|HOMES IN GALVESTON, Texas- 1/21/02|
|CHURCHES in GALVESTON|
|TRINITY PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH|
|Erected 1855 - 1857 for third Episcopal Mission
in Republic of Texas. Established February 6, 1841, by the Reverend Benjamin
Eaton, Rector from 1841 to 1871, who is buried beneath the sanctuary.
First service held November 1, 1857. Here Reverend Alexander Gregg was elected first Bishop of the Diocese of Texas on May 6, 1859.
Trinity and her congregation have withstood the perils of epidemics, fire and flood.
|EATON MEMORIAL CHAPEL
Designed by noted architect Nicholas Clayton. Gothic revival style. Dedicated as memorial in 1882 to the Reverent Benjamin Eaton, founding Rector, 1841 - 71.
Half of funds provided by the Ladies' Parochial Society, half by financier Henry Rosenberg.
After city-wide fire (1885), chapel was used by St Paul's German Presbyterian Church, center of parish life 1900 - 01 and 1925 - 27 during church repair. Renovated in 1946 and 1966.
|FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH|
|Became the first church in Galveston. Organized
New Years day, 1840. In the "academy" an old building on the
northwest corner of this intersectional. Reverent John McCullough Church organizer
Original building was finished 1843. Present structure started 1872. Completed 1889. Following its escape from the great fire of 1885, church housed classes from schools which had burned.
It withstood various storms until it was heavily damaged by Hurricane Carla, 1961. Restored 1962.
|ST MARY'S CATHEDRAL|
|City's oldest surviving church. Built 1847
by the Most Reverend John M Odin, C M Early, missionary and first Bishop of Texas.
Gift of half a million bricks from Antwerp, Belgium made structure possible. Gothic
Cathedral is preserved in original style.
After disastrous flood of 1875, tower was crowned with statue of Mary, Star of the Sea, which has withstood storms ever since.
Fine stained glass windows and rich altars are notable features.
|FIRST UNION BAPTIST CHURCH|
|This church was founded in 1870 as the First
Union Free Mission Baptist Church by a delegation representing the American Baptist Free
Mission Society of Boston, in interracial antislavery group. First Union was the
first church organized by the Society in Texas. Its founding resulted from and
continued a period of intense rivalry over the recruitment of former slaves in Texas
between the newly arrived Northern Free Mission Society and the established Southern based
First Union promptly began an ambitious missionary effort that resulted in the establishment of the Texas Free mission (Eastern District) Baptist Association, in 1871, a Western District Association in 1873, and numerous free mission churches throughout the region. The Eastern and Western Districts united to form the American Baptist Convention of Texas in 1882.
The Reverent Benjamin J Hall, First Union Pastor for all but four years (1892 - 1896) from 1878 until his death in 1914. Earned praise fro his leadership efforts to rebuild the church sanctuary after its destruction in the storm of 1900 and for enhancing the congregation's role as mother church of its Texas State Convention. A new brick sanctuary was erected here in 1955.
|SACRED HEART CHURCH|
|The earliest Catholic services in the Galveston area
were conducted in 1838. In 1884, as a result of the church's growth
under the direction of such leaders as Bishop J M Odin, the Galveston Diocese established
Sacred Heart as the fourth church on the island.
Services for Sacred Heart Church were held in the St Mary's University Building until 1892, when the Parish's first structure was completed. Designed by the noted Galveston architect Nicholas J Clayton. It was destroyed in the 1900 hurricane.
The present building, the second for the parish, was constructed in 1903 - 04 during the pastorate of the Reverend D J Murphy. A prominent landmark in the city, it features ornate octagonal towers, flying buttresses, elaborate ornamentation, and a variety of archer. The design reflects influences of the Moorish, Byzantine, Gothic, and Romanesque styles. The building's original dome, damaged in a 1915 hurricane, was redesigned by Nicholas Clayton.
Sacred Heart Church has played a significant role in the growth and development of Galveston since the 1880's. Many of the city's prominent business, professional, civic, and religious leaders have been associated with the parish.
|THE RIGHT REVERENT MONSIGNOR
MARIUS ETIENNE CHATAIGNON
A native of France, Marius Etienne Chataignon served in the French army before coming to the United States in 1907. He came to Texas in 1910 to attend St Mary's Seminary in La Porte. After his ordination, he was appointed assistant pastor at St Mary's Cathedral in Galveston in 1911.
Chataignon served as a chaplain in the U S Army in France during World War I. Appointed chaplain in the U S Army Officers Reserve Corps in 1923. He also served with the Texas National Guard, 36th Division. In 1924, he became pastor of Galveston's Sacred Heart Church.
In 1942, "Father Chat, Galveston's soldier priest," as he was fondly known, was promoted to the rank of Colonel and served as Chief Chaplain of the II Corps, 5th Army, in North Africa and Italy during World War II. Pope Pious XII appointed Father Chataignon to the rank of Domestic Prelate. In 1943, Monsignor Chataignon returned to Sacred heart Church in 1945 a highly decorated veteran and retired from the Army in 1953.
During his years as pastor at Sacred Heart, "Father Chat" was instrumental in the establishment of the Odin High School for boys which became Kirwin High School, and he organized Boy Scout troops. He is buried in Mt Olivet Cemetery in Dickinson.
|ST PAUL UNITED METHODIST
Founded in the late 1860's, St Paul Methodist Church can trace its history through two earlier Methodist congregations in Galveston. Charter members of St Paul Church included Methodists from the Reedy Chapel Methodist Church (originally part of the Ryland Chapel Congregation), who broke away when that membership elected to join the African Methodist Episcopal Denomination.
The Reverend Samuel Osborn served as first pastor of the new church. A sanctuary was built on the eastern end of the island on Avenue H between 8th and 9th Streets. A larger building was later erected to serve the growing congregation, but was destroyed in the 1900 storm.
Under the leadership of the Reverend Frank Gary, the congregation acquired property at this site and built a new sanctuary in 1902. The church has continued to thrive here, serving many generations of Galveston families. It is known locally as the "Mother Church" of Galveston's Wesley Tabernacle United Methodist Church. St Paul Methodist Church counts among its members descendants of some of its founding families.
|A PARK in GALVESTON|
|ROBERT ALDERDICE PARK
East End Historic District has been designated a National Historic Landmark. This site possesses National significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America, 1976, National Park Service, United States Department of the Interior.
|SIGN OF THE TIMES in GALVESTON|
|PREVIOUS PAGE||STATE HOME PAGE|
|Become a Member||Add us to Your Favorites||E-Mail Us|