IMAGES From Nostalgiaville
TEXAS-
MASON, TX- 1/25/04

NOTE: A Click of your Mouse on most of the pictures will enlarge them for better viewing

ma26.jpg (18420 bytes) ma35.jpg (15861 bytes) MASON, TEXAS ma4.jpg (7648 bytes) ma24.jpg (63101 bytes)

At home... away from home in Fort Mason City Park

 

MASON COUNTY
Created January 22, 1858, and organized August 2, 1858.  This county was named for its most important settlement, Fort Mason.  Garrisoned intermittently from July 6, 1851 to March 23, 1869, Fort Mason was named for Lieutenant G T Mason of the United States 2nd Dragoons, killed in Mexican War action on April 25, 1846, near Brownsville.  Fort Mason was one of a chain of posts situated a days horseback ride apart from Red River to the Rio Grande for protecting frontier against Apaches, Comanche's, and other Indians

 

THE FORT AT FORT MASON
ma1.jpg (29361 bytes) ma2.jpg (27778 bytes)  SITE OF FORT MASON
Established July 6, 1851 by the U S Army as a protection to the frontier.  Named in honor of Lieutenant George T Mason.  Killed in action near Brownsville, April 23, 1846.  Albert Sidney Johnston. George h Thomas, Earl Van Dorn and Robert E Lee of the 2nd U S Calvary were stationed here at intervals from 1846 to 1861.  Evacuated by Federal Troops, March 29, 1861.  Reoccupied after the Civil War until 1869.
ma8.jpg (34385 bytes) ma3.jpg (33170 bytes) ma5.jpg (38661 bytes) ma7.jpg (11775 bytes) ma11.jpg (36496 bytes) ma12.jpg (27164 bytes) ma14.jpg (22136 bytes)
ma15.jpg (28160 bytes)

FORT MASON
(1851 - 1869)  This site of Old Fort Mason was donated to the Historical Society of Mason County by Mr. and Mrs. Richard P Eckert in memory of his father, Lee F Eckert.  Erected 1970

FORT MASON OFFICERS QUARTERS
Restored by Mason County Historical Society 1976.  This building dedicated to Kurt Zesch who's Herculean effort made this project a reality

 

DOWNTOWN MASON

Constructed in 1909, this is the third courthouse to serve the people of Mason County.  Commissioners court probably met in other locations until the first courthouse was built in 1872.  It burned in 1877 and was replaced that year by a a second red sandstone building, designed by E C Hosford and built at a cost of $ 39,796.  This Beaux Arts Style courthouse features a center dome and clock tower.  Gable front porticoes with two-story Doric Columns, and Rusticated stonework with contrasting stone lintels
ma160.jpg (99935 bytes) ma69.jpg (49393 bytes) ma71.jpg (44678 bytes) ma56.jpg (51994 bytes) ma73.jpg (58056 bytes)
ma70.jpg (34949 bytes) ma104.jpg (40367 bytes) ma72.jpg (61559 bytes) ma46.jpg (37703 bytes)

ma51.jpg (37643 bytes)

WAR MEMORIAL AT THE COURTHOUSE

ma52.jpg (51805 bytes) ma53.jpg (35801 bytes) ma54.jpg (23351 bytes) ma55.jpg (31202 bytes) ma66.jpg (46928 bytes) ma67.jpg (38997 bytes)

MASON COUNTY COURTHOUSE

A good example of a small, nineteenth-century jail, this structure was built in 1894 from the brown sandstone available in the nearby hills.  The ground floor of the county's third jail includes living quarters for the sheriff,.  While the jail cells are located on the second floor.  The modified Romanesque Revival building features a massive entry arch.  Segmental arches over the windows, and a central tower.

MASON COUNTY JAIL

ma112.jpg (44700 bytes) In 1914, citizens of Mason petitioned the county commissioners court for a reliable means of crossing Comanche Creek, which separated north and south Mason.  Initial construction bids were deemed too high and a second petition was presented in 1917.  Because Mason had no railroad to transport large pre-fabricated building materials, the Alamo Construction Company crafted the bridge of reinforced concrete on site in 1918.  Perhaps the last concrete truss bridge to remain in Texas.  The Broad Street Bridge continued to support vehicular and pedestrian traffic in Mason in 1998.

BROAD STREET BRIDGE

 

DOWNTOWN... AROUND THE SQUARE... MASON, TEXAS

ma36.jpg (37596 bytes)

A B C D E F G H I
ma37.jpg (25552 bytes) ma38.jpg (30785 bytes) ma39.jpg (24862 bytes) ma40.jpg (20885 bytes)
A B C D
ma41.jpg (21718 bytes) ma42.jpg (24731 bytes) ma43.jpg (26600 bytes) ma44.jpg (27072 bytes) ma45.jpg (28475 bytes)
E F G H I

 

ma57.jpg (38962 bytes)

J K L M N O P Q  
ma58.jpg (24809 bytes) ma59.jpg (35002 bytes) ma60.jpg (22138 bytes) ma61.jpg (35887 bytes)
J K L M
ma62.jpg (27219 bytes) ma65.jpg (53254 bytes) ma64.jpg (46909 bytes) ma63.jpg (44537 bytes)
N O P Q

 

R   S T U V W

W U X Z
ma75.jpg (46312 bytes) ma127.jpg (48371 bytes) ma76.jpg (20153 bytes) ma77.jpg (17619 bytes) ma125.jpg (47132 bytes)
R S T

ma78.jpg (29174 bytes)

V

ma79.jpg (20366 bytes) ma80.jpg (25745 bytes) ma81.jpg (26636 bytes) ma122.jpg (64688 bytes) ma82.jpg (46146 bytes)
U W X Y Z

 

A B
  C D   E
ma90.jpg (17875 bytes)ma161.jpg (73696 bytes) ma89.jpg (21818 bytes)ma159.jpg (30282 bytes)
A B
ma88.jpg (24936 bytes)ma158.jpg (53151 bytes) ma87.jpg (27441 bytes)ma157.jpg (46238 bytes)
C D

ma86.jpg (31328 bytes)ma156.jpg (40274 bytes)

E

 

ma92.jpg (33225 bytes)

F G H I J K

ma93.jpg (23506 bytes)ma155.jpg (34805 bytes)

ma94.jpg (25676 bytes)ma154.jpg (57324 bytes)

F G

ma95.jpg (20975 bytes)ma153.jpg (25550 bytes)

H

ma96.jpg (28495 bytes)ma152.jpg (19405 bytes)

I

ma97.jpg (36680 bytes)ma151.jpg (61251 bytes)

ma98.jpg (19558 bytes)ma150.jpg (107886 bytes)

J K

 

ma149.jpg (87699 bytes) ma148.jpg (54051 bytes) ma147.jpg (62553 bytes) ma146.jpg (73489 bytes) ma145.jpg (36888 bytes)

ma162.jpg (17243 bytes)

ma144.jpg (26778 bytes) ma143.jpg (58510 bytes) ma138.jpg (76016 bytes)
ma139.jpg (24544 bytes) ma140.jpg (110578 bytes) ma141.jpg (63002 bytes)
ma142.jpg (37301 bytes) ma136.jpg (20340 bytes)

ma137.jpg (17313 bytes)

ma134.jpg (27277 bytes) ma135.jpg (21169 bytes)
ma130.jpg (19774 bytes) ma129.jpg (44771 bytes) ma128.jpg (92070 bytes)
ma133.jpg (21106 bytes)

ma132.jpg (34217 bytes)

ma131.jpg (56272 bytes) ma126.jpg (50120 bytes)

ma124.jpg (22192 bytes) ma120.jpg (20691 bytes)

ma121.jpg (33339 bytes)

 

HISTORIC HOMES IN MASON

ma105.jpg (47877 bytes) ma22.jpg (18551 bytes)ma23.jpg (42474 bytes)

ma48.jpg (29655 bytes)

MASON HOUSE HOTEL & STAGE STATION
Built in 1869 - 1870 by S F (Lace) Bridges, the Mason House was a hotel and stagecoach stop on the San Antonio to El Paso Road.  It was a popular stopping place, providing respite for many weary travelers and hearty meals for local residents.  A tragic fire in 1900 resulted in the death of 23-year old Annie Medlock.  Eventually the building was converted into apartments, and some alterations occurred in the 1930's, including the addition of an exterior stairway.  A number of historic features still remain on the property, including the original kitchen cistern and stone fences.
ma47.jpg (31801 bytes) ma50.jpg (43666 bytes)

SEAQUIST HOME
In 1887 work was begun on this structure by the Reverend Thomas Broad.  Banker E M Reynolds acquired (1891) and enlarged the house.  The architect, Richard E Grosse, also did the ornate stonecutting and woodcarving.  Property was sold (1919) to Oscar E Seaquist, a Swedish immigrant, who finished the structure, still owned and occupied by his family.  Exemplifying fine workmanship and materials.  The house features a third-floor ballroom
ma110.jpg (70566 bytes) ma109.jpg (44492 bytes)
ma16.jpg (42673 bytes) ma17.jpg (39579 bytes) ma117.jpg (40161 bytes) ma28.jpg (50035 bytes)
ma107.jpg (53390 bytes) ma84.jpg (113396 bytes) ma116.jpg (55321 bytes) ma30.jpg (33373 bytes)

 

CHURCHES IN MASON

ma114.jpg (16286 bytes) ma115.jpg (29042 bytes)
Constructed in 1892, this church structure originally served a German Methodist Episcopal Congregation.  Later home to the Church of the Nazarene and Spring Street Gospel Church.  It has played an important role in Mason's religious history.  the vernacular one-story raised L-Plan building features Gothic Revival detailing in its Lancet windows and spire.  Of the four oldest church buildings in Mason, this is the only one not of red sandstone construction.
SPRING STREET CHURCH

 ST PAUL LUTHERAN CHURCH
Descendants of German Pioneers who settled this area in 1850's hold membership in this church.  as early as 1853, missionaries such as pastor Philip Zizelmann, who rode a donkey, held services in settlers' homes.  Church was organized with 13 members on February 15, 1872.  On March 17, 1872, a lot was donated.  First building was soon erected by the members.  Present native stone structure, built 1905 in traditional style.  Was remodeled and enlarged 1953.
ma118.jpg (21669 bytes) ma100.jpg (22872 bytes)
ST PAUL LUTHERAN CHURCH
ma29.jpg (26328 bytes)ma27.jpg (26431 bytes) ma31.jpg (20603 bytes)ma32.jpg (33815 bytes)
MASON CHURCH OF CHRIST CHRIST THE KING CHURCH
ma33.jpg (32601 bytes)ma34.jpg (30558 bytes) ma101.jpg (9710 bytes)ma103.jpg (38255 bytes)ma102.jpg (17094 bytes)
FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH FIRST METHODIST CHURCH

 

    STATES HOME PAGE
Become a Member Add us to Your Favorites E-Mail Us