of BIG LICK

First church

Established by Hiram Proctor

 
Buck Snort Baptist Church Oak Grove Church
Organized by the Presbyterian Board of National Missions in 1921
Calvary Presbyterian Church

SCHOOLS of BIG LICK

Grey Ridge School Oak Grove School

POST OFFICE of BIG LICK

Established 1875

Lewis Bennett first postmaster

 

 

 

BURGESSTOWN COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of BURGESSTOWN

One of the earliest settlers

Came for fine hunting

A large family, town took their name

One of the earliest settlers
Hiram Burgess Joe Campbell

SCHOOLS of BURGESSTOWN

 
Midway  School

 

 

BURKE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of BURKE

 

Large areas of cane existed in valley

 

The outlet for Cove Creek

Enters cave from Grassy Cove and flows underground

Forms the beginning of the Sequatchie River

Sequatchie, a Cherokee word, means “hog trough”

Area site of Indian hunting camp Big Spring

PEOPLE of BURKE

 

(1797) Wilson, Brown, Lowe, Griffith, Standifer

(Later) Stephens, Parham, Tollett, Oxier, Orme, Swafford, Hinch

Mills built by Tollett, Parham, and Hinch

Revolutionary War soldier

Came to valley 1797

Built log house near Wilson Branch

Four Indian mounds located on his property

Early Families Greenberry Wilson

CHURCHES of BURKE

 
First  Church at Hickory Grove

SCHOOLS of BURKE

109 students enrolled 1887  
In church building at Hickory Grove Head of the Creek School
   
Goat Knob School Parham’s Chapel School

 

 

 

CENTER COMMUNITY

HISTORY of CENTER

Located one mile from Crab Orchard

PEOPLE of CENTER

 

Haley, Burke, Pogue, Fent, Marion, Brown, Hatfield, Tanner, Center

 

Bought farm from Dr Haley and Robert Burke, 1855

Built large Southern Colonial House still in use

Had 13 children

Organized and built Center Chapel School and church

Became county’s first superintendent of schools

Early families Thomas Center

 

 

 

CHESTNUT HILL COMMUNITY

HISTORY of CHESTNUT HILL

Was known as Northville

Originally forded at McGinney’s Ford, Hatfield’s Ford and Center’s Ford

A bridge was built across the creek in 1902

Chestnut Hill Daddy’s Creek
Came through the western end of the community
Walton Road

PEOPLE of CHESTNUT HILL

Came from Iowa

Bought up about 2/3 of the land that now constitutes Chestnut Hill

Put up a school building at his own expense and his own land, 1879

Named school “Chestnut Hill”

William C. Pogue

CHURCHES of CHESTNUT HILL

Built 1948

Built in 1950
Baptist Church  Church & God of Prophecy

 

 

 

 

 

7 CLAYSVILLE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of CLAYSVILLE

Name Claysville belonged to Pomona community until 1857

Claysville moved a few miles up the road

PEOPLE of CLAYSVILLE

Before Civil War:  Broyles, Crook

1849:  Fields

Later:  Compton, Tanner, Field, Stanley, Broyles, Crook

Built Dock Hinch Senior house, 1872

Helped built log building for Claysville Methodist Church

Early Settlers Thomas Noland

 

 

8 CLIFTY COMMUNITY

HISTORY of CLIFTY

Coal Consolidated Coal Company opened its Mine Number 1, 1900

Grew rapidly to a mining town of 1,700 people

Largest mining town in the State

Depot, post office, company store, office buildings, hotel, club house, were built

Mines were closed,1923

PEOPLE of CLIFTY

Sold land to Dr. W.B. Young, that became Number 2 mine
Alex Scarbrough

CHURCHES of CLIFTY

NEWTON CHURCH OF CHRIST CLIFTY BAPTIST

 

SCHOOLS of CLIFTY

 

Had nine grades, building was used for the two churches

 

 

9 CRESTON COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of CRESTON

Settled on Drowning Creek, 1827

Came from Kentucky 1845

Settled near Copeland Creek

Built two story log house

Donated land for Creston Cemetery

Earliest stone dated 1846

Gibson, Bumbalough, and Conley, 1860

Later, Cox, Parsons, Shellito, Rains, Elmore, Dixon, and Keyes

James Cox Alexander Morrow Early Settlers

CHURCHES of CRESTON

Organized 1909  
Methodist Church Creston Baptist

 

SCHOOLS of CRESTON

Built about 1903

Second school built 1920

Closed 1948

Creston School

 

POST OFFICE in CRESTON

Established 1891

Taylor Spencer first postmaster

Post office was in Spencer’s home

Moved to Tennessee Railway Depot, 1900

 

 

10 DAYSVILLE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of DAYSVILLE

Bought 8000 acres in area about 1900

Railroad spur built from Daysville to Waldensia and extended to Millstone

At one time company owned two locomotives and many coke ovens

A hotel, several houses and a lake were built by around the mine

Property sold at bankrupt sale in 1930’s

Chicago-Tennessee Coal and Coke Co

 

PEOPLE of DAYSVILLE   

 

Day, Carter, and Kindred’s settled on Manny’s Creek by 1860
Early Families

CHURCHES of DAYSVILLE

Baptist Church

 

SCHOOLS of DAYSVILLE

 

A 3-teacher school closed 1955

 

POST OFFICE in DAYSVILLE

 

Established 1901

George W Day first postmaster

 

 

11 DOGWOOD COMMUNITY

HISTORY of DOGWOOD

Located near the Rhea County line

Built by General Gordon early 1800’s

Taken over by Cal Gibson

Torn down 1905

Inn at Dogwood


PEOPLE of DOGWOOD

Harris, Mathis, Monday, Ellison, Moore, McCollugh, Loden, Edwards, Smith, Vitatoe
Early Families

CHURCHES of DOGWOOD

Organized 1890 Established 1870
Fall Creek Baptist Mission Mt Zion Baptist Mission

 

SCHOOLS of DOGWOOD

One room school house

Had 29 enrolled, 1887

Closed 1953
Manning School School near Fall Creek Baptist Mission

 

 

 

12 DORTON COMMUNITY

HISTORY of DORTON

Name was given by the railroad officials as a mark of respect to local attorney, James W. Dorton

Opened in 1925

Operated since then by

Tennessee Stone Company

Built a railroad spur from from Dorton to Peavine

Mountain to haul lumber and acid wood

Spur was eight miles long and used for eleven years

Operated a planning mill on the Rose property 1942-1946

  Cline stone quarry Cumberland Lumber Company

 

PEOPLE of DORTON

Deeded land for the Methodist Church which was known as Baker Chapel

Put in a saw and planning mill about 1914

Operated until 1920

Bakers Edd Rich

 

CHURCHES of DORTON

Built in 1938 Now active Now active Now active
Dorton Community Church Dorton Baptist Dorton Church of Christ Dorton Methodist

 

 

SCHOOLS of DORTON

 

Built in 1895

Used until 1924

Built in 1925

Used also as a church until 1938

Fairview School Dorton Schoolhouse

POST OFFICE of DORTON

Established July 20, 1904

David R Cry first postmaster

 

 

 

13 ERASMUS COMMUNITY

HISTORY of ERASMUS

Named for Erasmus Darwin Ashley

PEOPLE of ERASMUS        

Wrote out a subscription paper soliciting work, for timber and frame for a bridge Built a store in 1899, burned down Rebuilt store
R.D. Godfrey James F. Brown O.C. Stewart

 

 

14 FLAT ROCK COMMUNITY

SCHOOLS of FLAT ROCK

Built first school in 1870 First teacher in 1881
Anderson Blaylock Mattie Lundy Hamilton

 

 

15 FLYNN'S COVE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of FLYNN'S COVE

Named for the family of John Flynn, on of the earliest settlers

Named after John Flynn

Served in Revolutionary War

An early settler in community

Ran portion of underground railroad through southwest corner of county
  Flynn’s Cove Richard “Red Fox” Flynn

 

 

16 GENESIS COMMUNITY

HISTORY of GENESIS

Most of land surrounding the town now in preserve
Catoosa Wildlife Preserve

PEOPLE of GENESIS

On land where Obed River and Wolf Pen Branch intersect, 1827

Nimrod Myatt

Came from Virginia

Settled in community, 1835

Henry, Potter, Borden, Hall, McCoy, Turner
Elisha Elmore Early Settlers 1860 census

SCHOOLS of GENESIS

Shiloh and Cross roads
Two Early Log Schools

POST OFFICE in GENESIS

Established 1876

David F Borden first postmaster

 

 

17 GRASSY COVE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of GRASSY COVE

Cherokee Indian’s Trail of Tears passed through area

Was a thriving community prior to Civil War

Area land grants given to several Revolutionary War soldiers

Cove is approximately five miles long and as much as two miles wide
Valley covered with grass as high as the horses heads
Trees grew only on surrounding mountainsides

Area drains to Cove Creek
Creek disappears into large cave (The Old Mill Cave) on west side of town
It emerges in Sequatchie Valley
Several miles below entry
A 500 foot elevation drop
Becomes Sequatchie River after stream emerges
Herron Mathews made gunpowder in cave
Dicky Mathews reopened cave 1859
Made gunpowder during Civil War
Cove Creek Saltpeter Cave
Built 1886 Established by the Presbyterian Church, 1871
Closed 1906
Built 1826 or 1827 by Robert Burke
Features a general store Grassy Cove Academy Crab Orchard Inn
GRASSY COVE COMMUNITY CENTER OLD GENERAL STORE (Grassy Cove)

 

PEOPLE of GRASSY COVE

(1801) Ford, Loden, DeRossett, McClendon, Gibson, Fords and Lodens came from Fluvanna County, VA

(1808) Kemmer

John Kemmer established an inn west of Daddy's Creek, 1822

(Later) Davenport, Lively, Redwine, Hinch, Selby, Bennett, Swan, Sherrill, Frisby, Webb

Early families

Fought in Revolutionary War
Built log cabin on his land

Received land grant for about half of valley
Came to area from Buncombe County, NC
Set up tannery in Cove
Settled at southwestern end of cove
Dorton Mountain named for the family
Billy McFail was an herb doctor and story teller
Came from Franklin County, VA
Acquired 270 acres from Aquilla Nail
Built Greer’s Stand, later called Stockman’s Inn
Became Grassy Cove’s first postmaster 1837
Built grist and sawmill at mouth of the “big cave” 1848
John Ford, Sr John Bristow Dorton and McFall Families Weatherston Greer

 

CHURCHES of GRASSY COVE

Oldest organized church in county

Built on land donated by John Ford

Building erected 1803

Frame church built 1926

Early Primitive and Missionary Baptist churches dissolved
Methodist  Episcopal Church South Baptist Churches

 

POST OFFICE in GRASSY COVE

Established 1837

Formerly in Bledsoe Co

Weatherston L Greer first postmaster

 

  

18 HALES CHAPEL COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of HALES CHAPEL

Came to area about 1853
Bought 1,000 acres of land
Built a sawmill on Big Laurel
In the valley he built a rambling home which was a gathering place for the community
Thomas Hale, Sr.

SCHOOLS of HALES CHAPEL

Two room school with 54 pupils

 

 

 

19 HEBBERTSBURG COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of HEBBERTSBURG

Came from Wilkes County, NC
Settled on land where Daddy’s Creek and Yellow Creek intersect
Came from Ashe County, NC Kindred, Hatfield, Aytes, Bledsoe, Shadden, Kendrick, Redwin, Watson, Davis, Smith Became postmaster, 1886
Town name changed from Yellow Creek in his honor
Operated post office, store, grist mill, and saw mill
Levi Hambys 1830 Enoch Farmer 1830 Early settlers, 1860 Census Hebbert Hamby

CHURCHES of HEBBERTSBURG

Was in existence, 1866
Building called New Home erected 1895
Church of Christ

POST OFFICE in HEBBERTSBURG

Established 1857
Name changed from Yellow Creek 1866
Hebbert Hamby first postmaster

 

20 HOWARD SPRINGS

HISTORY of HOWARD SPRINGS

Named for John Howard, philanthropist who spent life in alleviating human suffering

PEOPLE of HOWARD SPRINGS

Entered several hundreds of acres of land near Littlefield Creek in 1840
Built the Frost Road
From Pennsylvania
Came with partners J.S. Eckles and A.J. Spencer
Selected large acreage between Pomona and Crossville
Built log cabin, set about laying out a town site
Town site became Howard Springs later after several name changing
Elijah Frost L. Harold Bell

 

 

 

21 ISOLINE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of ISOLINE

Was part of Woody until 1898
R O Campbell opened coal mine
Railroad spur built to haul coal
Mining ceased about 1920
Old railroad tracks removed about 1939

POST OFFICE in ISOLINE

Established 1900
Hezekiah E Kadaway first postmaster
Closed 1926

 

 

22 JEWETT COMMUNITY

HISTORY of JEWETT

Coal mine Opened about 1880
Tennessee Central built railroad into area from Spring City
Name changed to Tennessee & Sequatchie Valley Railroad

PEOPLE of JEWETT

John Garrison, E Vance Hinch
Early Families

CHURCHES of JEWETT

   
   

SCHOOLS of JEWETT

First school built 1881
Had 69 enrolled 1887
Building used for school and Presbyterian Church
Presbyterian Mission built new school and church
New school built 1953

POST OFFICE in JEWETT

Established 1904
James O Parham first postmaster

 

 

23 LANTANA COMMUNITY

HISTORY of LANTANA

Situated 7 miles southwest of Crossville
One of the finest grazing and timber districts of the county
Has Olds and Styring coal mines

PEOPLE of LANTANA

Enterprising German
One of the most successful grape growers and wine producers in the county
Makes 600 to 1,000 gallons annually
Successful farmer, hunter, and gunsmith

From Angola, Indiana

First resident preacher of the Lantana Church of Christ in 1954
Phillip Beyer Andrew Cruson Rev. B.H. Anderson
Built the famous Lowery Stand Built the famous Dawson’s Stand First postmaster First mail carrier
Alex Lowery George Dawson George Vandever Nicholas Vandever

 

POST OFFICE in LANTANA

Closed May 5, 1887

 

 

24 LINARY COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of LINARY

Swan, Hall, Hale, Dawson, Renfro, and Manning
T B Swan born in community 1801
Joel Hall carried salt to early settlers from Goose Creek, KY
Jake Croft built grist mill at Sutton’s Ford
Early Families

POST OFFICE in LINARY

Established 1845
Originally called Ormes Post Office
Name changed to Linaria
Later assumed name of Linary
Located in Ormes Store
William M Orme first postmaster
Closed 1955

 

 

25 MAPLE SPRINGS COMMUNITY

POST OFFICE in MAPLE SPRINGS

Established 1855
Thomas B Swan first postmaster

 

 

26 MAYLAND COMMUNITY

HISTORY of MAYLAND

Community Originally Called Johnson
Changed to Goodwill before 1886
Called Mayland before 1900
Railroad came to area 1900 Established by Dr L L Rice, 1919
Bought 1000 acres for camp and built a lake
Tennessee Central Railroad Nakanawa Camp

 

PEOPLE of MAYLAND

Settled in area about 1800
Built log building for an inn, 1806
Called Johnson Stand
Located on the Walton Road
Now called the Raines House
Robert Johnson

SCHOOLS of MAYLAND

Started 1885
Band Springs

POST OFFICE in MAYLAND

Opened 1900

 

 

 

27 NEWTON COMMUNITY

SCHOOLS of NEWTON

First school opened in the 1880’s
Anderson Millard as its teacher


POST OFFICE in NEWTON

Frank W Miller first postmaster
Established 1889

 

 

 

28 OAK HILL COMMUNITY

HISTORY of OAK HILL

Named for the school built in 1918 by Rev. Frank March, Leonard Potter, and Jim Dixon
Sometimes appears on maps as “Oak Grove”

PEOPLE of OAK HILL

 
 

CHURCHES of OAK HILL

Organized in 1939
Housed in 1945 on 1 1/2 acres donated by Shirley Eldridge and Thelma Parsons
Baptist Church

SCHOOLS of OAK HILL

Built in 1918 by Rev. Frank March, Leonard Potter, and Jim Dixon
On land donated by Everhard Land Company
Oak Hill

 

 

 

29 OZONE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of OZONE

Wife of Elizah Haley opened Fall Creek Inn at Ozone
Inn was in existence 1806
Widow Haley and Robert Burke married 1817
Kept inn until 1827
Built new inn at Crab Orchard
Located beside Hwy 70 near the Ozone Community
70 acre area
100 foot high water fall
Scene of Hollywood film, Jungle Book
Fall Creek Inn Ozone Falls State Natural Area
Spur line run in community 1900
Small depot and post office built
Used to haul coal from Fall Creek Collieries
Established 1905
Mines active until after WW1
Spencer’s Hill (to the west)
Saddle Rock
Split Rock
Blue Hole
Railroad Scenic Areas

 

PEOPLE of OZONE

King, Day, Manning, Aytese, Hodges, Kindred, Lowery, Dawson, Smith, and Lingo Had grist mill at Ozone Falls 1869
Falls were called McNair Falls
Early Families Daniel McNair

CHURCHES of OZONE

Built 1898 Organized 1941  
Presbyterian Church Baptist Church Greever Chapel

SCHOOLS of OZONE

Located on King’s Branch
Enrolled 39 students 1887
King’s School

POST OFFICE in OZONE

Established 1880
Name changed from Mammy
Thomas H Ferguson first postmaster

 

 

 

30 PEAVINE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of PEAVINE

Name derived from pea vine which grew on mountainsides

PEOPLE of PEAVINE       

Major Swaford probably first in area
Abe Justice ran grist and sawmill
Brookharts, 1887
Early Settlers

POST OFFICE in PEAVINE

Established 1900
Chauncey E Brookhart first postmaster

 

 

 

31 PILOT KNOB COMMUNITY

HISTORY of PILOT KNOB     

Sometimes known as Todd Town
Had 7 Different county roads, 7 churches, 4 gristmills, 3 sawmills, 6 regular schools

 

 

 

32 POMONO COMMUNITY

HISTORY of POMONO

Community first named Claysville
Name changed by John Dodge to Pomona
Named after Roman goddess of fruit and orchards

PEOPLE of POMONO

Was probably one of earliest settlers Was early settler
Nationally famous artist
Came to area for health reasons, 1849
Planted as many as 82,000 apple trees
Died 1893
Buried in Oak Lawn Cemetery
An eccentric early settler
Promoted literary societies
Ran foxhounds
Built Pomona Methodist Church
Is buried in cemetery near church
John Crook John W Dodge Margaret Bloodgood Peeke

CHURCHES of POMONO

Built 1919

Methodist Church

POST OFFICE in POMONO

Established 1852
Name changed from Claysville 1857
Armstead S Mowlin first postmaster

 

 

33 RINNIE COMMUNITY

HISTORY of RINNIE

Was called Union Grove until post office established 1920
First settlement in area about 1840
Catoosa Wildlife Preserve on land to east of area

PEOPLE of RINNIE

Ashburn, Lowe, Shilling, Miller, Barringer, Elmore, Todd, Green, Harville
Early Settlers

SCHOOLS of RINNIE

Used until 1882 Built mostly by volunteer labor, 1916
Used until 1930’s
Larger building erected
Four teacher school built 1949
Bear Creek School Union Grove School

POST OFFICE in RINNIE

Established 1920
Joseph M Green first postmaster
Ran blacksmith shop
Was preacher at Free Will Baptist

 

 

 

34 SMITH CHAPEL COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of SMITH CHAPEL

Was first settler in area
Built house 1880
Moved to Pleasant Hill, 1902
Rev Lafayette Smith

CHURCHES of SMITH CHAPEL

Rev Smith was minister to church
Little Friendship Church

 

35 SPENCER HILL COMMUNITY

POST OFFICE in SPENCER HILL

Established 1854
Robert A Renfro first postmaster

 

 

36 TABOR COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of TABOR

Came from North Carolina, 1806
Were chair makers
Business still exists
Oldest craft with unchanged service since first settlement
Dixon, Cox, Parson
1868:  Proctor, Friar, Monday, Barwell, Cain, Burnett, and Scott
Tabor Family Early Settlers

CHURCHES of TABOR      

Second oldest church in county
Built in 1860’s
Later called Fredonia Missionary Baptist
Built in 1860’s Built 1870’s Built 1903
Maple Springs Clark Springs Bethlehem Baptist Tollett’s Chapel Methodist

SCHOOLS of TABOR     

Was located across Scott’s Creek
Name changed to Tollett’s Chapel School
Changed again to Tabor School
Millard School

 

 

37 TATE TOWN COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of TATE TOWN

After Civil War, about 40 African Americans settled in area
Rev John Tate, Albert Kilby, Sneed Bailey, and the Griffin family
Had been slaves of Childs in Morristown
Provided land for their use
Most settlers moved to Harriman about 1912
Early Settlers

 

 

38 TAYLOR'S CHAPEL COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of TAYLOR'S CHAPEL

Sent by new government of Tennessee on a mission to the Mero District
Urged friends back in Washington County to migrate
One of the oldest settlers of the mountain
Erected Taylor’s Chapel wholly by himself
Capt. George Taylor Mr. Lee Taylor

CHURCHES of TAYLOR'S CHAPEL

Named after Mr. Lee Taylor
Taylor’s Chapel Church

 

 

39 THOMAS SPRINGS COMMUNITY

HISTORY of THOMAS SPRINGS

Named for “Yankee Thomas”

SCHOOLS of THOMAS SPRINGS

Second log school, 1895
A little frame school was built, 1912

 

 

 

40 VANDEVER COMMUNITY

 

POST OFFICE in THOMAS SPRINGS

Name was given to post office when Vandevers were handling the mail

 

 

 

41 WESTEL COMMUNITY

HISTORY of WESTEL

Became part of Cumberland County, 1873
County line had previously been at Mammy’s Creek
1873 act relocated the line at Piney Creek

PEOPLE of WESTEL

 Lingo, Honeycutt, McLain, Watkinse, Kindred, and Harner
Late 1890’s families: Swing, Gibson, Price, Lewis, Parker, Grendle, and Kelley
Built inn at Piney Creek on Walton Rd A New York glue factory proprietor
Lived in area with family in summer
Early families: David Haley Westel Powell

CHURCHES of WESTEL     

Westel Cumberland Presbyterian
First Church

SCHOOLS of WESTEL       

Built 1901
Land donated by Westel Powell Burned 1924
Built south of old school
Abandoned 1955
First School New school

POST OFFICE in WESTEL

Established 1896
Marcus F Hargitt first postmaster

 

 

42 WINESAP COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of WINESAP

Early preacher Early teacher Early teacher Early teacher Early teacher
Ben Brewer Sam Kerley Pina Hudson Clarence Bell John Brown
Built a sawmill on Bee Creek First postmaster Most famous mail carrier
1955, rounded out 40 years of mail carrying on horseback
Jordan Edmonds George A. Myers James Stone

CHURCHES of WINESAP

First church, about 1853
Organized for 102 years before it got a church house of its own
Old Laurel (Later Mt. Union)

SCHOOLS of WINESAP

Started in 1800
First school
Burned later and replaced
Located at Newton
Mt. Union Midway

POST OFFICE in WINESAP

Established 1853
Name changed from Bee Creek 1882
George A Myers first postmaster
Closed April 30, 1955

 

 

 

43 WOODLAWN COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of WOODLAWN

1915 appointed to preach in Cumberland County
1918 suggested a school for mountain boys and girls
Cumberland Mountain School begun in 1919
Robert Hall

SCHOOLS of WOODLAWN

Started by Robert Hall
Began n 1919
1939
school closed, building used by Scarritt Rural Center
Cumberland Mountain School

 

 

 

44 WOODY COMMUNITY

PEOPLE of WOODY

A veteran of War of 1812
Came from North Carolina about 1831
Settled near Obed River about 10 miles north of Crossville
Started when two year old child drowned in a creek
Creek was named Black Drowning Creek
James Woody Woody Cemetery

CHURCHES of WOODY

Organized at Maple Springs, 1892
Met in Woody School after 1894
Erected building 1917
Bethlehem Baptist

SCHOOLS of WOODY

First school built near Woody Cemetery
Moved to Bill Cox farm about 1891
East Woody and West Woody school formed
Combined into one school 1916
Woody School

POST OFFICE in WOODY

Established as Woodville 1887
Ellison Woody first postmaster

 

TOP OF PAGE STATE HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us

Travel Site Map